Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2004-01-12, 00:19
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Thumbs Up LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide - discuss

LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide
Discuss. Any feedback, comment or problem goes in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2004-01-12, 00:50
Medur Medur is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 2,972
Well, that guide of yours is as Windows-centric as it can get... nothing in there is usable in Linux.
Personally, I have bad feelings about dosbox. It's not only incredibly heavy (I can't run _any_ games in a good speed, no matter how much I boast it - I use a k6-2 350 mhz, which is way below normal requirements; but that's my point, the requirements are too high), but it also successfully crashed my box once, while I was working on something. That made me insanely mad about it. IMHO it's a big piece of crap.
I appreciate your effort, but personally I'd never use it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2004-01-12, 00:53
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
werido
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9,927
Send a message via ICQ to wacko Send a message via AIM to wacko Send a message via MSN to wacko
Looks good. I could try running LBA in DosBox on my Linux computer some time and give you some additional info.
I linked your guide in my LBA troubleshooting guide in this forum too.
__________________
#lba at efnet ๏̯͡๏) | Encyclpedia Twinsunica ***random article!*** | ﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2004-01-12, 01:02
Panda's Avatar
Panda Panda is offline
Still in a dream...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,049
Nice. Although, LBA2 should work normally anyway (just need to apply GF2 patch) so is a LBA2 dosbox guide necessary?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2004-01-12, 01:04
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
werido
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9,927
Send a message via ICQ to wacko Send a message via AIM to wacko Send a message via MSN to wacko
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandemona
Nice. Although, LBA2 should work normally anyway (just need to apply GF2 patch) so is a LBA2 dosbox guide necessary?
Yeah, for getting LBA2 to work in Linux it would be interesting.
__________________
#lba at efnet ๏̯͡๏) | Encyclpedia Twinsunica ***random article!*** | ﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2004-01-12, 01:28
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
werido
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9,927
Send a message via ICQ to wacko Send a message via AIM to wacko Send a message via MSN to wacko
I just tried DosBox in linux, but it won't really work. I did pretty much as in the guide (only using linux directories), and it seems to work fine. However, if I run install on the cd, there's no option harddisk installation. I tried copying the game files from my Windows computer into the directory where I was trying to install LBA to, and started LBA from there. The adeline screen popped up, but then it stopped with a "no cd" message.
I guess somehow it still doesn't detect it's a cdrom drive. And yes, I used all the -cdrom -label etc flags.
__________________
#lba at efnet ๏̯͡๏) | Encyclpedia Twinsunica ***random article!*** | ﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2004-01-12, 15:46
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Medur: you can't expect me to write a linux guide, I don't know linux.
wacko: For linux, did you "mount c"? And for windows... you shouldn't use "-cdrom", you should use "-t cdrom". Please tell me if it works now.

P.S. I want some feedback on my guide before I make LBA2 guide, I want to see if people can get it to work with my guide. So please, feedback

Last edited by ChaosFish; 2004-01-12 at 16:50.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2004-01-12, 16:08
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
important
Check the guide again, I edited the sound configuration step. I forgot to tell what sound card you need to choose. You must reconfigure the settings to SBPro2 for the game to run well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2004-01-12, 16:47
Gustav Sweden's Avatar
Gustav Sweden Gustav Sweden is offline
Hello
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oresund Region
Posts: 8,007
Send a message via MSN to Gustav Sweden
Quote:
Lunch dosbox.exe.
Nice typo there

Otherwise a nice guide
__________________
People like Coldplay, but they don't love them. People like U2, but they don't love them. But people fucking love Oasis. That's the way it is. It's more than the music.
-Noel Gallagher
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2004-01-12, 16:52
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustav Sweden
Nice typo there

Otherwise a nice guide
Whoops, fixed.
If you think it's nice please try it and give me some feedback
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2004-01-12, 17:14
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Wacko:
I noticed the CVS build I gave doesn't support linux. Could you try download DOSBox CVS (not a build) and compile it yourself? As I said, the latest stable release doesn't support LBA1.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2004-01-12, 19:21
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
werido
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9,927
Send a message via ICQ to wacko Send a message via AIM to wacko Send a message via MSN to wacko
Ofcourse I mounted c. The game just seems to detect the cd as installation point, as it even has the uninstall option, which makes the setup program crash when selecting it. And yes, I meant -t cdrom instead of -cdrom.

And yeah, I think I have the stable version (latest Debian release), I could try compiling the CVS.
__________________
#lba at efnet ๏̯͡๏) | Encyclpedia Twinsunica ***random article!*** | ﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2004-01-12, 20:04
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Ok, if it works with me it also must work with you
Let me know if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2004-01-12, 21:25
Medur Medur is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 2,972
You have a bigger chance to achieve it with the stable build, though.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2004-01-12, 22:02
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
werido
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 9,927
Send a message via ICQ to wacko Send a message via AIM to wacko Send a message via MSN to wacko
Yeah.. I don't think this is a matter of recent builds anyway, as the game itself works, but cdrom detection is crappy, which seems like a trivial and basic thing. If I start install.bat from my Windows computer it normally displays the harddisk installation option.
__________________
#lba at efnet ๏̯͡๏) | Encyclpedia Twinsunica ***random article!*** | ﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2004-01-12, 22:46
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
alexfont
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,448
I can't download the file DOSBox CVS build ...
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.0 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2004-01-12, 22:56
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Fixed the link. You can download now.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2004-01-12, 22:59
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
alexfont
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,448
I download but the zip is empty :S



edit: I have to register???
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.0 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2004-01-12, 23:04
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Did you use http://www.mypixels.dk/forums/index.php?showtopic=2 ? the zip file is not empty and you don't have to register...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2004-01-12, 23:31
Nyerguds's Avatar
Nyerguds Nyerguds is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacko
Yeah, for getting LBA2 to work in Linux it would be interesting.
Don't bother... you don't need DOSBox. LBA2 works perfectly in Wine. Most games with Windows support do... just mount the CD-ROM and run the game's executable with Wine.
__________________
Twinsen: "Look... you may be an evil clone of my girlfriend, but we can still make out, right?"

Last edited by Nyerguds; 2004-01-12 at 23:39.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2004-01-12, 23:49
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
alexfont
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,448
This works very very slowly for me. :S

It work for me with this:
C:\Programas\DOSBoxCVS\dosbox.exe -c "mount d E:\ -t cdrom -label ADELINE -ioctl" -c "mount c C:\Jogos\lba1" -c "C:" -c "lba"

When you make for exemple "mount c C:\lba1" the c: prompt is the corrently lba directory, so the command "cd\lba1" its unnecessary.

*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*

Press "1" so there will be written "C:\LBA1" (doens't work for me)

*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*

Replace "Coose your language." to "Choose your language."



The rest is fine and its easy to understand...
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.0 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2004-01-13, 16:00
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexfont
This works very very slowly for me. :S
Press Ctrl+F12 and Ctrl+F11 to change CPU Cycles, tell me what works the best with you (how many cpu cycles). Anyway, you do need a strong computer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexfont
It work for me with this:
C:\Programas\DOSBoxCVS\dosbox.exe -c "mount d E:\ -t cdrom -label ADELINE -ioctl" -c "mount c C:\Jogos\lba1" -c "C:" -c "lba"

When you make for exemple "mount c C:\lba1" the c: prompt is the corrently lba directory, so the command "cd\lba1" its unnecessary.
"C:\LBA" is the mount c directory, inside it there shold be LBA1 folder. So for DOSBox, C:\LBA\LBA1 will be C:\LBA1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexfont
Press "1" so there will be written "C:\LBA1" (doens't work for me)
What I meant is to press "1" to add "1" in the path (instead C:\LBA, C:\LBA1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexfont
Replace "Coose your language." to "Choose your language."
Hmm? [edit] Ah... fixed. [/edit]
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2004-01-13, 22:17
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
alexfont
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosFish
What I meant is to press "1" to add "1" in the path (instead C:\LBA, C:\LBA1)
Sorry for the stupid afirmation but I didn't get that.


I'll try modify the cycles...
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.0 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2004-01-22, 19:45
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
FishFishFishFishFish
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: All over
Posts: 20,911
Exclamation Updates

1. Added LBA2 guide. Please give me feedback
2. I added a critical step for LBA1 to run: "Choose "Speech Configuration", choose "Keep Speech Files on Hard Disk" (there should be YES written at the end of this line now)"
If you didn't get LBA1 to run with DOSBox before, try again with this step.
3. Added "Notes & Tips"

Last edited by ChaosFish; 2004-01-22 at 19:55.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2004-01-22, 19:53
Guitar Guitar is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacko
I just tried DosBox in linux, but it won't really work. I did pretty much as in the guide (only using linux directories), and it seems to work fine. However, if I run install on the cd, there's no option harddisk installation. I tried copying the game files from my Windows computer into the directory where I was trying to install LBA to, and started LBA from there. The adeline screen popped up, but then it stopped with a "no cd" message.
I guess somehow it still doesn't detect it's a cdrom drive. And yes, I used all the -cdrom -label etc flags.

There is a good aswer for that: Most Windows users that play the classic (Dos)version of LBA1/2 use Linux emulators, so install LBA in classic DOS while being in Linux
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dosbox

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i use Dosbox? Cheesecake First aid 9 2005-10-10 22:16
* *Twinsen's Odyssey for DosBox * * bellebelle First aid 2 2005-04-24 08:00
Can't get LBA to work the normal way? - LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide [updated: 24-4-2005] ChaosFish First aid 0 2004-01-12 00:14
LBA2 now runs in DOSBox ChaosFish General 22 2003-11-27 19:18
IRC guide wacko Off topic 18 2001-10-11 09:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:41.




News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, the Magicball Network