PDA

View Full Version : Phase 3: Schematic overview of Twinsun


elmuerte
2006-12-10, 17:14
Now that we've gathered all the ingame representations of the game I think we can move on to phase 3: Schematic overview of Twinsun.

This means the abstract drawing of the Twinsun with the continents.
Ofcourse the big problem is how we are going to draw this.

Anyway ideas for map drawing software?

Kobold
2006-12-10, 17:29
That's a good question actually.
I tried out Inkscape the other day. It's the software Homeless used for the Twinsunia logo, using vector graphics. I used the LBA 1 holomap of Desert Island as a reference.
I ended up with a good copy of the outline, and very poor coloring.

elmuerte
2006-12-10, 17:47
Yes inkscape is a possibility. But I don't think we should use the bitmap trace feature. It's much better if we draw it by hand. We could manually trace it.

But still I was hoping for a better map drawing tool.

Kobold
2006-12-10, 17:55
I'm completely unskilled in hand-drawings. That's why I used it. :p
What is that bitmap trace feature?

elmuerte
2006-12-10, 22:14
didn't mean hand drawings, I meant drawn by hand (using your mouse or drawing tablet or whatever)

it's what you used to convert the image to a vector

Kobold
2006-12-10, 22:20
Eh?
I used the hand drawing tool to draw a very basic outline.
Then I spent a whole lot of time in comparing it to the ref and fixing the vectors.
It was a vector all the time.

xesf
2006-12-11, 00:26
I'm not seeing a program to help in this task, but I have an unfinished hand draw of the Twinsun overview. It may help ordering each island in the real map. Need to see where it is now, and get a time to scan, but it only be possible next week since I can't use my scan atm :-/.

Kobold
2006-12-18, 17:39
Any news?
Work that (even) I could do? :p

RickMelo
2006-12-20, 22:37
something like this? x.x

RickMelo
2006-12-21, 16:29
Citadel Island...

Kobold
2006-12-21, 16:42
I don't know about that.
Anyway, we are doing the LBA 1 representation first.

RickMelo
2006-12-21, 16:55
ok sry lol

Kobold
2006-12-22, 13:32
How should the map look like? Like this (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Physical_world.jpg)? The problem with that kind of a map is that it is created for people who do not want to know anything about the poles - they should use an extra map for that.

But we are very much interested in the poles. He must find an other way of representation.

elmuerte
2006-12-22, 13:56
Not like that, it should be square so you can scroll seemlessly to the left or right.

But ok, I think we should stick with Inkscape for map drawing then?

Kobold
2006-12-22, 15:33
Not like that, it should be square so you can scroll seemlessly to the left or right.
I was more concetrating about the content displayed in the map, not about the rounded edge. It has a focus on the equator, and puts the boring, empty poles near the edge. But Twinsun has a focus on the poles, and the equator is the "boring" part.

But ok, I think w[e should stick with Inkscape for map drawing then?
I don't know anything better. But I don't know much in that direction.

elmuerte
2006-12-22, 17:35
what is Twinsun's equator?

The current image used is simply the holomap image. Just as test.

But yes, we do need to decide the orientation we want to use.

Kobold
2006-12-22, 17:57
The equator is the Hamalayi Mountains.
Twinsun is a relatively new planet on the outskirts of a remote galaxy. It's rotational plane has stabilized between two suns. There is a huge mountain range running along its equator, that divides the planet in half

elmuerte
2006-12-22, 19:46
d'oh

Kobold
2007-01-06, 13:45
Something like this (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Welt_Mercator_Atlantik.png) first maybe? Only the outlines would be a start.

[/collecting ideas]

Kobold
2007-01-22, 22:12
So what's up?

[/collecting El-Muertes]

elmuerte
2007-01-22, 22:33
the MBN is

Kobold
2007-01-23, 16:34
the MBN is
Reminds me of Google Germany going offline today short after midnight because some domain freaks messed things up.

Kobold
2007-02-26, 21:38
Is the MBN still up?

elmuerte
2007-02-26, 22:38
yes; there is a bit of a thing called lack of time

Kobold
2007-02-27, 14:40
Surely. But there was also the possibility of forget.

J McKalling
2009-08-26, 22:48
I haven't read all of this project, sorry, and I know it is not completed in a long time.

But may I know why this project is halted since almost three years ago?
Why don't you transition the world map so its equator runs along both the top and bottom? (taking into account it will be square)

Darkflame
2009-08-27, 21:51
If people want to actually have this map panable with multiple layers, my *.psc format would work;
http://www.darkflame.co.uk/panalstreamer/panelstreamer.html

Only a prototype of the psc format, and allthough its divised for comics, it can be used for a lot of other things.

J McKalling
2009-08-27, 22:16
W00t, you might put the entire world of Twinsun in it!:eek::D Great work man.

elmuerte
2009-08-27, 22:41
well the javascript part wasn't really the issue, it's the map segments

Darkflame
2009-08-28, 00:16
pshh....that took me almost whole 2-3 days!

J McKalling
2009-08-28, 19:24
So what have you got so far El Muerte?
Do you all have access to the source code of the game, or are there tools in to create these fantastic maps you already have? Don't understand where it all comes from.

xesf
2009-08-30, 18:43
We have tools to extract it. but in most places we don't have them since in LBA1 there are a lot of spaces around Twinsun without game scenes.

J McKalling
2009-08-30, 18:55
Then I could loosely translate this problem - correct me if I'm wrong - to perfectionisticism?

If I was to complete such a project as this, I would just go for a sollution (like the blurry thing mentioned earlier) because the project would otherwise fail or get stuck. I would love to do this, but I have no means for graphics creation. Since the project hasn't continued, I conclude you want it to be perfectly the same as intended by the game? Let me tell you this then, ofcource that is impossible.

As for me loving the idea of this project, I would just say, do something, make it blurry then, but do try to finish this please. :)

xesf
2009-08-30, 18:59
In my opinion, we should first get the detailed view of LBA1 islands and than go to overview them. We still need an editor for that. LBArchitect seams the way to go to build full island details.

J McKalling
2009-08-30, 19:05
What precisely is the difference between the maps already made, and what you mean with detailed views of the islands? Could this be the orientation, as for the maps are not a top view?

xesf
2009-08-30, 19:20
Detailed view of the islands are the actual game scenes all together. With this we still need to fulfil all the unknown parts of an islands, mostly on Principal Island if I remember well.

The overview of the island its a "On top of it" view which in most cases may be redesigned due to zoom in/out. Just look at google maps to see what I'm talking.

Now, with the images we have, we can still join them and make one bigger island, but it will be difficult to fill all the other unknown parts which will be a huge image edition work.

So, if for example LBArchitect let us join all scenes at one and rework on the missing parts, it will allow us to easily and faster finish this project.

xesf
2012-12-30, 13:27
This sketch may help this project

http://forum.magicball.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=9495&stc=1&d=1356870336

Darkflame
2012-12-30, 15:07
wow, neato

Renesans
2012-12-30, 17:13
Is this an extra from the DotEmu version? The "unnamed island" is interesting...

xesf
2012-12-30, 17:14
Yep it is

Polaris
2012-12-31, 16:03
Proxima island doesn't have it's final name either.

And Tippett island has a village above the ground !!

J McKalling
2012-12-31, 18:10
Proxima island doesn't have it's final name either.
...

In french it's spelled somewhat in reverse, but it still means the same; "Island in the proximity of (...)" :p
...or something very similar.

...
And Tippett island has a village above the ground !!
I never expected it not to. But we just haven't seen all of the island(s) yet, maybe we only saw the portion of Tipett beyond the village.

Polaris
2012-12-31, 18:39
Still if there was to be a village, it would be empty (FF got everyone from that hemisphere to the other officially).

And proxima island in french is Île Proxima (which is the same), so, it's not its final name :D

Reek
2013-07-27, 10:10
wait, is that sketch official concept art?

xesf
2013-07-27, 10:51
Yep, it is ;)

Reek
2013-07-27, 10:53
Awesome, is there more where that came from?

xesf
2013-07-27, 10:56
There's some, but I didn't post since they came in DotEmu/Gog payed versions

Reek
2013-07-27, 11:06
ok.
btw, how does it work with the gog thing?
after you pay do you download the game or do they send it to you by mail?


edit: nm, just bought it ;)

J McKalling
2013-07-27, 11:10
ok.
btw, how does it work with the gog thing?
after you pay do you download the game or do they send it to you by mail?

Supposedly it's a digital download. I haven't tried myself yet.

Darkflame
2013-07-27, 14:49
hm..dont remember that one in GoG's concept art pack.
cool.

xesf
2013-07-27, 15:06
That one is exclusive from the DotEmu version

Renesans
2013-07-29, 10:53
That one is exclusive from the DotEmu version
Are there more like that?

xesf
2013-07-29, 10:55
Most are the same, but I remember 2 or 3 to be different. I can take a look to be sure about it.

Polaris
2013-08-01, 12:03
Please do :D

xesf
2013-08-01, 15:46
Their indeed most the same. There are few differences but I realise one thing thats kind odd.

The DotEmu artwork files are JPG which somehow have thumbnails different than the actual image. We can see that parts from that scketchs were cut-off.
The Gog version as the same sketch less 2 or 3 but all of them where surely treated by a photo edition app.

Zink
2013-08-02, 07:09
JPEG format may contain a thumbnail that is just another image, that should be generated out of the contained image, but in fact it can be something completely different. Maybe they have edited the main images, but somehow forgot to update the thumbnails in them (rather odd, because every image editor should do it automatically). The thumbnails in JPEG can be of various sizes, even quite big, and there are programs that can extract them to standalone images. Maybe you could try it and see if they contain anything interesting.

J McKalling
2013-08-02, 17:53
I thought thumbnails were stored in (hidden) Thumbs.db by Windows Explorer.
But that's just windows, and it could be disabled.

Zink
2013-08-04, 18:49
I thought thumbnails were stored in (hidden) Thumbs.db by Windows Explorer.
But that's just windows, and it could be disabled.
The thumbs.db is (just) for Windows. Thumbnails embedded in JPEGs are used by photo cameras to show the photo on the screen quicker.

J McKalling
2013-08-04, 23:00
And if someone would manipulate a picture, could it be possible to have a bigger thumbnail than the 'original'?

Zink
2013-08-05, 07:55
Hmm, I don't know that.

J McKalling
2013-08-05, 17:48
Hmm, probably just another typical case of an unusual question from me.

kiopec
2013-10-06, 00:38
Hi!

I would like to know if there is anything I could help for the project. I can do something using Autocad, Sketchup, photoshop, corel, etc... I studied architecture for 2 years and now i'm in Art and Deign.

Thanks and sorry my english,:D

Kiopec.