the Magicball Network Forums

the Magicball Network Forums (https://forum.magicball.net/index.php)
-   First aid (https://forum.magicball.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide - discuss (https://forum.magicball.net/showthread.php?t=6944)

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 00:19

LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide - discuss
 
LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide
Discuss. Any feedback, comment or problem goes in this thread.

Medur 2004-01-12 00:50

Well, that guide of yours is as Windows-centric as it can get... nothing in there is usable in Linux.
Personally, I have bad feelings about dosbox. It's not only incredibly heavy (I can't run _any_ games in a good speed, no matter how much I boast it - I use a k6-2 350 mhz, which is way below normal requirements; but that's my point, the requirements are too high), but it also successfully crashed my box once, while I was working on something. That made me insanely mad about it. IMHO it's a big piece of crap.
I appreciate your effort, but personally I'd never use it.

wacko 2004-01-12 00:53

Looks good. I could try running LBA in DosBox on my Linux computer some time and give you some additional info.
I linked your guide in my LBA troubleshooting guide in this forum too.

Panda 2004-01-12 01:02

Nice. Although, LBA2 should work normally anyway (just need to apply GF2 patch) so is a LBA2 dosbox guide necessary?

wacko 2004-01-12 01:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pandemona
Nice. Although, LBA2 should work normally anyway (just need to apply GF2 patch) so is a LBA2 dosbox guide necessary?

Yeah, for getting LBA2 to work in Linux it would be interesting.

wacko 2004-01-12 01:28

I just tried DosBox in linux, but it won't really work. I did pretty much as in the guide (only using linux directories), and it seems to work fine. However, if I run install on the cd, there's no option harddisk installation. I tried copying the game files from my Windows computer into the directory where I was trying to install LBA to, and started LBA from there. The adeline screen popped up, but then it stopped with a "no cd" message.
I guess somehow it still doesn't detect it's a cdrom drive. And yes, I used all the -cdrom -label etc flags.

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 15:46

Medur: you can't expect me to write a linux guide, I don't know linux.
wacko: For linux, did you "mount c"? And for windows... you shouldn't use "-cdrom", you should use "-t cdrom". Please tell me if it works now.

P.S. I want some feedback on my guide before I make LBA2 guide, I want to see if people can get it to work with my guide. So please, feedback :)

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 16:08

important
Check the guide again, I edited the sound configuration step. I forgot to tell what sound card you need to choose. You must reconfigure the settings to SBPro2 for the game to run well.

Gustav Sweden 2004-01-12 16:47

Quote:

Lunch dosbox.exe.
Nice typo there :D

Otherwise a nice guide :)

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 16:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gustav Sweden
Nice typo there :D

Otherwise a nice guide :)

Whoops, fixed.
If you think it's nice please try it and give me some feedback ;)

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 17:14

Wacko:
I noticed the CVS build I gave doesn't support linux. Could you try download DOSBox CVS (not a build) and compile it yourself? As I said, the latest stable release doesn't support LBA1.

wacko 2004-01-12 19:21

Ofcourse I mounted c. The game just seems to detect the cd as installation point, as it even has the uninstall option, which makes the setup program crash when selecting it. And yes, I meant -t cdrom instead of -cdrom.

And yeah, I think I have the stable version (latest Debian release), I could try compiling the CVS.

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 20:04

Ok, if it works with me it also must work with you :-/
Let me know if it works.

Medur 2004-01-12 21:25

You have a bigger chance to achieve it with the stable build, though.

wacko 2004-01-12 22:02

Yeah.. I don't think this is a matter of recent builds anyway, as the game itself works, but cdrom detection is crappy, which seems like a trivial and basic thing. If I start install.bat from my Windows computer it normally displays the harddisk installation option.

xesf 2004-01-12 22:46

I can't download the file DOSBox CVS build ...

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 22:56

Fixed the link. You can download now.

xesf 2004-01-12 22:59

I download but the zip is empty :S



edit: I have to register???

ChaosFish 2004-01-12 23:04

Did you use http://www.mypixels.dk/forums/index.php?showtopic=2 ? the zip file is not empty and you don't have to register...

Nyerguds 2004-01-12 23:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by wacko
Yeah, for getting LBA2 to work in Linux it would be interesting.

Don't bother... you don't need DOSBox. LBA2 works perfectly in Wine. Most games with Windows support do... just mount the CD-ROM and run the game's executable with Wine.

xesf 2004-01-12 23:49

This works very very slowly for me. :S

It work for me with this:
C:\Programas\DOSBoxCVS\dosbox.exe -c "mount d E:\ -t cdrom -label ADELINE -ioctl" -c "mount c C:\Jogos\lba1" -c "C:" -c "lba"

When you make for exemple "mount c C:\lba1" the c: prompt is the corrently lba directory, so the command "cd\lba1" its unnecessary.

*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*

Press "1" so there will be written "C:\LBA1" (doens't work for me)

*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*

Replace "Coose your language." to "Choose your language." ;)



The rest is fine and its easy to understand...

ChaosFish 2004-01-13 16:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by alexfont
This works very very slowly for me. :S

Press Ctrl+F12 and Ctrl+F11 to change CPU Cycles, tell me what works the best with you (how many cpu cycles). Anyway, you do need a strong computer.
Quote:

Originally Posted by alexfont
It work for me with this:
C:\Programas\DOSBoxCVS\dosbox.exe -c "mount d E:\ -t cdrom -label ADELINE -ioctl" -c "mount c C:\Jogos\lba1" -c "C:" -c "lba"

When you make for exemple "mount c C:\lba1" the c: prompt is the corrently lba directory, so the command "cd\lba1" its unnecessary.

"C:\LBA" is the mount c directory, inside it there shold be LBA1 folder. So for DOSBox, C:\LBA\LBA1 will be C:\LBA1.
Quote:

Originally Posted by alexfont
Press "1" so there will be written "C:\LBA1" (doens't work for me)

What I meant is to press "1" to add "1" in the path (instead C:\LBA, C:\LBA1)
Quote:

Originally Posted by alexfont
Replace "Coose your language." to "Choose your language."

Hmm? :fool: [edit] Ah... fixed. :) [/edit]

xesf 2004-01-13 22:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChaosFish
What I meant is to press "1" to add "1" in the path (instead C:\LBA, C:\LBA1)

Sorry for the stupid afirmation but I didn't get that.


I'll try modify the cycles...

ChaosFish 2004-01-22 19:45

Updates
 
1. Added LBA2 guide. Please give me feedback :)
2. I added a critical step for LBA1 to run: "Choose "Speech Configuration", choose "Keep Speech Files on Hard Disk" (there should be YES written at the end of this line now)"
If you didn't get LBA1 to run with DOSBox before, try again with this step.
3. Added "Notes & Tips"

Guitar 2004-01-22 19:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by wacko
I just tried DosBox in linux, but it won't really work. I did pretty much as in the guide (only using linux directories), and it seems to work fine. However, if I run install on the cd, there's no option harddisk installation. I tried copying the game files from my Windows computer into the directory where I was trying to install LBA to, and started LBA from there. The adeline screen popped up, but then it stopped with a "no cd" message.
I guess somehow it still doesn't detect it's a cdrom drive. And yes, I used all the -cdrom -label etc flags.


There is a good aswer for that: Most Windows users that play the classic (Dos)version of LBA1/2 use Linux emulators, so install LBA in classic DOS while being in Linux


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:59.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, the Magicball Network