the Magicball Network Forums

the Magicball Network Forums (https://forum.magicball.net/index.php)
-   General (https://forum.magicball.net/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   LBA on DS [guide] (https://forum.magicball.net/showthread.php?t=16551)

Polaris 2012-12-06 19:15

LBA on DS [guide]
 
If you are not the owner of a DSTWO flashcard, I'm sorry to get your hopes up irrationaly. You will need a flash card with in-built CPU, DSTWO is one among the very few to have that (iplayer not tested).

You will need : -A DS.
-A DSTWO flashcard.
-A copy of LBA1.
-The DS2x86 MS-DOS emulator for DS.

First install LBA1 somewhere on your computer (example c:\Games\LBA), then copy the installed folder to the root of your SD card (the "LBA" folder in the example).

Now, download DS2x86.zip, extract it to the "_dstwoplug" folder (except the .txt files, you don't need it). Download Attachment 9458 and put the "data" folder also at the root of your SD card. This folder contains 4DOS (a DOS shell by Rex Conn & JP Software), and DSX86.ini, a file that basically sets your DS's keys to be certain keyboard keys.

In order for LBA to run, you either need a floppy version of LBA, or a CD version with a no-cd crack. Like they say, Google is your best friend.

Now start your DS, DS2x86 should be among the other plug-ins, launch it. Type "cd " and the directory where you installed the game (here : cd LBA) and press enter.
Type "setup" and the LBA setup screen should come up, choose "VESA compatible" as your video card, "Microsoft Windows Sound System" as your sound card for music, and "no sounds" as the sound card for SFX sounds.
note : you can move the screen around with the L-R keys on your DS.
Save configuration and exit to DOS, then type "LBA".

That's the best I could get so far, the midi music have a few notes missing, but nothing else works.

The keys I've mapped are the following :
A-space
B-alt
X-enter
Y-leftshift
start-escape
select-F6 (brings up the options in game)
L-F5 (toggles scenaric zoom)
R-leftctrl

If you don't like the keys, you can remap them with the DSx86ConfigManager program that can be downloaded on the same page as DS2x86.

Be sure to put the volume up in LBA's options, I always get it set on mute after I save a configuration.

That's about it, please, do ask questions, I'm sure I forgot things :)

some pics.

Streg 2012-12-08 01:38

Interesting stuff, too bad that's not the flash card I have!

xesf 2012-12-09 14:19

Just sold my DS lite previous month, so can't actually test it :(.

Anyway, its nice to see LBA on it.

Polaris 2012-12-09 14:37

Note : The CD tracks and FLA files (the cinematics) are stored on the CD, so the floppy version is better in a way, CD tracks are replaced by MIDI ones, and the cinematics by pictures.

I can't edit my post :(


I was wondering, is it illegal for me to upload those specific floppy files and only those ? They are part of the game, but it is not possible to play the game only with them isn't it ?

Twinsan 2012-12-09 16:02

Would this work for gig and lba2 copies?

Polaris 2012-12-09 17:16

The GOG release is just a standard LBA with a few more files for the language/graphic options and an image file of the CD. So yes, it would work, but you still need a no-CD :(

LBA2 should work the same way, but I didn't find any no-CD crack. Sad, there is even an automatic sound setup in it, so should even run with sound.

Twinsan 2012-12-09 20:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Polaris (Post 422292)
The GOG release is just a standard LBA with a few more files for the language/graphic options and an image file of the CD. So yes, it would work, but you still need a no-CD :(

LBA2 should work the same way, but I didn't find any no-CD crack. Sad, there is even an automatic sound setup in it, so should even run with sound.

What's this no cd?

Polaris 2012-12-09 20:43

Found it on a website called censored.
(I don't think I can say that in public you know :p)

F2bnp 2012-12-09 21:42

How well does it run? The DS2x86 is supposedly emulating a 386DX 40 which wasn't half bad to play LBA1 on at the time.

Polaris 2012-12-09 22:07

The game goes smoothly when only Twinsen is on screen , a bit choppy when there is one npc on screen and so on. When the camera re-centers, the game takes about half a sec to load (sae thing when bringing up the behavior menu).
Nothing too disturbing, it can be played on (I am currently invading Funfrock's fortress to get the sword :D)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:35.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, the Magicball Network