Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1101  
Old 2007-04-11, 12:20
Assassin's Avatar
Assassin Assassin is offline
Member #174
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,784
Send a message via MSN to Assassin
Started over with F-Zero GX after accidentaly formatting my memory card. Finished the Ruby and Sapphire cup in Novice Standard and Expert mode and finished the first 2 Story mode missions. Moving on to the Emerald cup next. Adter finishing the Standard difficulty on that I'll get the Diamond cup. This probably is the hardest gamecube game ever made.
Reply With Quote
  #1102  
Old 2007-04-11, 13:17
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkflame View Post
Has quite a lot too do with *noticeable* CPU consumption, and thats what matters to most users.

Also, the effect on your energy bill wont be that great. Not unless it prevents your pc going too standby.
If your pc is on anyway and your doing web browsing or word processing, a typical PC doesn't under clock itself for greater power efficiency.
(Most laptops these days can, however, so purhapes more desktops should do that)
doesn't matter if it's clocked lower, if the CPU load is low it will consume less power, not as little as when the CPU is down clocked, but still much less than under normal load. The difference between progressquest and seti@home (or similar) could be a couple of Watt.
Reply With Quote
  #1103  
Old 2007-04-11, 13:26
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Assassin View Post
Started over with F-Zero GX after accidentaly formatting my memory card. Finished the Ruby and Sapphire cup in Novice Standard and Expert mode and finished the first 2 Story mode missions. Moving on to the Emerald cup next. Adter finishing the Standard difficulty on that I'll get the Diamond cup. This probably is the hardest gamecube game ever made.
How can you accidently format your memory card? I hope it's only possible in the boot menu, there where you never look into.
Reply With Quote
  #1104  
Old 2007-04-11, 13:45
Assassin's Avatar
Assassin Assassin is offline
Member #174
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,784
Send a message via MSN to Assassin
Well I have 2 big memory cards, one of a third party and that one sometimes acts up, saying the card is corrupted while it's not. Then I blow into it and it works again. I wanted to play Sonic so I started it up and I thought the game was just saying stuff like Memory read, press A to continue and the likes so I just kept on pressing through when I realized what it actually said was memory card corrupted, press A to format. So I lost a lot of savegames there T_T.
Wish I could backup my saves on my HD somehow.
Reply With Quote
  #1105  
Old 2007-04-11, 13:47
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
That's why I have backups of the most important savegames on my second (4MB ) memory card. My SSBM save got corrupted some months ago.
Reply With Quote
  #1106  
Old 2007-04-11, 21:57
bunnyrabbot02's Avatar
bunnyrabbot02 bunnyrabbot02 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,008
Over the Hedge - Hammy Goes Nut
Reply With Quote
  #1107  
Old 2007-04-12, 00:44
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Muerte View Post
doesn't matter if it's clocked lower, if the CPU load is low it will consume less power, not as little as when the CPU is down clocked, but still much less than under normal load. The difference between progressquest and seti@home (or similar) could be a couple of Watt.
Dosnt a normal PC take about 100watt?
Probably more these days no?
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #1108  
Old 2007-04-12, 00:58
Jasiek's Avatar
Jasiek Jasiek is offline
Do the evolution.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: You forgot Poland.
Posts: 8,100
Heh, bout 300W for the PC, and about the same for the monitor.
__________________
Little Script Adventure
Join the Little Script Adventure team
Download Little Script Adventure
Reply With Quote
  #1109  
Old 2007-04-12, 00:59
Mouserz's Avatar
Mouserz Mouserz is offline
>:C
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to Mouserz Send a message via MSN to Mouserz Send a message via Yahoo to Mouserz
C&c 3
Reply With Quote
  #1110  
Old 2007-04-12, 10:03
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasiek View Post
Heh, bout 300W for the PC, and about the same for the monitor.
Hell no, specially not the average monitor. An average 17" TFT uses about 40Watt. A CRT uses double.

The current CPUs consume around 30W in idle and around 80W when active
The latest nVidia graphics card (8800GTS) was using 70W iirc under heavy load.

any, from a recent test, http://techreport.com/reviews/2007q1/cpus/index.x?pg=13

(note: complete usage, not just CPU):
Idle: 125W
Peak: 180W
Reply With Quote
  #1111  
Old 2007-04-12, 13:19
Jasiek's Avatar
Jasiek Jasiek is offline
Do the evolution.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: You forgot Poland.
Posts: 8,100
And that sounds kinda strange with the power supply unit in the case being from 300W - 400W - and as 300W is sometimes not enough and the PC just crashes from lack of power (noticed that happen quite often) isn't it only logical to assume it takes about 300 Watts? Unless I'm missing the principle here .

And the monitor, yeah, your right, checked mine - a 17" crt uses about 90W(and it's an old cow ).
__________________
Little Script Adventure
Join the Little Script Adventure team
Download Little Script Adventure
Reply With Quote
  #1112  
Old 2007-04-12, 15:04
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
No.. it's the absolute max they can handle. 300W is enough in most current systems, 200W is enough for budget systems. The 300+Watt PSUs are for people that adding serious stuff to it like powerfull cooling systems. Even though they claim it's 300W doesn't mean it can actually provide the 300W, just like 230V usually isn'y 230V.
Reply With Quote
  #1113  
Old 2007-04-12, 21:48
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
I'm so sure I read somewhere DX10 graphics cards were going to need 1KW PSU's (I read it way before 8800 was released though)
Reply With Quote
  #1114  
Old 2007-04-13, 00:34
Amayirot Akago's Avatar
Amayirot Akago Amayirot Akago is offline
WRYYYYYYYYY!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Out of my mind
Posts: 277
Finally gotten started on the fifth case in Phoenix Wright. Also made some more progress on Metroid Prime (last time I got as far as acquiring the Charge Beam, but died before I could save the game and thus gave up ). Made it to the big plant boss which killed me first time around; gonna have another try tomorrow.
__________________
Anime lover, gamer, and dreamer
LBA fan since 1995
Reply With Quote
  #1115  
Old 2007-04-13, 01:10
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
I just realised I havn't played a game in days :'( whats happening to me
Reply With Quote
  #1116  
Old 2007-04-13, 01:30
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Remember the powersupply goes to all the USB devices pluged in an
such too. (unless you got powered usb).
I once had a situation were litterly plugging one thing into the hub knocked another out (or somethings crashed the system).
Took me ages to spot it was the power >_<

Also, Hard Drive power drain adds up fairly quick. (and obviously, the difference between a active and standby HD would add a lot).
===

Anyway, last game I played;
http://lineage2.plaync.jp/l2fun/flas...flashGame.aspx


Really nice little game.
Kinda half way between a Zelda Dungeon and chips challange.

Took me about 2 hours to complete.
Probably 15 mins worth if you know all the puzzles.

Heres a hint;
Look carefully at the enviroment.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #1117  
Old 2007-04-13, 13:54
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,213
Cool game Darkf, just finished it too (also about 2 hours).
Reply With Quote
  #1118  
Old 2007-04-13, 15:57
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
argh.. I'm stuck in that game.

I need the bone but can't find it anywhere, and there are no more open doors, only stuff locked with a gold key or rock


never mind, figured it out.. clever cannon trick

Last edited by elmuerte; 2007-04-13 at 16:11.
Reply With Quote
  #1119  
Old 2007-04-13, 17:14
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
that was fun, playtime 2:04
Reply With Quote
  #1120  
Old 2007-04-13, 19:29
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Seems two hours is the norm.
Full Complete I hope?

Yes, I got stuck on the cannon for awhile too, was a very nice puzzle.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #1121  
Old 2007-04-13, 20:12
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,213
Yep, Full Complete.

The character and the background music is ugly, btw
Reply With Quote
  #1122  
Old 2007-04-15, 21:43
Amayirot Akago's Avatar
Amayirot Akago Amayirot Akago is offline
WRYYYYYYYYY!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Out of my mind
Posts: 277
More progress on Metroid Prime - beat that big plant thing and got the Varia Suit

Also more progress on Phoenix Wright, chapter 5 - my first day in court went miserably, leading to my first ever game over

I've also been playing a bit of The Colonel's Bequest every now again - decent little Sierra adventure game. So far, two people (to my knowledge) have died, and I haven't managed to achieve a heck of a lot yet.
__________________
Anime lover, gamer, and dreamer
LBA fan since 1995

Last edited by Amayirot Akago; 2007-04-16 at 08:03.
Reply With Quote
  #1123  
Old 2007-04-16, 11:40
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,213
Remember Gobliiins??

Check out this trailer of Gobliiins 4, awesomeness!
Reply With Quote
  #1124  
Old 2007-04-16, 13:15
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
cool, looks interesting
Reply With Quote
  #1125  
Old 2007-04-16, 14:52
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
I think this looks quite good;
http://uk.wii.ign.com/articles/780/780374p1.html

Monkey Island + Wind Waker + Wiimote = my kinda game
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
games, videogames

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool upcoming Adventure Games Lightwing Off topic 238 2006-05-11 21:03
Game thread: Half-life: Mod ranking Illumina Off topic 14 2004-02-27 12:30
The ULTIMATE Tip the World Cup thread Gustav Sweden Off topic 424 2002-07-21 16:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:37.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network