Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-04-04, 14:36
Neko's Avatar
Neko Neko is offline
Neko
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,950
setting up local php

Hi,

I wanted to learn php, and installed php the manual way (editing php.ini and adding the directory to the windows path).

I've also installed IIS to my computer and it kind of works: http://localroot does display my default webpage I put in the wwwroot folder. However, the server doesn't work with php, it doesn't know how to open the file.

I did check my php installation, running an action script with phpcode in it, and that worked. So, does anyone have a clue what I am missing?

1. IIS = 5.1
2. PHP = 5.1.2
3. I'm trying to do the isapi version of php for iis, not the cgi (does it matter?).

Well, I'm kind of clueless. Can somebody tell me what might work, and maybe php itself isn't installed correctly?

edit:
I'm using windows xp pro edition,

the install file says I need to change execute permissions to 'script only'. Then I need to press 'configure' button, but when I do that, nothing happens.

And:
__________________

Last edited by Neko; 2006-04-04 at 14:42.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-04-04, 14:52
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,185
You want the isapi version.
I would use Apache and not IIS. I had to set up IIS once and it was a real pain.
Or simply install a WAMP bundle (Apache + MySQL + PHP)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-04-04, 15:11
Neko's Avatar
Neko Neko is offline
Neko
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Muerte
You want the isapi version.
I would use Apache and not IIS. I had to set up IIS once and it was a real pain.
Or simply install a WAMP bundle (Apache + MySQL + PHP)
ok, thanks, that'll be an option if this doesn't work.

A friend of mine screamed when I told I'm trying to use iis, and he said: use linux man!


ps: there's one more weird things:
they say I need to give a user permission to read the php ini file (the IUSR_machine) but even in Local security policy, I have no clue how to do that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-04-04, 19:53
Neko's Avatar
Neko Neko is offline
Neko
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,950
I got me a Wamp, and it seems to be up and running. How very simple!

The problem I got with iis is that I somehow do not seem to have the option to change the read settings on a single folder, so that it's mainuser, can actually use the php.ini

windows should have this option if you use ntfs, which I do..but maybe it has more to do with me being on a router on a homenetwork..somehow I couldn't change local readpermissions.

Jesse
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-04-05, 00:48
SebZ SebZ is offline
Magic Ball Mister
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,789
I don't use Wamp, because I like to configure the long and hard way to learn about some new stuff to make it easier to install on Windows PCs (Like at school with all the laptops! )

With linux, I just find the easy way. Like with Ubuntu, sudo apt-get apache2
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-04-05, 10:45
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,185
Well, setting up a WAMP install from scratch is still much easier than setting up IIS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
different css results with php and xhtml? Neko Off topic 6 2006-08-03 08:57
php and mysql Neko Off topic 15 2006-06-29 00:13
PHP help needed morshem Off topic 3 2005-01-31 21:40
In need for PHP IDE programs TheMagicalElephant Off topic 1 2002-11-08 17:34
What PHP script must I use ???????????????????????????? G.A. Zogem Off topic 1 2002-04-03 13:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:42.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, the Magicball Network