Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > General
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

General The general chatting goes on in here. That means talk about the LBA games and its world.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-03-25, 03:13
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
OMG! Lba2 now works on Linux Boxes!!!

Hey guys!
I've installed Ubuntu again, and I was updating all the files and I decided to download Wine (WINdows Emulator) to check the latest version out.

Once it had installed, Automatix (A GUI Ubuntu updater with extra downloads) said for me to run "winecfg"

All my updates installed succsessfuly and I proceded to configure Wine. (Other distros, just download your Wine 0.9.10 Binary or Source and install)

I choose to run wine as XP, set the drives in the "Drives" tab with "D:\" pointing to "/mount/cdrom/" and the label (Click the avanced button) "TWINSEN"

I can't install it, but running it from the CD works PEFICTLY!
Untill I find a way to overcome the sound problem, there's no sound. (I had my stereo off ) There is sound too!
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.

Last edited by SebZ; 2006-03-25 at 08:47.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-03-25, 03:35
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Ok, Now I've got screen shots to show you.
Reminder, don't use the "Display in virtual desktop" mode. Yes, the sound will play but you'll have no controll over any of the gameplay, or see anything... just the cursor.


Here's the desktop:



The Wine Configuration page:



The Drive Configuration:

Note: The serial number isn't asterisks, it's a combonation of letters and numbers. (Put it there just to make sure.)


The Intro Movie (Window):



The Gameplay (Window):



What do you think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	root.winecfg.jpg‎
Views:	1130
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	5517   Click image for larger version

Name:	winecfg2.jpg‎
Views:	1155
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	5518   Click image for larger version

Name:	driveconfig.jpg‎
Views:	1165
Size:	111.7 KB
ID:	5519   Click image for larger version

Name:	twinsen.running.jpg‎
Views:	1113
Size:	134.0 KB
ID:	5520   Click image for larger version

Name:	twinsen.gameplay.jpg‎
Views:	1254
Size:	186.8 KB
ID:	5521  

__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.

Last edited by SebZ; 2006-03-25 at 10:01.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-03-25, 05:24
Lightwing Lightwing is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,963
Send a message via ICQ to Lightwing
Okay. That's just beyond cool.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-03-25, 06:11
morshem's Avatar
morshem morshem is offline
Magic level: Ice Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beʼer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 20,093
Send a message via MSN to morshem
Eh, I think LBA could run in Linux ever since the invention of DOSbox.

Anyway, I don't understand half of what you wrote, but does it work at normal speed for you?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-03-25, 08:44
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Because Linux doesn't use as much CPU time as Windows does, you still have a hell of alot of resources left, so the FPS is about 3 times as faster than running it on a 2.4 GHz Intel P4 with a nVidia GeForce 440MX 64 MB ram graphics card, so yeah, about normal speed for me.

With DOSBox you have to load it everytime and have it running at a fairly slow speed. Wine? Completely opposite. Full speed, no sound issue, fullscreen, the works!
In other words better than ever!

Edit: Also instead of having to run DOSBox and setting it up all the time or creating a shortcut, you just have to double click on the exe! (Or create a shortcut to the exe on your desktop (Like I have ))
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.

Last edited by SebZ; 2006-03-25 at 08:53.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-03-25, 12:34
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
try LBA1 for us heck i'm installing linux on my new pc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-03-25, 12:51
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Well then if anything get Ubuntu. Really quick and great for Web Development/Programming.
It also has an avanced installer, Automatix (GUI) or apt-get (CMD).

I can't test Lba1. I don't have a PC copy! Only PSX

Edit: Ok re-running Lba2, I updated my graphics in Ubuntu with the latest nVidia Linux Distro Updates, and the speed is a steady 99fps.
Perfect for screen capturing.
And another reason why it's that slow; wine's emulating windows (And we all know how much CPU time that takes!), but it's still smooth and nice.
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.

Last edited by SebZ; 2006-03-25 at 12:58.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2006-03-25, 12:56
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
If LBA2 doesnt work on Zenwalk, then i'll try Ubuntu. I don't need any fancy distro if others play LBA...

+ I only have a 3GB HDD on my computer without an OS

it would be awesome if someone got WINE running on DS somehow
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:05
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Well if they can find a way to have 128~ MB of ram and 16MB of space for wine (Not including the game) then yeah. I see why not!

And having 3GB on your HDD? Ouch, Don't try Ubuntu then. Get DamnSmallLinux. 50MB.
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:23
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
Don't need as small as DamnSmall lol I have a 200gb USB drive for other stuff
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:32
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Oh, well the usual Ubuntu installation take up about 4GB.
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:33
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
zenwalk takes somewhere between 1 and 2gb
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:34
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Fair enough. What X client does it use? KDE? Gnome?
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:38
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
xfce
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:46
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Is it a nice GUI?
Like Gnome?
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2006-03-25, 13:49
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
Yes, but more lightweight

maybe we should get an IM up, we cant keep using this thread as a way to talk i just added SebZMBN on AIM

EDIT---

LBAwin works on WINE too (in the virtual desktop area thing)



ignore the bit above the game that was gimp's fault

Last edited by Echomote; 2006-03-25 at 17:05.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2006-03-25, 23:51
Blind Prophet's Avatar
Blind Prophet Blind Prophet is offline
pioneer of the useless
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: if i told u i would have to kill u
Posts: 417
yay!
more lba 4 evryone!
__________________
I LAUGH IN THE FACE OF DANGER!!!!!! then run and hide until it goes away

MAKE LBA3 HAPPEN!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2006-03-26, 00:29
SebZ SebZ is offline
Boobs!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Far away from you
Posts: 2,854
Try running it without LbaWin.
__________________
Just remember, what happens in localhost, stays in localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2006-03-26, 04:05
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,816
I try Wine on Gentoo and I get my LBA programs running on it fine
I try both LBA but I get no cd errors even adding a new drive with the mount path. Anyway the few start up image I saw from both games were scratch
This is a good replacement for DOSBox.
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2006-03-26, 04:09
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
Quote:
Originally Posted by SebZ
Try running it without LbaWin.
You wouldn't be able to install it without LbaWin, so I really doubt you can play it through wine without LbaWin
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2006-03-26, 04:21
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,816
I didn't manage to run with the original version because it gave me an error. He can't find the dos4gw.exe
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2006-03-26, 13:25
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 3,487
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
give it dos4gw.exe then.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2006-03-26, 14:51
Purple Sheep's Avatar
Purple Sheep Purple Sheep is offline
Sheepie for short
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,740
Is it possible to run it fullscreen?
__________________
MBN Wrestlefest Champion 2006

My LBA screenshots page. And some exciting games I have made.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2006-03-26, 15:00
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,213
SebZ: That's cool!

But how can you run LBA1 on WINE (Windows Emulator) without LbaWin? Does it also emulate DOS?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2006-03-26, 16:10
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,816
It have dos emulator but he can't run the dos4gw.exe file .
Anyway I still have problems to detect the cdrom and also the graphics aren't the best. I'll try to take a picture.
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBA2 in linux Echomote General 4 2005-02-11 18:52
LBA Modifications: Quick Start & Modding Tools [updated: 01-04-2009] ChaosFish LBA Modifications - General 0 2004-01-23 18:59
Arty Wotsits, please take a look kaderoboy Off topic 54 2003-08-31 17:22
<<< LBA1 + LBA2 troubleshooting guide, READ ME! >>> wacko First aid 0 2003-07-03 00:36
Your translation Chaosfish Vultures General 15 2002-02-24 22:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:57.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network