Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > LBA Modifications > LBA Prequel
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

LBA Prequel The goal of this project is to make a prequel of LBA1 using the original engine. (homepage)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51  
Old 2010-09-21, 20:33
Jast's Avatar
Jast Jast is offline
Lemonhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wandering hermit
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by //// View Post
so let me see if i got this right, lba prequel is a project to make lba mod tools? if so thats nice, when ive been here last time (6 yrs ago), there were nearly non.
keep up the good work.
LBArchitect already allows you to modify/create your own islands from LBA1 and rooms from both games. It's quite fantastic
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 2010-09-21, 20:41
//// //// is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nederland
Posts: 15
oh whow thats very nice. is there any similar tool for lba2?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 2010-09-21, 20:41
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by //// View Post
oh whow thats very nice. is there any similar tool for lba2?
Yes. It's called LBArchitect.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 2010-09-21, 21:48
//// //// is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nederland
Posts: 15
so lbarchitect does those 3d islands lba2 has too? wow
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 2010-09-21, 22:11
LBAWinOwns's Avatar
LBAWinOwns LBAWinOwns is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,571
Send a message via MSN to LBAWinOwns
No, only the rooms.
__________________

LBA Image Creator project
(image by leoboe! )

Get the Jump-Save-Bug graphically explained here
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 2010-09-21, 22:14
//// //// is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nederland
Posts: 15
well then how is lbarchitect an answer to my question lol? please.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 2010-09-21, 22:15
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by //// View Post
well then how is lbarchitect an answer to my question lol? please.
THREAD 7000 is your friend
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 2010-09-21, 22:17
//// //// is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nederland
Posts: 15
ok thanks ill read it.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 2010-09-22, 02:28
Necdilzor's Avatar
Necdilzor Necdilzor is offline
New efforts! :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tiliar Island
Posts: 1,088
Hey, It's been some time since I appeared at the forums... got a lot of problems lately, (earthquakes and all :P) but finally got some time to get back to modding.

I downloaded and tried the Beta today so it's my turn for some feedback:

Great work Zink, this new Beta is really good news. You really put a lot of work into it, I'd like to congratulate you for your amazing work . I found the new features quite interesting and really nice, the copy coordinates to clipboard feature will save a lot of time. I remember taking ages to find out the coordinates of a spot and after that due to my lack of skills in storycoding, failing epically with the zones (but that's my problem :P). This program is just getting better and better.

Once again nice work! I love this program .

BTW: Did you change your server or something? Now I don't have problems to access your website and download your programs .
__________________

Take a look at the blog!

LBA:LID Demo v1.0 HERE
Report bugs here! Thanks Alexfont!
----------------------------------------
Take a look at Vindish's mod!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 2010-09-26, 13:15
Zink's Avatar
Zink Zink is offline
Fruto di tutti frutti
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lublin, Poland
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by //// View Post
so let me see if i got this right, lba prequel is a project to make lba mod tools? if so thats nice, when ive been here last time (6 yrs ago), there were nearly non.
keep up the good work.
No. LBA Prequel is a project to make a modification to LBA changing the story (that takes place before LBA 1, that's why "The Prequel"). The modding tools are being created as a side-effect of this - we can't do anything without them .

LBArchitect can edit only isometric areas of the game(s). Since LBA 1 is all isometric - it can be fully modified. For 3D outside scenes of LBA 2 there is no editor AFAIK at the moment, there were two or three projects going, but they ended up as viewers only.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necdilzor View Post
Great work Zink, this new Beta is really good news. You really put a lot of work into it, I'd like to congratulate you for your amazing work . I found the new features quite interesting and really nice, the copy coordinates to clipboard feature will save a lot of time. I remember taking ages to find out the coordinates of a spot and after that due to my lack of skills in storycoding, failing epically with the zones (but that's my problem :P). This program is just getting better and better.

Once again nice work! I love this program .

BTW: Did you change your server or something? Now I don't have problems to access your website and download your programs .
Thaks for the support .

Yes, I have movoed to another hosting provider. Good to hear everything now works well.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 2010-09-26, 14:55
Mazaka151's Avatar
Mazaka151 Mazaka151 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 376
Ugh about that , i got a few errors using the factory... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FpGx5AWcNU
could you also put there zoom like 20-30x

Last edited by Mazaka151; 2010-09-26 at 16:33.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 2010-09-27, 10:12
Zink's Avatar
Zink Zink is offline
Fruto di tutti frutti
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lublin, Poland
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mazaka151 View Post
Ugh about that , i got a few errors using the factory... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FpGx5AWcNU
could you also put there zoom like 20-30x
Ok, I see your error, and no explanation of how to reproduce it, not even a word on what you did to make it happen. How do you think should I find the reason then?

-------> The Bugtracker
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 2010-09-27, 19:16
Mazaka151's Avatar
Mazaka151 Mazaka151 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 376
Well thats not a fatal problem but i think its caused by using the UNDO button too much, anyway do you know how i can put my self made bricks into builder? i'd really need to know it , and the 20-30x zoom would be nice
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 2010-09-27, 19:59
Zink's Avatar
Zink Zink is offline
Fruto di tutti frutti
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lublin, Poland
Posts: 1,745
Now I have something to start with . I can reproduce it, but I'm getting only one "Range check error" message and nothing more (but maybe it depends on context).

I will make the zoom (but I may forget about this and the bug if you don't report it in The Bugtracker)

You can't use separate bricks in Builder directly, you must make layouts of them first. You must have your bricks saved as a .bll file (Save Library As), then you choose "File -> Open or create new (Advanced)" in Builder, and choose your library in the appropriate section.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 2010-09-27, 20:12
Mazaka151's Avatar
Mazaka151 Mazaka151 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 376
Please give me some google talk or messenger of yours, please i need to get this straight, im getting all kinds of problems, maybe if you could put this into format that works in the builder...
Attached Files
File Type: zip Custom Bricks.zip‎ (13.8 KB, 205 views)
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 2010-09-27, 20:19
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 329
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
I've been talking with Mazaka151 on GTalk trying to experiment to find a solution.

I learned Builder by experimenting a while but Factory is more fussy and can crash quite easily if your unsure what your doing.


Our goal is to make a new tileset which can used in builder and added into LBAnet.
We started playing about with Factory because if we can create a new tileset and our own libraries with bricks we've made then we can make more maps which aren't restricted by the layouts.

I can only do so much with the limited bricks and layouts I have and creating bricks/layouts which are solid or not fake means its not wasted when put into LBAnet and more things can easily be added to a map.

Edit: I've made a tutorial video for Builder to make LBAnet maps which has been working for me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qljfkyBXv9s
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos

Last edited by DarkOnistar; 2010-09-27 at 20:25.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 2010-09-28, 23:57
Mazaka151's Avatar
Mazaka151 Mazaka151 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 376
The builder in LBArchitect Beta 7 is missing the New grid option
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 2010-09-29, 21:34
Mazaka151's Avatar
Mazaka151 Mazaka151 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 376
looks like LBA2 palette bricks cannot be put now
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 2010-09-30, 11:39
Zink's Avatar
Zink Zink is offline
Fruto di tutti frutti
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lublin, Poland
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mazaka151 View Post
Please give me some google talk or messenger of yours, please i need to get this straight, im getting all kinds of problems, maybe if you could put this into format that works in the builder...
Did DarkOnistar solved your problem? If not, I can talk with you through GTalk: [email address] .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mazaka151 View Post
The builder in LBArchitect Beta 7 is missing the New grid option
File -> Open or create new (Advanced) -> select "New" in the Grid box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mazaka151 View Post
looks like LBA2 palette bricks cannot be put now
They can, but LBA 2 support is broken in all Builder 1.0.0 betas. Some editing features may still work, but it may crash frequently.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 2010-09-30, 12:37
Mazaka151's Avatar
Mazaka151 Mazaka151 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 376
yup looks like i got lba1 to work but lba2 still doesnt
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 2011-04-29, 11:30
Zink's Avatar
Zink Zink is offline
Fruto di tutti frutti
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lublin, Poland
Posts: 1,745
Good news!

Architect beta 8 is now available!

The changes since beta 7:
  • Script editor: Added code completion lists for almost all listable Scene elements, like: Actors, Zones, Points, Entities, Bodies, Animations, text lines, sound samples, Track Labels, Comportements.
  • Scene reference manual is now almost complete! You can find it in \help directory and in the Help menu in Builder.
  • In Grid Mode selection size and position can be changed with NumPad keys (NumLock must be on) - 7,8,9,1,2,3 keys move the selection, the same keys with Ctrl - resize the selection.
  • Layouts now can be imported from external Scenrios

You can download this version here:
LBArchitect_1.0.0_beta8.zip
or here (mirror):
LBArchitect_1.0.0_beta8.zip

A more detailed article has been posted on the Prequel blog
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 2011-04-29, 11:37
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,794
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Fantastic! [/voice of Christopher Eccleston Dr Who]
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with LBArchitect Jack LBA Modifications - General 5 2009-02-17 12:25
Progress... Dino-Fly Little Big Racing Adventure 3 2008-03-26 04:31
a question about lbarchitect Piekku LBA Modifications - General 28 2007-07-11 21:15
Progress! xesf LBA Prequel 1 2006-08-25 16:04
LBArchitect JOJOlikar First aid 1 2006-01-02 14:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:23.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network