Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2003-11-23, 17:12
Red_Wraith Red_Wraith is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Angry [LBA1] Problems with Sound FX in Dos. Game crashes when I activate Sound FX.

I've got the diskette version of lba1 and the cd version of lba2. I use Caldera Dr-Dos 7.03. Lba2 works fine without any problems. However, there is a big problem in lba 1. I have got a soundblaster live player 5.1 with a working dos soundblaster 16 emulation driver. When I set soundblaster 16 for music and "no wave" for sound fx, the game runs without crashing. But when I select soundblaster 16 for sound fx, the game crashes when I start it. When I run lba.exe I can see that something is loaded and immediately after that the monitor disables itself like if there was no signal any more from the graphics card and I have to reboot. I also testet other sound devices for sound fx (the emulation driver works also with sound blaster, sb pro etc. in other games) but with the same result. I hope anybody can help me.

Here are some information which might be important:

Hardware
Mainboard: Asus P4B266SE
CPU: Pentium 4 2533 MHz
Graphic Card: ATI Radeon 9700pro
Sound Card: Soundblaster Live Player 5.1

Operating System
The Operating System I use for starting LBA is Caldera Dr-Dos 7.03. It's on a fat16 partition. I use a dos emulation driver for my soundcard. Everything works fine EXCEPT lba.

config.sys
DEVICE=C:\DRDOS\EMM386.EXE DPMI=OFF
DEVICEHIGH=C:\CDROM\TEAC_CDI.SYS /D:TEAC-CDI
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRDOS\SETVER.EXE
SHELL=C:\COMMAND.COM C:\ /E:512 /P
BREAK=OFF
BUFFERS=80
FILES=20
FCBS=4,4
LASTDRIVE=Z
HISTORY=ON,512,ON
COUNTRY=49,,C:\DRDOS\COUNTRY.SYS
DOS=HIGH,UMB

autoexec.bat
@ECHO OFF
PATH C:\BOOTIT\DRDOS;C:\DRDOS;C:\MSDOS;C:\
EMM386 PIC=ON
KEYB GR+
VERIFY OFF
PROMPT $P$G
SET DRDOSCFG=C:\DRDOS
LH C:\DRDOS\NWCDEX.EXE /S /D:TEAC-CDI /M:15 /E
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6
SET CTSYN=C:\SBLIVE
C:\SBLIVE\SBEINIT.COM
LH C:\DRDOS\DRMOUSE.COM

lba.cfg
Language: Deutsch
LanguageCD: None
FlagKeepVoice: OFF
FlagDisplayText: ON

SvgaDriver: VESA

MidiDriver: A32SP2FM.DLL
MidiExec: NoExec
MidiBase: 220h
MidiIRQ:
MidiDMA:
MidiType: Midi

WaveDriver: W_SB16.DLL
WaveExec: NoExec
WaveBase: 220h
WaveIRQ:
WaveDMA:
WaveRate: 22000

MixerDriver: M_SB16.DLL
MixerBase: 220h
WaveVolume: 255
MusicVolume: 187
CDVolume: 216
LineVolume: 216
MasterVolume: 255


I would be very grateful if somebody could help me!

Cya
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2003-11-23, 17:38
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
4 words: click here and here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2003-11-23, 19:52
Red_Wraith Red_Wraith is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Well this doesn't really help me. I'll give you a quotation: "If you choose a sound card from setup, the game crashes. So you will only play it with CD music on DOSBox for now. But it's, like, running smooth and fast! THANK YOU DOSBOX!". I thank you nevertheless.

Cya
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2003-11-23, 20:30
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
OOoh.. sorry, I guess I wasn't paying attention
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2003-12-06, 17:44
Red_Wraith Red_Wraith is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Can nobody help me?

Cya
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2003-12-11, 02:06
Telanis's Avatar
Telanis Telanis is offline
LBA3 OR DIE!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kitchener, ON, Canada
Posts: 46
funnyfrog's patch might fix it, it worked for me. It auto-configures the sound stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2003-12-17, 15:12
Red_Wraith Red_Wraith is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telanis
funnyfrog's patch might fix it, it worked for me. It auto-configures the sound stuff.
Thank you, but this doesn't help for playing in DOS, does it? I don't want to play LBA in windows because I'm quite sure that it won't work if it even doesn't work in DOS.

Cya
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2003-12-17, 19:41
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
First sentence of the post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Wraith
I've got the diskette version of lba1
So LbaWin won't work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lba1 Works In Xp With Sound Read Me If You Are Having Problems!!!!! munchkin First aid 1 2003-12-04 20:50
LBA 1 Windows Patch sound problems... LBAFan517 First aid 6 2003-11-18 13:39
Lba 1 sound problems oscar First aid 5 2002-04-30 15:17
LBA 1 sound problems Unregistered First aid 5 2002-03-15 19:36
Sound (not music) problems. Karlsson First aid 30 2000-12-30 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:59.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network