Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2003-06-23, 19:09
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Should I buy this GEFORCE FX 5200 ?

I need a new graphics card, my current ones making a weird "whirring" sound for a minute when I turn the machine on.

My budget is £100, my only requirement is a TV out.

Im thinking of getting this:
http://uk.special.reserve.co.uk/q_GG...eforce_fx.html

Anyone know of any reason why I shouldnt?
Do you know a better card/deal?

I dont know much about graphics cards
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2003-06-23, 20:06
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
3D modeling doesn't require fast 3D cards...

That videocard is overpriced; I could get it for € 80.
GF FX 5200/5600 review
Tom's Hardware also has huge videocard roundup benchmarks, check them out.

I'd take a look at benchmarks, and consider the ATi Radeon 9500.
AFAIK, the Radeons are a better deal than the GF FXes at the moment.
You could also consider the GF4 ti series, 4200/4400/4600 according to budget. Good quality cards.

Nearly every card has TV out these days.

What are your other specs anyway, and what do you intent to do with it?


A 'whirring sound' sounds like an old fan, just replace it with a new one. I had the same with casefans a couple of times.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2003-06-23, 20:37
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
you can change the fan on the fraphics card? O_o
I didnt even know that

I'll check out the Radeons, but the GF4s dont have Driect X 9 support do they? In fact, ive heard they dont all support 7 or 8 100%....
According to a few sources, all the 5xxx g-forces have 100% direct X 9 support...which kinda seems essiental if I dont want to have to replace the card in a few months.

My other specs are just:
900mhz AMD,
256MB DDR,
80+10+1 GB HD (1GB HD is completely used for virtual memory ),

I only want the card for maxium compatability for the latest games/software for over a year.
Im not a proformance freak.

As for 3D work, my current £10 ATI TNT2 seemed good enough for the real-time editing window, so i imagine anything will do
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff

Last edited by Darkflame; 2003-06-23 at 21:04.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2003-06-23, 20:43
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
If you want DX9 support badly, I'd take an Radeon 9500, they only cost €130 or something.
Not that 100% DX9 support matters much now, but I have no idea how that will change in the future. You can still use DX9, it just won't have all the features, so games might not have some special effect, or run slower.

Sure you can change the fan on a videocard, it's still a fan with two power cords
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2003-06-23, 21:34
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Is the Radeon 9500 really noticeably better then the G-Force?

I bought my pc with the best motherboard I could, and the worst of everything else, to give me maxium upgradability.
So now im buying a decent graphics card (at least, compared to my current one), I want it to last as long as possible.
But im not worried about proformance that much, I'm more budget concious then that

Also, where would you recomend getting the G-Force 5200 or Radeon 9500 from?
I gota factor in shipping costs too
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2003-06-23, 21:40
Bushmeister's Avatar
Bushmeister Bushmeister is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,922
I wouldn't worry about DX9 support right now. Practically no games use it completely right now, and this won't change for a good long while. I would say that ATI might have a slight edge at the moment, maybe, but only for a while. Nvidia and ATI have become very competitive so it could all change in a matter of months.
__________________
'But when push comes to shove, you gotta do what you love. Even if it's not a good idea.'
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2003-06-23, 21:59
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
DF, I wouldn't know for UK, I always use the PriceWatch of some Dutch site to check where things are cheapest at the best shops, maybe there's something similar for UK? Pandemona seems to know a decent UK hardware webshop, try to contact him.

I'm pretty sure the Radeon 9500 is better in performance than the GF FX 5200. That doesn't matter to you, but since it also has full DX9 support and overall better ratings from people, I'd try to get that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2003-06-23, 22:29
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Id get it if its the same price, or just a big more.

Quote:
Originally posted by Bushmeister
I wouldn't worry about DX9 support right now. Practically no games use it completely right now, and this won't change for a good long while.
But the point is I dont want to have to change my card for a good long while
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2003-06-25, 19:13
Guitar Guitar is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 662
I use the Gf 4 MX 440 card, it works fine esspecially on simulations and 3D rendering.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2003-06-25, 22:16
Xakep_INC's Avatar
Xakep_INC Xakep_INC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,059
Send a message via ICQ to Xakep_INC
Quote:
Originally posted by Guitar
I use the Gf 4 MX 440 card, it works fine esspecially on simulations and 3D rendering.
3D rendering doenst need a fancy video card. It needs a very fancy CPU!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2003-06-26, 14:10
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Thats why I use my AMD 900mhz

(luckly I can be very patient )
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i buy lba games in uk??? cheap if possible! spooner_22 General 5 2004-02-26 18:12
where do you buy twinsen in australia panadol General 29 2003-09-25 05:52
I want to buy LBA2 (again) SideShow General 1 2003-08-07 19:25
Buy LBA1 Guitar General 1 2002-12-06 10:05
Where can I buy the LBA games? Lgr General 1 2001-10-26 12:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:04.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network