Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76  
Old 2005-03-16, 06:49
DedalousDiggle DedalousDiggle is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,658
I just saw an example of the DS's long standby time first hand... I closed mine and forgot about it completely. Four days later, I come back and Mario's in the exact same place I left him. And still a green power light, too.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 2005-03-16, 10:10
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Yes, thats a problem I had...I like to do my own benchmarks on things, but not playing my DS for a long period is a tad hard

Incidently, its probably going to be awhile, but once Nintendo get their Wi-Fi Mojo in gear, we should have a MBN clan
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 2005-03-16, 13:22
the_angry_monkey's Avatar
the_angry_monkey the_angry_monkey is offline
formerly just angry
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 2,440
Well Animal Crossing is slated for a november releaase I believe so we should be online by then too! MBN league by Nov is a definite possiblity (don't disappoint me Nintendo). I managed to have my DS on solid for about 28 hours intersprsed with around 4 hours gaming. I have it off now but only cos I dont want it to run out during my work day....battery experiment to continue
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 2005-03-16, 16:29
Bot13's Avatar
Bot13 Bot13 is offline
Look beyond reality.
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fortress Island.
Posts: 2,621
Just thought of something..

You guys think LBA1 could be running on the DS ? Or LBA2?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosFish View Post
Did you know? Over 30 million people lurk the MBN every day. We who actually post here are like celebrities to them.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 2005-03-16, 16:48
the_angry_monkey's Avatar
the_angry_monkey the_angry_monkey is offline
formerly just angry
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 2,440
LBA 1 easy life - LBA1 ran on original PS and DS is more powerful than that. I think maybe the speech samples may have to be reduced though and the music would have to be changed from CD audio. I guess with a little modification LBA2 should technically possible too. What I really want to see is C&C - original style but different story
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 2005-03-16, 17:33
hobmoblin's Avatar
hobmoblin hobmoblin is offline
thegnarlypanda
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to hobmoblin
LBA 1 could (well in theory) run on a GP32, if I knew how to port it over I would. It will most definatly run on the DS but I doubt we will ever see it, hey weren't they making a GBA LBA? If it can run on the GBA it can run on anything
__________________
The Gnarly Panda.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 2005-03-16, 23:36
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Yes, In thoery it could run on the GBA.

Ever played Tony Hawk? Praticaly the same engine, and with smooth scrolling too.
LBA1 dosnt take much really.

LBA2 could certain run on a DS as well, allthough alterations would have to be made.

As regard to space;
The current set of DS Cards are 128MB.
Thats probably enough for a fair amount, if you factor in the reduced resolution needed for cutscenes. It would be a squeze, but possible I think.

256MB card would be easier, should see those in a few months I guese. (judgeing by the rate at which GBA/GB carts doubled in size)

Quote:
Well Animal Crossing is slated for a november releaase I believe so we should be online by then too! MB
It is online.
Its the 1 confirmed online title by Nintendo
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 2005-03-17, 10:10
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Quote:
We can confirm that a version of Pro Evolution Soccer for Nintendo DS is already underway at Konami, alongside a version for Nintendo’s Revolution. Both games will be fully online and feature some platform-specific tricks, the details of which were not disclosed.
~Spong

Im not too interested in football games, but if true that might interest some people.

"Platform specific tricks" might mean say,touch screens on the revolution controlls used to view/edit player formations on such.

Just a guese
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 2005-03-17, 11:51
the_angry_monkey's Avatar
the_angry_monkey the_angry_monkey is offline
formerly just angry
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 2,440
Hmm . just with relation to wifi and nifi. I have seen a lot of crap floating around that the DS uses 802.11b for wifi and has a proprietary standard for internal comms (NiFi) - however, most experiments prove that the DS always uses 802.11b for comms its just it doesn't have a built in TCP/IP protocol set for comms on the internet. The NiFi part is the packet type used by the DS, it still uses an Eternet frame, hence it should be entirely possible to decode the NiFi packet and repackage it with a TCP/IP frame....just a thought but it seems to be taking a long time and I want to play Mario online now
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 2005-03-17, 12:33
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Its possible, the problem is at the moment its not pratical.
Tunneling has only been done with certain wi-fi cards, and only with Linux at that.

I think the firmware of the wi-fi card has to be redone in order to understand Nintendos protocall. (same frequency, but to most cards they think its static).
Its totaly possible, but its a fair amount of work.

Still, they did the cube and that didnt have any protocalls either.

As for proper Wi-Fi TCP/IP for the DS.
Its easy enough to stick it on the game, as its tiny.
Or it could be built in to the firmware already yet hidden at the mo.
Or they could update the firmware ver pc software.
Or they might supply pc software/Wi-fi card bundle.

Many possibilitys.
Interesting to see what they will do.

The two things they have said is:
*Little or no configeration for the end user. (aka, as simple as humanly possible)
*Free (unlikely to be Free Free, more likely "just ISP" free)
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 2005-03-17, 12:40
the_angry_monkey's Avatar
the_angry_monkey the_angry_monkey is offline
formerly just angry
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 2,440
What do you mean by just ISP free? Do you think it will be a monthly subscription as with PSP? I'm not paying for online gaming dammit
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 2005-03-17, 19:39
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Xbox users pay for the live bill ontop of broadband bill, (and then bills for MMORPG if they play them).

Not sure about PSP arrangements. I dont think its free for hotspots, maybe home use..
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 2005-03-17, 21:37
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Nintendo DS £55!!!

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-9h-70-ckm.html

Now thats high tech at an amazing price.
(clearing for the new coloured models I guese...but who cares about paintwork?)


I highly recomend people snap at this bargin NOW.
I used the site hundreds of times, its perfectly safe and legit.
You will have to pay a bit more with tax, but its still a bargin!
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 2005-03-18, 16:43
hobmoblin's Avatar
hobmoblin hobmoblin is offline
thegnarlypanda
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to hobmoblin
lol there all gone
__________________
The Gnarly Panda.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 2005-03-18, 18:57
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Typical
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 2005-03-19, 23:15
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 2005-03-19, 23:35
Cyberg-Ares's Avatar
Cyberg-Ares Cyberg-Ares is offline
Little Bastard Warrior.
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,640
God damn it! This is really starting to annoy me. There doesn't seem to be any developers out there, who wants to use the special features for the DS! If the N5 is like the DS and if developers do likewise there, then Nintendo might as quit!
If they're not going to utilize the features of the DS, then the PSP is a better choice. I don't get it!
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 2005-03-20, 00:02
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
?
They both use wi-fi and touchscreen, what more do you want
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 2005-03-20, 11:42
Bushmeister's Avatar
Bushmeister Bushmeister is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,922
Oooh looks nice. I've only just realised that the touch screen of the DS will make it possible for a traditional RTS game to be played on it, what with the touch screen fulfilling the role of the mouse. Lovely.
__________________
'But when push comes to shove, you gotta do what you love. Even if it's not a good idea.'
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 2005-03-20, 13:40
Cyberg-Ares's Avatar
Cyberg-Ares Cyberg-Ares is offline
Little Bastard Warrior.
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkflame
?
They both use wi-fi and touchscreen, what more do you want
Well their not the least bit interesting at all. The wifi should just be a standard move considering it's there, (I don't get why you couldn't play online in MP2, how hard could it be to implant) and the touch screen use is not something you would really miss. The only two games that REALLY seems to be doing something are Kirby Touch and Yoshi's touch and Go. Another Code seems interesting but doesn't really seem to be usin the features of the console, except for an interesting use of the double screen.
The console features

*Two screens.

*Touch screen.

*Enough power, we don't need more, you should be able to create the best
game ever, Ocarina of Time can run on this system.

*Voice control thingy.

*Wi-fi thingy.

-------

If the developers would please understand this:

*The 3d created on this machine is generally not pretty at all.

*The 2D is awesome.

*Arcade games aren't the way forward.

* And just in case they considered this: NO! No N64 ports. OoT has been released 3 times now, not again, besides, the console has a D-pad not an analog stick, which means you get the crappy controls the PSX had before the (IMO) crappy Dual shock.
-------

Sorry... perhaps I just had to vent some bottled up rage... oh, and as far as I have seen on my friends PS2, Golden Eye Rogue Agent is just a really really crappy game, another prime example of EA's total lack of game creation skills and hunger for money.

EDIT Just read Bushmeisters post. Seems true, yet this is a turn based game.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 2005-03-20, 14:03
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
AoE2 is a system saler though, many consider it one of the best startergys ever made. And surely a touchscreen emulators a mouse pretty good?
It uses wi-fi, it uses both screens...
Ok, I suppose you could have orders shouted at them into the mic, but I dought it will add much to this type of games.
Graphicaly it could be better...but then, so could the PC one...

As for other games:

Polarium ~ Without touchscreen?eek, would be a nightmate. Dualscreen works well too. Multiplayer, and you can download a demo to another system.

Metroid ~ You couldnt aim without the touchscreen use. Essiential really.

WarioWare ~ 100% touchscreen and mic use. Multiplayer is BADLY missing though, which I do hate.

Mario & Rayman both look pretty great graphicaly to me, and they use the features well.
Partiularly Mario.
Ok, it was designed for an analogue stick, but once your used to the thumbstrap the touchscreen can emulate it pretty well. (demostrating that the touchscreen can emulate other controlls, rather the mearly being a "new" controll).
Mario also uses Single-card multiplayer games. (too short though)
And a host of very touch/dualscreen based mini games.

I think Nintendo covered all bases with Mario
Except the mic

Robots, and The Sims seem to be the only co-out games so far. Both could easily be done on the GBA.
"least imaginative" touchscreen use award goes to Spider Man 2. Allthough graphicaly thats supprisely good, dispit techicaly being 2D.


Quote:
Sorry... perhaps I just had to vent some bottled up rage... oh, and as far as I have seen on my friends PS2, Golden Eye Rogue Agent is just a really really crappy game, another prime example of EA's total lack of game creation skills and hunger for money.
Yes, it is. and yes, they Are.
But FPS games controll quite nicely on the DS.
And 7 player Wi-Fi does sound pretty nice to me.

Quote:
The wifi should just be a standard move considering it's there, (I don't get why you couldn't play online in MP2, how hard could it be to implant)
You mean the metroid game that comes with it?
It has local-area wireless games for 4 players that work amazingly well.

It dosnt have online support yet, because the network itself isnt up and running yet.
I expect Nintendo will make the full version online if they can have the network up before or soon after release. If they cant, they wont bother.



As for Zelda, personaly Id like a DS port of Zelda with a new Four Swords game with it.
Much like the GBA had Lttp with Four Swords Original.

The DS Four Swords should be 3D, and could use the ocarina engine.....when you have a screen per player...you dont need to have it overhead

With DS Cards being many factors bigger then N64 Carts, putting ocarina together with a new game shouldnt be hard.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 2005-03-20, 14:47
Panda's Avatar
Panda Panda is offline
Still in a dream...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,723
Ooh, thanks for the AOE news DF!

Although, AOE as a turn based game? Doesn't sound too great imo. That said, I'll need to play it before I make a judgement. I tell you what would work well on the DS though - Heroes of Might and Magic. Brilliant game for this kind of console if you ask me...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 2005-03-20, 15:57
Cyberg-Ares's Avatar
Cyberg-Ares Cyberg-Ares is offline
Little Bastard Warrior.
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkflame
You mean the metroid game that comes with it?
It has local-area wireless games for 4 players that work amazingly well.

It dosnt have online support yet, because the network itself isnt up and running yet.
I expect Nintendo will make the full version online if they can have the network up before or soon after release. If they cant, they wont bother....
eh, no I meant Metroid Prime 2 Echoes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkflame
....As for Zelda, personaly Id like a DS port of Zelda with a new Four Swords game with it.
Much like the GBA had Lttp with Four Swords Original.

The DS Four Swords should be 3D, and could use the ocarina engine.....when you have a screen per player...you dont need to have it overhead

With DS Cards being many factors bigger then N64 Carts, putting ocarina together with a new game shouldnt be hard.
Argh no. Don't make the DS another port console. Too many ports for the GBA, no more for the DS thank you. New 3D zelda game at least, and then include a 3D four swords.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 2005-03-21, 10:53
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
But whats the harm in bundeled a port with a new game? like i was surgesting....

Quote:
Although, AOE as a turn based game? Doesn't sound too great imo. That said, I'll need to play it before I make a judgement. I tell you what would work well on the DS though - Heroes of Might and Magic. Brilliant game for this kind of console if you ask me...
Well, theres mixed reports, some sites are saying it "plays like the original" so its not sure next.
Graphics seem simerlar, only with the sprites scaled up a lot. (for the small screen I guese)
---
Indeed.
Ubisoft stached the Heroes rights after 3DO went bust.
Heroes Of Might and Magic 5 is planned for next year, but no news of a DS version.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff

Last edited by Darkflame; 2005-03-21 at 14:51.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 2005-03-21, 11:00
the_angry_monkey's Avatar
the_angry_monkey the_angry_monkey is offline
formerly just angry
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 2,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandy
Ooh, thanks for the AOE news DF!

Although, AOE as a turn based game? Doesn't sound too great imo. That said, I'll need to play it before I make a judgement. I tell you what would work well on the DS though - Heroes of Might and Magic. Brilliant game for this kind of console if you ask me...

I agree - I wanted to see an RTS really
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wii Double-J Off topic 606 2010-01-07 21:52
Nintendo Junk... (or "WTF OMG A NEW ZELDA TRAILER!") Darkflame Off topic 62 2005-09-29 12:09
Another fun Nintendo discussion! Assassin Off topic 9 2005-09-28 19:09
Is Nintendo fighting themself? Cyberg-Ares Off topic 2 2005-07-12 21:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:40.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network