Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2003-04-06, 01:07
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
LAN help needed

Hi, can any of you guys help me set up a LAN between XP and Me. I got it work halfway and have read all the things on the net and gone through pretty much all the stuff. (I know the answer is in the rest of the pretty much) but still doesn't work perfectly. If anyone has the time and will to help, s/he is welcome and would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2003-04-06, 02:54
demonixz demonixz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ukish
Posts: 606
A more specific description of what's no working would be useful in helping
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2003-04-06, 11:51
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
You said you already looked on the web, so I won't tell you it in detail, assuming you've already read it.
You can always use XP's wizard, if you don't know how to do it. It should work fine then.

(BTW: Make sure you have a regular UTP cable and NOT a crossed cable, if you're using an UTP Hub. If you hook up two computers directly, you should have a crossed UTP cable.)
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2003-04-06, 14:45
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
Question

Well I set up the LAN between two computers, one with ME and the other one with XP. It's with a crosslinked cable, directly via a RealTek 8139 Fast Ethernet Family card NIC in the XP and a RealTek 8139 Fast Ethernet Family card in the ME box. Now XP can ping local host, so can ME. Both can ping themselves and XP can ping ME. XP sees ME's winchester via the file and printer sharing. ME can't ping the XP machine and can't see XP's winchester. (What makes things harder that both OS are in Hungarian so if I make some technical terms' trnslation wrong then please forgive me!) I have guest login enabled and besides that have a single administrator login under XP ofcourse. I have read something that a user profile should be created, but I'm not sure if should and why or how.
The way it works now is forexample under 1nsane (mabe you know it and then it would help, dunno) that uses IPX (,which is an installed protocol under both machines) the XP can't host. If does so, the game appears amongst the LAN games, but ME can't join (probably as it cannot ping or see XP). The other way round it seems to work fine when the ME is the host.
Now for another example, under Unreal Tournament that uses TCP/IP (as far as I know, and you probably know this game better) LAN fails either way. No matter which computer is the host the game simply appears in the LAN game list and ping is 999 (max recognized by the game I guess) and the playres are 0/0 no matter how the game is set up, like there's noone playing in the hosted game.
As far as I know the firewall is turned off under XP (although some confirment of how to do so properly would be helpful).
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2003-04-06, 14:52
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
If 1nsane uses IPX (just like Red Alert on my LAN's), you need to install that protocol seperately (if you haven't done that already), because standard it isn't installed with XP.
To do that, go to the properties of your netwerkconnection and click install--->protocol. Then, install the IPX protocol and you should be ready to go.


Concerning the firewall issue:
You really should uninstall the firewall. I once tried disabling it, too (ZoneAlarm), but it still blocked every incoming thing. So, uninstall and try again.
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2003-04-06, 21:33
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
Yeah, how can I uninstall firewall?
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2003-04-06, 21:37
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
In the software menu.
If it isn't there, look in the start menu for it.
If it isn't there, look in C:\Program Files\ for it.
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2003-04-07, 11:18
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
I don't quite get what is software menu, but in the rest I can't find. So I guess it's not up. By the way the protocol was installed and I already went through the wizard. (not the weather wizard ) and installed the network on the ME by the XP network disk created, didn't work. How about the user profiles? Need anything there? If you have your network working under XP could you send me please your ipconfig/all, and other stuff, I'll send mine too and then maybe you could tell me what's wrong.
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2003-04-07, 13:28
Xakep_INC's Avatar
Xakep_INC Xakep_INC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via ICQ to Xakep_INC
Install the NetBEUI (or something like that) protocol. It enables network work between different OS'es.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2003-04-07, 15:40
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Quote:
Originally posted by Xakep_INC
Install the NetBEUI (or something like that) protocol. It enables network work between different OS'es.
No. You only need "Client for Microsoft Networks" for a Windows network to work at all, but tcp/ip and ipx are logical to install as well.
NetBEUI is NetWare stuff or something and is usually not needed.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2003-04-07, 18:22
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
It's funny you mentioned NetBEUI, should that be on ME or on XP, because under XP I have;

1. Microsoft client server
2. QoS package (something) I can't translate it
3. File and printer sharing
4. Networkmonitoring (or something like that)
5. NWLink NetBIOS
6. NWLink IPX/SPX/NetBIOS compatible protocol
7. TCP/IP protocol

and that's about it that I can install, no more protocol for the card it says.
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2003-04-08, 01:15
demonixz demonixz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ukish
Posts: 606
You don't need NetBEUI - you should only ever really need tcp/ip since that's the most widely accepted standard, although some older software will use ipx (which is msoft proprietory if I recall?).

Tried getting XP to create you a setup disc to run on the ME machine? That should do it all for you ...

(Like I'm good for LAN advice .. still can't get bloody mandrake & xp tangoing ...)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2003-04-08, 14:31
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
He already did that, man.
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2003-04-08, 18:34
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
Before you guys get at each other thanx everyone for the help. Problem solved. I had to turn off IPSEC-urity. Now finally it works. UT 2003 all night long.
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2003-04-08, 18:42
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
I'm glad your problem is solved, man.
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2003-04-08, 20:21
Gergely's Avatar
Gergely Gergely is offline
Gregorius
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Budapest (HUNGARY)
Posts: 281
I can feel your happy for me.
__________________
Dluoc ydaerla R143u4r dna Yugenolc dna.
Gnihtyreve daer nac ohw elpoep era ereht.

Gregorius' Corner (http://www.gregoriuscorner.com)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2003-04-08, 23:13
demonixz demonixz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ukish
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally posted by HomerSimpson
He already did that, man.
You're asking me to actually read other people's posts now? :P
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2003-04-09, 10:53
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
Quote:
Originally posted by demonixz
You're asking me to actually read other people's posts now? :P
Hehehe
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinsun Model Needed :) (note; U not E) Darkflame The Relentless Movie project 23 2007-05-26 17:20
Play LAN games over the internet!! Echomote Off topic 11 2006-03-02 11:45
Heh :) Unusual help needed Xakep_INC Off topic 6 2003-07-24 11:44
Lan Bomba! Off topic 13 2003-06-29 20:12
My LAN Party one month ago HomerSimpson Off topic 12 2003-04-06 12:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:24.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network