Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-09-25, 15:14
haz0r's Avatar
haz0r haz0r is offline
D0PEFISH
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Best OS for retro gaming...

Hi all,

As you know, WinXP is not 100% compatible for most older games and, well recently I've been wanting to get into some old classics (such as LBA series, Time Commando, C&C95, Dark Forces etc.) and have the best playing performance, but at the same time I want to keep up to date with latest software compatiblity. So i'm trying to decide between Win95 & Win98. What are the differences/advantages between both?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-09-25, 15:18
morshem's Avatar
morshem morshem is offline
Magic level: Ice Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beʼer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 19,382
Send a message via MSN to morshem
Why don't you just use DOSbox? It can run pretty much all DOS games.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-09-25, 15:22
haz0r's Avatar
haz0r haz0r is offline
D0PEFISH
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
But aren't most the games that are emulated on DOSbox have slow fps or are relatively unplayable?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-09-25, 15:39
Q-Wi-Q's Avatar
Q-Wi-Q Q-Wi-Q is offline
Radical Dreamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,034
not really, playing with the "cpu cycles" setting usually fixes things
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-09-25, 15:39
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,235
As I have played LBA 1 once via Dosbox and then via LBAWin I can say there's a huuuge difference. Dosbox causes many bugs in the game, especially when you're unable to climb the ladder at Tippett Island, and it runs horribly slow.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-09-25, 15:45
morshem's Avatar
morshem morshem is offline
Magic level: Ice Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beʼer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 19,382
Send a message via MSN to morshem
LBA is considerably a "heavy" game I guess. Most lighter games should work fine there though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-09-25, 16:12
Quetch's Avatar
Quetch Quetch is offline
Twinsunian Quetch
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Citadel Island
Posts: 4,541
Send a message via MSN to Quetch Send a message via Yahoo to Quetch
Win 98 FOR SURE !!!
__________________
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well, yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that's so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more, perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless." --- Paul Bowles
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2006-09-25, 16:49
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
nah, even 98 would give you problems with some games (Xcom).

On the computer next too me I got a dual boot:

DOS 6.1
Windows95
Windows2000

Between them I can get jsut about anything running

Having real DOS is a must, imo.

Within just 5 seconds or so from pressing the power on I can start playing Xcom:Apocolypse, or Tie Fighter...or any number of classic games.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2006-09-25, 17:54
Streg's Avatar
Streg Streg is offline
Or Emi (was StreGGy)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples, Italy (Citadel Island)
Posts: 5,212
Send a message via MSN to Streg
im currently doublebooting between ubuntu, win xp and win 95, but win 95 has got some problems with the new video cards etc... i find wine more stable atm :P
__________________
YouTube channel:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2006-09-25, 17:55
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
There's a whole community for this thread... VOGONS, I'm sure you'll find there some answers.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2006-09-25, 18:24
Neko's Avatar
Neko Neko is offline
Neko
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,620
so you could just download a dos version and get going?

isn't there problem if you have a soundcard that wasn't supported back in the days?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2006-09-25, 18:36
Streg's Avatar
Streg Streg is offline
Or Emi (was StreGGy)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples, Italy (Citadel Island)
Posts: 5,212
Send a message via MSN to Streg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neko View Post
so you could just download a dos version and get going?

isn't there problem if you have a soundcard that wasn't supported back in the days?
yes, thats my problem.
__________________
YouTube channel:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2006-09-25, 19:07
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Id recomend SBPCI.zip:
http://easymamecab.mameworld.net/html/snddosdr.htm
It worked for me.

Almost everything is soundblaster compatible.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2006-09-25, 20:47
Jasiek's Avatar
Jasiek Jasiek is offline
Do the evolution.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: You forgot Poland.
Posts: 7,723
I found that I can play most of the older games using VDMsound(on win XP), LBAwin for LBA, some altough don't want to work Like Riddle of Master Lu .
__________________
Little Script Adventure
Join the Little Script Adventure team
Download Little Script Adventure

Last edited by Jasiek; 2006-09-25 at 20:53.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2006-09-26, 13:46
haz0r's Avatar
haz0r haz0r is offline
D0PEFISH
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Hmm, I'm thinking I should just dual boot with Win95, thanks for the link CF.

EDIT: Would Microsoft Vitural PC be a better choice?

Last edited by haz0r; 2006-09-26 at 15:09.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2006-09-26, 15:21
Quetch's Avatar
Quetch Quetch is offline
Twinsunian Quetch
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Citadel Island
Posts: 4,541
Send a message via MSN to Quetch Send a message via Yahoo to Quetch
defenetly NO .... anyway , if someone plays only retro games and doesn't need the new ones , I guess a PI , PII with dual boot between Win 95 and 98 would be the choice
__________________
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well, yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that's so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more, perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless." --- Paul Bowles
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2006-09-26, 16:01
haz0r's Avatar
haz0r haz0r is offline
D0PEFISH
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
You mean I can't run Win95 on my current rig?

AuthenticAMD
1921 Mhz
XP Service Pack 1 (Build 2600) (32 bit)
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
512 Mb
80HDD/80 HDD

Last edited by haz0r; 2006-09-27 at 02:15.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2006-09-26, 16:18
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
For the curious, I think you can actually run Windows 95 within DOSBox.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2006-09-26, 18:44
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by haz0r View Post
You mean I can't run Win95 on my current rig?

AuthenticAMD
1921 Mhz
XP Service Pack 1 (Build 2600) (32 bit)
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
511 Mb
80HDD/80 HDD
I doubt it.
Win98 first edtion had issues with the first generation athlons. Also, 512MB is a problem, but it's fixable.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2006-09-26, 20:09
Quetch's Avatar
Quetch Quetch is offline
Twinsunian Quetch
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Citadel Island
Posts: 4,541
Send a message via MSN to Quetch Send a message via Yahoo to Quetch
well in theory , it will run , but u'll encounter 10000 problems regarding incompatibility
__________________
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well, yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that's so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more, perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless." --- Paul Bowles
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2006-09-26, 20:27
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Id just like too say I have never had problems with Ram+Windows95
(I got 1.2 gig, made from 2x512 sticks).
Probably didnt saw it all, cant remember. But things seemed to be running fine. I went back to DOS more to get sound/mouse compatibility better in older games.

Might be more too do with ram speed?
(AMD 1.2ghz)
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2006-09-26, 22:47
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,233
No, the problem is having exactly 512MB RAM, really. When you have 512MB the virtual whatchamacallit barfs and eats all memory.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2006-09-27, 02:20
haz0r's Avatar
haz0r haz0r is offline
D0PEFISH
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Hmm, so what are my optoins here? Just stick to WinXP?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2006-09-27, 08:37
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,233
your options are: trial & error

you never know for sure if things will work until you try it
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2006-09-27, 12:50
Quetch's Avatar
Quetch Quetch is offline
Twinsunian Quetch
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Citadel Island
Posts: 4,541
Send a message via MSN to Quetch Send a message via Yahoo to Quetch
the thing is every OS is set to be most compatible with the current generation of technology out there .... so u can't expect ancient software to run on nextgen machines , nor the opposite
__________________
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well, yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that's so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more, perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless." --- Paul Bowles
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony's Gaming Division to Lose $2,000,000,000 by March '07 Double-J Off topic 31 2007-04-05 01:41
Gaming hunger pains. Jasiek Off topic 13 2005-09-29 16:34
LBA Mention on a Retro Gaming site! hobmoblin General 10 2005-02-26 16:40
Is gaming a form of art? CS2x Off topic 9 2002-05-20 22:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:08.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network