Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2001-02-14, 20:45
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
A little question about Linux: Is it posseble to run all the windows like programms or do you need a emulator or a patch or something for it?
You see, my mother told me that at the office of a friend of her they can run Word on Linux...

Cause I'm planing to put Linux on my mothers old pc (pentium 200 with 40 mb RAM) which is used as the internet computer. I thought about putting Linux on the D drive (6 GB) because Windows is already on the C drive (3 mb) because I know you can(at least at mine) choose at startup which OS you want to use.
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2001-02-14, 21:22
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Nope, normally Linux is imcompatible with Windows programs. But of course there are emulators, and also special versions of software for Linux. But Word...? Don't think so. Either an emulator or a program that looks a lot like Word.

But who am I to tell you this, I don't even know anything about Linux
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2001-02-14, 21:25
Silverfish Silverfish is offline
Magic Level: Red Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 197
It is possible to run windows under linux, and from windows open win type exes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2001-02-15, 01:24
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,882
To run windows programs in linux you can use VMWare to boot windows from withing linux or Wine to start windows program. For a office I recommend to use StarOffice, it's better then MS Office and it's free to download from http://www.sun.com.
Star office has a windows version and a unix version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2001-02-15, 08:46
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Okay, so you can run Windows programs by running a Windows emulator... but are they the same speed as normal or slowed down because it's already in a Linux shell?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2001-02-15, 10:18
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,882
They run as fast and stable as they run in windows.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2001-02-15, 14:32
Enc0der's Avatar
Enc0der Enc0der is offline
Dec0der
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Twinsun
Posts: 454
Send a message via ICQ to Enc0der
But you do need a fast (450Mhz+) cpu and at least 64MB ram to run VMWare normally..
__________________
"You are the Heir that the prophecy spoke of, Twinsen!
Find your ancestor's legacy, hidden in your home, and pursue your quest.
Come back and see me some time."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2001-02-15, 15:11
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Hey!, those are exactly my specs! :P
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2001-02-15, 15:47
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
VMWare... is that included at linux or do you haveto download it somewhere?
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2001-02-15, 20:30
Smazy Smazy is offline
The Cow Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Netherlands, Purmerend
Posts: 413
Send a message via ICQ to Smazy
I thought you had to download it, but maybe they changed that.

By the way are you running Windows on a 3 Mb Harddrive.
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2001-02-15, 21:34
WebSeed's Avatar
WebSeed WebSeed is offline
Magic Level: Red Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Manchester
Posts: 138
Sorry El Muerte, I just can't agree with you about StarOffice - it's very limited when compared to MSOffice, it's hard for even the most die-hard Linux zealot to deny that
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2001-02-15, 21:45
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
Quote:
Originally posted by Smazy
I thought you had to download it, but maybe they changed that.

By the way are you running Windows on a 3 Mb Harddrive.
you mean "By the way, are you running Windows on a 3 Mb Harddrive?"
I'm sorry... but it really annoyed me...

[Edited by ChaosFish on 15-02-2001 at 21:52]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2001-02-15, 21:45
Smazy Smazy is offline
The Cow Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Netherlands, Purmerend
Posts: 413
Send a message via ICQ to Smazy
I've got VMware now, so maybe I try Linux to.
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2001-02-15, 23:20
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,882
Quote:
Originally posted by WebSeed
Sorry El Muerte, I just can't agree with you about StarOffice - it's very limited when compared to MSOffice, it's hard for even the most die-hard Linux zealot to deny that
It's not only my opinion, a quality German and Dutch PC magazine did a test woth diffirent Office packets.. Sun's StarOffice came out best. StarOffice is not limited, it has all the features MSOffice has to and most of the time worked out better. And die hard unix users use latex.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2001-02-16, 14:40
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Yes smazy, I'm running Windows on a 3 mb harddrive!

%)
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2001-02-16, 17:10
Smazy Smazy is offline
The Cow Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Netherlands, Purmerend
Posts: 413
Send a message via ICQ to Smazy
which windows?
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2001-02-17, 17:51
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
You're bad in detecting sarcasm, aren't you?
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2001-02-17, 18:44
{}ghost{}'s Avatar
{}ghost{} {}ghost{} is offline
hmz
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,493
Send a message via ICQ to {}ghost{}
She even made you a hint -


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2001-02-19, 16:18
Smazy Smazy is offline
The Cow Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Netherlands, Purmerend
Posts: 413
Send a message via ICQ to Smazy
I already detected it, but I thought maybe se know one, because I've got an old notebook with not much diskspace and thought maybe that would fit.
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2001-02-19, 17:07
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
I'm confused... are you trying run Windows on 3 MB hard drive?!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2001-02-19, 17:27
Gustav Sweden's Avatar
Gustav Sweden Gustav Sweden is offline
Hello
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oresund Region
Posts: 8,010
Send a message via MSN to Gustav Sweden
3 mb harddrive???? What version is that then? 3.11?? I think that win 95 takes about 100 megabites...

Didn't you mean Gigabite??
__________________
People like Coldplay, but they don't love them. People like U2, but they don't love them. But people fucking love Oasis. That's the way it is. It's more than the music.
-Noel Gallagher
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2001-02-19, 18:45
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
There aren't any HD's availeble with only 3 megs. If you have low space than I would take W 95
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2001-02-20, 01:23
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,882
win 3.11 needs 24mb hd space
win 2.x needs +-15mb hd space
win 1.x needs +-3mb hd space

those are all minimal installs...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2001-02-20, 18:19
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Hehehe, funny...when you're reletively new in the computer buisness you don't really realise there was also an Windows 1.x and 2.x....
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2001-02-20, 19:17
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Yeah... I was from the DOS 6.0 / Windows 3.11 (and Norton Commander!!) time, my first computer was a 486 with 66 mhz and 4 MB ram and a 400 MB hd


btw, the smallest HD I ever had was a 20 MB hd from a 286 with green/black monitor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LINUX -> LBA HQR HQR Editor kat15pl LBA Modifications - General 10 2005-11-06 13:40
Linux Axx Off topic 26 2005-10-16 16:16
LBA 1 and 2 on Linux? trezy First aid 10 2005-06-27 00:08
Linux? SebZ General 5 2005-03-13 01:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:02.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network