Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > LBA Projects > Little Script Adventure

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Little Script Adventure An open-source 3D engine with assets and tools for all future LBA fan-games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1601  
Old 2010-11-05, 15:37
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
do you know the concept of team working ?
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1602  
Old 2010-11-05, 16:28
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Okay, I tell you this - I know the concept of "team working", possibly I`d know the answer of all other further questions, concerned to that matter. All I wanted is a simple, straight answer of my question. I`m asking this because:
1. Uploading such complex model as a level, with all of it`s textures and such, at unfinished state, means that I must export everything before uploading, since I`m not using Blender.
2. Uploading a model still in progress, means that I constantly have to do the upper step again at some point, because I`m making changes over the existent textures often.
3. The upper is valid for the model itself too.
4. If you even want to load this unfinished stuff in the engine, you`ll have to import it in Blender and assign all textures by hand, where they belong, since I`m using multiple textures per object.
5. The current collision system, the engine uses is peculiar and I`ll be pretty surprised if you`ve automated the process of building the collision model.
So if you pray tell, what`s the use of cycling over the 5 points above constantly, I`ll be very happy.
Reply With Quote
  #1603  
Old 2010-11-05, 16:52
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
You don't have to convert it in Blender, upload your work as it is. Also consider SVN will let you keep track of your work, and I guess most of us are curious to see what you are doing. I'm actually using for both lsa and at my work, ALL I DO is subversioned, I don't see any better way to work.
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1604  
Old 2010-11-05, 18:23
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Well, I still think that uploading this is useless, but as you wanted - I`ll commit it as it is, without exporting anything. It`s a 3DS Max 2009 file. No older version would be able to load this model.
Reply With Quote
  #1605  
Old 2010-11-05, 18:27
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
excellent !
What are multiple textures for ? Also please use PNG for textures and try to respect naming convention
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1606  
Old 2010-11-05, 18:39
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Most of the stuff are using multiple textures. At this point there`re several objects, that could be merged in one, like the pipes. The floors and the walls for instance, are one object, using two or three textures (there could be more as the work progresses). The metal towers, the stairs and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #1607  
Old 2010-11-05, 18:53
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
Oh ok, then same thing than Jasiek maps. I thought you were talking about multitexturing meaning multiple layers on same face. Now we use it for nomal mapping only.
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1608  
Old 2010-11-05, 19:18
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
I know. At this point I didn`t made any normal maps, but I could. There are some alpha maps I`ve included, since 3ds max doesn`t recognize the integrated alpha channel in the textures (all textures with transparency do have integrated alpha channel).
By the way - it seems that there`s a problem with the commiting to the repository. The "svn add" command returns "...already under version control" error, but I`ve never ran the comad before. I can`t add the folder. Even running "svn commit", nothing happens. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #1609  
Old 2010-11-05, 19:28
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
It looks like you are adding a folder that already exists on SVN, maybe we created it or you added it before using the commit command, which actually does an automated add when you check non versioned items.
Also just in case try the clean command.

You have to find a way to read PNG alpha channel ! The engine performs either alpha clipping or alpha blending, depending on texture name and using its alpha channel ...
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1610  
Old 2010-11-05, 20:17
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
You have to find a way to read PNG alpha channel ! The engine performs either alpha clipping or alpha blending, depending on texture name and using its alpha channel ...
The problem with the alpha channel concerns only me, as I said, I made the textures with integrated alpha, the engine should display everything properly. The alpha maps are for the MAX file only, that`s why they`ll be among the rest of the textures.


EDIT: I found out what was the problem - I managed to resolve it by the easy way (redownloading everything). Now everything should be in the repo.

Last edited by Horadrim; 2010-11-05 at 20:28.
Reply With Quote
  #1611  
Old 2010-11-05, 20:35
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
oops ...

you might get really mad ...

I changed the naming convention a few months ago, sorry ! It's aimed to have shorter texture names

Here is the post explaining it

Also textures must be 2^n x 2^m, with n and m integers. n and m can be different values (rectangular texture).
map_matt_softwall.png doesn't respect that
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1612  
Old 2010-11-05, 20:48
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
oops ...

you might get really mad ...

I changed the naming convention a few months ago, sorry ! It's aimed to have shorter texture names
Well, It`d be a pain in the ass to rename everything in MAX for all 24 materials. I suppose that I could leave them as they are for the moment and rename them after finishing the model. After importing the model in Blender, you`ll have to assign the textures by hand anyway. The new textures that I`m about to make will be according to the new convention.

Quote:
map_matt_softwall.png doesn't respect that
Eh?! I`ll see what`s wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #1613  
Old 2010-11-05, 20:51
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horadrim View Post
The new textures that I`m about to make will be according to the new convention.
I guess this sentence explains what are WIPs for !

Why should I assign texture by hand ? The obj format supports multiple texture no ?
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1614  
Old 2010-11-05, 21:28
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
Why should I assign texture by hand ? The obj format supports multiple texture no ?
I`m not sure how it`ll end up. I think it supports. Generally I`m using one single material, with multiple submaterials with their own ID. When texturing an object, I`m just switching the different polygon material ID`s to the texture I want. I`m not sure what exactly the wavefront .mat file contains as description.
By the way, since I had an assignment at the university, for designing a web page and I didn`t complete this yet, so I was thinking if you don`t mind, I could make a new webpage, since the current one is not so good, that way I could make use of my task. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #1615  
Old 2010-11-05, 23:08
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
It's a good idea, Jasiek might help you as I remember he planed to make one too
If you could export a OBJ of map for this time, that would be really nice.
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1616  
Old 2010-11-06, 01:04
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
It's a good idea, Jasiek might help you as I remember he planed to make one too
Well... the idea is to make it myself, since it`s assignment for the university.


Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
If you could export a OBJ of map for this time, that would be really nice.
Hell, it`s starting...

EDIT: Okay, I deleted the .MAX file. I exported it as .obj file instead. I played a bit with the exporting settings for the materials, so I think everything is importing and it looks like as in 3DS MAX right now. So, I even saved and commited the prison map to the repository as .blend file. Happy now?

Last edited by Horadrim; 2010-11-06 at 01:24.
Reply With Quote
  #1617  
Old 2010-11-06, 08:50
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
why did you delete the max file ? Some people can open it ! And it's part of your work !

And no need to be so antipathic, I just wanted to look at the map, I don't have MAX !
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]

Last edited by David; 2010-11-06 at 08:59.
Reply With Quote
  #1618  
Old 2010-11-06, 12:02
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
There`s no need from the .max file, since the whole scene could be imported as .obj in every version of 3ds max. Leaving this .max file, is useless, since only people with max 2009 and above could open it, as I said before. Since we know now, that the levels could be exported from max and imported in Blender without any problems, I`d like to stick to the idea of uploading stuff, when I consider them as finished. If there`s a need of corrections afterwards, I`ll make them and then commit to the repository. This way everything will be tidy, without unwanted crap and new folders in the repo.
Reply With Quote
  #1619  
Old 2010-11-07, 23:43
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
the max file is mainly for you, since in some rare cases you might want to go back to an older version, or save your work in case of a HDD crash !
And don't worry about the unwanted crap, as long as you clean it later.
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1620  
Old 2010-11-08, 10:00
Horadrim's Avatar
Horadrim Horadrim is offline
Free-lance designer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via ICQ to Horadrim
Don`t worry, I have home server, so I keep spare copies of the stuff I make on it. As for my workflow - I`m using different directories and if I have to commit everything or at least often to the repo, I`ll have to copy the same stuff to my subversion dir. Even if you don`t mind the crap stuff, I mind, because as you see, I must track at least 3 same copies of each file.
Reply With Quote
  #1621  
Old 2010-11-08, 17:53
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
the particles source can't be associated to faces, only bones. The reason is simple, I can't know deformed faces coordinates ... The skinning is all GPU side ! So that would work for static objects but not animated objects.
I then propose to link particle sources to bones, which are both CPU and GPU side.
I'll try first to link objects to bones, for example I could try to add a saber to twinsen hand.
@Jasiek : where is the saber ?
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1622  
Old 2010-11-10, 19:54
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
now you can attach an object to a bone by hard-coding and later by scripting, current revision shows the hero holding a saber.
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1623  
Old 2010-11-16, 21:28
David's Avatar
David David is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,683
I added a bunker close to barrels, in harbor map, with flame thrower. It's a particle system linked to turret bone
__________________
Little Script Adventure[thread][download]
Reply With Quote
  #1624  
Old 2010-11-16, 22:07
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
cool stuff
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #1625  
Old 2010-11-17, 00:41
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,236
Cool. At random times particles fly out of the end of the flame thrower, they look a bit like the Magic Ball. Is that intentional?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
awesome, demo, engine, lba, lba1r, little bigger adventure, little script adventure, non profit, opengl, opensource, tools

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Link on mbn main page Vral The site and forum 19 2005-11-04 06:17
main page Neko LBA DM 3 2001-04-29 23:12
Why does no one visit the main site? CS2x The site and forum 42 2001-02-01 19:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:05.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network