Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2002-03-01, 20:42
killerhamPster's Avatar
killerhamPster killerhamPster is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Performance Problems

I already posted this in my other thread, but I recognized that it might fit better here...

After all, I got LBA 1 to work on my machine (Win XP)
But the game runs really slow (slower than on my older PCs, an my current machine is an Athlon 800 with 512 MB of RAM)
I think it might be a problem with the memory-settings for the program, but I already tried to use huge amounts of EMS and XMS (I think much more than my old machines had ), but the performance didn't improve... If you have any tips what I could do, please help. I would really like to play that game again
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2002-03-01, 22:14
FunnyFrog FunnyFrog is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Latvia
Posts: 58
The problem could be sound-related. Experiment with Sound Blaster settings (Sound Blaster Pro for Sound FX probably will work best).

Wacko had similar problem on his Win XP computer, he could tell you more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2002-03-01, 22:39
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,409
Yes, I totally forgot I used to have that too

Indeed, there are about 8 different soundblaster options to choose from. Try other ones and see which one(s) works best for you.

For me (also Windows XP) the game is running fine with these settings:

SoundBlaster Pro 1 or SoundBlaster Pro 2 for sound (W_SBPRO.DLL) and
SoundBlaster Pro 2 or SoundBlaster 16 for music (A32SP2FM.DLL).

(MixerDriver: M_SBPRO.DLL)

The .DLL files are only to bother if you edit LBA.CFG manually.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2002-03-02, 23:51
killerhamPster's Avatar
killerhamPster killerhamPster is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Thanks for the tip, but it didn't solve my problem. The performance is not that bad, but especially the sound-quality is not that good. And in fact, it seems that I don't have any MIDI-music...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2002-03-03, 00:47
killerhamPster's Avatar
killerhamPster killerhamPster is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Yeah, the MIDI sounds work now, when I run it with VDM Sound...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2002-03-05, 00:02
Audio_Energy01's Avatar
Audio_Energy01 Audio_Energy01 is offline
Man of God!
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Chestertown, Md
Posts: 177
Send a message via ICQ to Audio_Energy01 Send a message via Yahoo to Audio_Energy01
I have the same problem, and I have an ENSONIQ SoundscapeVIVO90, and I checked in "My computer", and did everything in that part that Atre said, but I dont know which sound card to choose! Please help me!
__________________
JeSuS Is lOrD!



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2002-03-05, 12:10
killerhamPster's Avatar
killerhamPster killerhamPster is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Try to use VDM Sound. You can download it here:

http://www.ece.mcgill.ca/~vromas/vdmsound/

Install it and adjust the settings in the file VDMS.don't know. You can find it in the VDMS-diectory...
In this file, you can set up some things like IRQ and DMA. Afaik, it is not that important, what you select, but you should select the same in LBA setup.
As soundcard for LBA I suggest Sound Blaster 2 both for Music and Sound. If this doesnt' work, try other settings.
To run LBA, click on the LBAWIN.EXE with the RIGHT (!) mouse-button and select from the appearing menue "Run with VDMS".
This solved all my sound-problems with LBA...
Have fun
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running LBA2 under WinXP without problems dave First aid 4 2005-06-07 13:07
Problems with widescreen tv and subtitles Cyberg-Ares Off topic 11 2005-03-11 01:35
Network Neighborhood problems morshem First aid 11 2003-05-10 22:53
LBA 2 CD Problems Fireball First aid 18 2003-04-20 02:47
A few problems running LBA1 under Win2K TheMuso First aid 14 2003-02-23 15:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:06.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, the Magicball Network