Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > Fan Creations > Fan Games > Fan Maps

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Fan Maps LBA themed maps for other games (Unreal, Half Life, etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2001-08-07, 13:28
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
LBA 2 - CTF map for Tribes 2.

Hmmmm..... Now I have to redo the entire story I just typed, just because the file I attached was too large !

Okee, here I go again.

I'm back from Spain ! I missed you all ! Sorry I didn't post the screenshots earlier, something went wrong.

As some of you may allrdy know: I'm busy with a LBA 2 - map for Tribes2.

I build the map using worldcraft and the T2-editor. Worldcraft is used for the in and outside-models, and the T2 editor for the enviroment, with all the hills and stuff.

The map will consist out of two mirrored CitadelIslands. The map will be a CTF map, with the flag on top of the lighthouse. The mainbase will be in Twinsens house. The vehicle station will be in the bay behind Twinsen's house. There will be one turret on top of the museum.

When everything goes right you will be able to enter most of the buildings out of the game.
Buildings you'll certainly be able to enter are Twinsen's house, the Museum and the bar. Also you will be able to enter the lighthouse, with an interior similair to the one from LBA 1.
All the enteriors will be changed ! I need to give them all some stairs at the entrance, otherwise I can't get them beneath the lvl-surface, where they should be. The rest of the enteriors I try to leave untouched.

All the windows from the game will hopefully be shootingholes ! I allrdy sniped from the window above the museum, what was really fun

I'm currently busy with the outside models. The textures I have currently applied aren't T2-compatible, so I have to redo them. That's why not all textures are at there place yet. I'll release a beta when the outside is rdy and the textures work. The inside will follow later. Maybe, if the map turns out too small, I'll add Desert Island also.

The screenshots you see here are made inside worldcraft. The model is also usable for Quake and Halflife. As I allrdy said: not all the textures are at their places, and they won't be if I'm not able to fix the texture-file. I got a texturefile from Phoenix (THX man, you rule !). But it isn't T2 compatible. He extracted the files from the official LBA2files, but I don't know excactly where, can somebody tell that to me?
T2 needs .png files to be inside the wad, otherwise he can't find them. I think that's the problem. Any help is greatly appreciated !

Okay, here are the screenshots:









They probably don't work, so here are the links:

1: http://www.geocities.com/bluhus/screenshot.jpg
2: http://www.geocities.com/bluhus/screenshot1.jpg
3: http://www.geocities.com/bluhus/screenshot2.jpg
4: http://www.geocities.com/bluhus/screenshot4.jpg

Mirror:

1: http://home.wanadoo.nl/bkhnet/zooi/l...screenshot.jpg
2: http://home.wanadoo.nl/bkhnet/zooi/l...creenshot1.jpg
3: http://home.wanadoo.nl/bkhnet/zooi/l...creenshot2.jpg
4: http://home.wanadoo.nl/bkhnet/zooi/l...creenshot4.jpg

, also the urls will problably not work (I HATE GEOCITIES, but all my other servers are full, and MBN doesn't accept the files), try to copy and past them, that works for me, but it could be he just uses my internet temporary internet files.....

Plz tell me what you think of my ideas and the thing you see at the screenshots. THX in advance.

Oh, one tiny question: who of you guys do have Tribes2?

[edit by wacko - I've made a mirror for the images. ]
__________________
http://searchwww.info

Last edited by wacko; 2001-08-08 at 15:52.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2001-08-07, 14:00
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Thats pretty good, the links work fine if you copy them.

__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2001-08-07, 14:43
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
Tribes 2 is so cool for LBA2 maps! It's very good at large outdoor levels, like Desert Island. I'd love to test the map when it's ready.

Great work, it looks good.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2001-08-07, 14:51
{}ghost{}'s Avatar
{}ghost{} {}ghost{} is offline
hmz
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,409
Send a message via ICQ to {}ghost{}
I don't have it at the moment.. Guess I could get it though
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2001-08-07, 15:08
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
THX !

You should only look at the model, because the textures aren't totally right (some of them are). I just posted this to give you guys an idea of what I'm doing.

Does anyone have some ideas or suggestions for the map? Or knows how to fix the problem?
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2001-08-07, 15:33
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
Nope, can't think of much improvements right now... I'm very curious to the landscapes!

I guess it's too small for vehicle stations, no?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2001-08-07, 15:47
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
Quote:
The vehicle station will be in the bay behind Twinsen's house.
I love vehicles, and I think I will add them. Maybe, when everything goes right, I will build Citadel, Desert and the small islands, then build some kind of himalaya mountains, and then again those islands. With only 2 Citadel Islands it will be quite small, but I hope to expand the lvl further and further, until I rebuild the entire LBA1/2 world. At that moment (which hopefully will be there sometimes, I think it should be quite cool) the lvl will NEED vehicles and will be a real 64 player map IMHO

But that's the future, now I will concentrate myself at Citadel Island, and if that works flawlessly, and is fun to play and look at, I will expand the world.
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2001-08-07, 20:23
Dark_M(Version2.0b)'s Avatar
Dark_M(Version2.0b) Dark_M(Version2.0b) is offline
You like chicken?
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 122
Send a message via MSN to Dark_M(Version2.0b)
Thumbs Up

Damn This stuff is looking good it's even more detailed then my UT map. Modeling smaller details bij using the UT Editer is very hard. I'am looking forward to play this piece of art

I also have a Q about the textures.
Is it possible to make regular .jpg files from the LBA textures so I can use them in my UT map???
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2001-08-07, 22:24
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
Thank you very much I want to add all details to my map. Remember the really tiny fences among the flowers? I added them also, but the editor thought they were to small, so I have to redo them.
I also tried to make the fences bit by bit, so you could shoot trough them, but also that was too small .

I was quite some work to add all the details, but it is fun to see the otherwise not really beautifull world relive in all it's beaty. And man, I would love to walk, fly and shoot trough this world !

About your question: I don't know, but I think it's possible. Ask Phoenix, he helps me also.
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2001-08-07, 23:49
Lightwing Lightwing is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,718
Send a message via ICQ to Lightwing
Unbelievable
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2001-08-08, 04:41
{}ghost{}'s Avatar
{}ghost{} {}ghost{} is offline
hmz
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,409
Send a message via ICQ to {}ghost{}
Where exactly is everyone looking at, I thought the links are borken?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2001-08-08, 14:28
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
You must copy and paste the links, then they should work.
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2001-08-08, 15:53
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
I've made a mirror.

Crovax: I think you and I are the only ones with Tribes 2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2001-08-08, 16:28
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
Thumbs Up

Thanks Wacko ! You rule !

Hmmm.... A pitty if not more people have Tribes2, but what the heck, it's fun to make, and the model is also usable for other games. And I think there are enough people outside this board who do play T2 and love LBA(2)
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2001-08-08, 16:45
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
I'd be able to make a LBA1 map for Quake, if someone can supply me with a complete screenshot map of citadal island.
I need the map for the RMP, but I have a 3DS Max plug-in that exports to Quake files.
--
The problem is I want to model the map 100% accurate, and for that I need screenshots of every point on citadal island in LBA1.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2001-08-08, 16:52
{}ghost{}'s Avatar
{}ghost{} {}ghost{} is offline
hmz
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,409
Send a message via ICQ to {}ghost{}
Nosey: Who are the "Klubbheads"?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2001-08-08, 17:07
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
I can give you the screenshot. Can't you make the model in worldcraft, and then export it to 3dsmax? That way I can use the model too. You don't even have to export it, because Worldcraft is Quakecompatible.

I have made the map while playing on the computer next to me, and measured all the sizes in steps, and then calculated the sizes in Tribes2, this way all the buildings are at their place and allmost everything is right.

The problem for you is maybe that you can't play LBA. I can, so maybe I will make a model from it. But first I want to finish this map. No one who can help with the textures?!
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2001-08-08, 17:17
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
I can play LBA fine, its the thought of taking 100's of screens on my own AND then having to model it all.
I need help with the screenshots.
-
I want it an EXACT map of LBA1 island, so I need to use a profesional modeling programme like 3DS MAX.
What formats can Worldcraft import?
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2001-08-08, 17:40
CrOvAx's Avatar
CrOvAx CrOvAx is offline
the Cursed
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Borne, Overijssel, Netherlands
Posts: 865
Send a message via ICQ to CrOvAx
You can do more with 3ds, that's true, but I think worldcraft is sufficient, and easier.

Worldcraft can't import much. It can't import 3ds-files or something like that. It should be nice if it could do it, but no, sorry.

I have the luck that I have two computers next to eachother, so I let my brother play on one, and I build the map on the other.

If now just someone helps me with the textures, I could go on. I think I will have finished entire citadel Island today (only the lighthouse and Twinsen's neighbours house) , except for the textures and the ground. I will make the ground tomorrow if I have time, and then I only have to do the textures to release a beta.
__________________
http://searchwww.info
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2001-08-08, 17:59
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 22,496
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
I need a detailed version for the RMP, thats why I'm doing it in 3DS MAX. The quake level is just a nice bonus.
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2001-08-13, 10:08
Q-Wi-Q's Avatar
Q-Wi-Q Q-Wi-Q is offline
Radical Dreamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,034
kewl stuff dude
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBA 1/2 Translations... Battler LBA Modifications - General 23 2008-11-10 13:41
LBA Websites Plasma General 35 2007-04-20 01:21
Lba 2 map for Unreal Tournament Master Cheater Fan Maps 20 2006-03-25 13:00
LBA Modifications: Quick Start & Modding Tools [updated: 01-04-2009] ChaosFish LBA Modifications - General 0 2004-01-23 18:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:48.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network