Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2002-11-09, 00:06
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Problem with SoundBlaster 64, patch has no suport

My computer's sound blaster 64 sound card (not OPL3) will play music at the main menu, but not in the game. I can't hear voices, and I even installed the voice files, but doesn't work! And I can't hear sound effects out of the sound card. Can you please post a patch for the sound card?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2002-11-09, 01:14
Homeless's Avatar
Homeless Homeless is offline
Zebrazilla
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,936
Register, and stay

Maybe u need to buy a new soundcard or you've coused the wrong settings ?
The sound on LBA1 is hard to get working sometimes..

edit: i dont remember how i did, cause that was a long time ago
__________________

LBA Speedruns
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% PC - Time: 01h 04m 23s
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% Android - Time: 01h 04m 35s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2002-11-09, 02:21
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
LBA1/LBA2?

If it's LBA1 and your soundcard is DirectX compatible (which most cards are) it's an easy solution: download LbaWin and it will take care of all settings. More info here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2002-11-09, 10:31
Homeless's Avatar
Homeless Homeless is offline
Zebrazilla
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,936
LBAwin ave never worked for me !
But its probally because i have a really wierd soundcard
__________________

LBA Speedruns
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% PC - Time: 01h 04m 23s
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% Android - Time: 01h 04m 35s
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2002-11-09, 16:29
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
You should report what didn't work, and report the name of the sound card then.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2002-11-09, 16:44
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
Quote:
Originally posted by HomelessTarget
But its probally because i have a really wierd soundcard
Weird or not, if it's DirectX compatible you shouldn't have problems. Try Start > Run > dxdiag, go to the Sound tab and see if any problems are listed there under Notes.


Also; FunnyFrog's LBA patch IS NOT LbaWin.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2002-11-10, 03:18
lembo's Avatar
lembo lembo is offline
dig me now, fuck me later
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to lembo
from patch.txt (think it comes from lbawin, not sure tho):

Quote:
3.2. Choosing sound (music) card
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If you have a recent computer, you probably won't see the exact name of your
sound card in setup. Most modern sound cards can emulate some kind of Sound
Blaster, usually Sound Blaster Pro. To find out your sound card configuration,
open an MS-DOS Prompt (Command Prompt) window. Type ECHO %BLASTER% and press
Enter. You should see something like this:

A220 I5 D1 T4 P330

The number after T shows Sound Blaster type. T1 is Sound Blaster 1, T2 -
Sound Blaster Pro 1, T3 - Sound Blaster 2, T4 and T5 - Sound Blaster Pro 2,
T6 - Sound Blaster 16 or compatible. The number after A is address, number
after I - IRQ, after D - DMA channel. If you also see a number preceded by E
(E620) then you have an AWE32 compatible card. If there is a number preceded
by P, you should be able to use Roland MT32 driver at the specified address
for music.
If you don't get any text after typing ECHO %BLASTER%, consult your sound
card manual (or your motherboard manual if your motherboard has an integrated
sound card) on how to configure it for DOS games and what settings to use.
When you know which Sound Blaster is compatible with your sound card, it
should be easy to select the FX Sound Card. Music card selection is a bit more
difficult. Try these choices:

1) Sound Blaster AWE32 (if supported),
2) Roland MT32 (if supported),
3) same setting as for FX Sound (many new cards don't emulate OPL2/OPL3
chip, so you may not hear any MIDI music with this setting),
4) No Music (CD tracks will be played regardless of music card setting).

If the selected Sound Blaster model doesn't work, try an older one. When
everything else fails, try "No music" and/or "No sound".
And do not forget to "Save Parameters" in setup program before you "Quit to
DOS".
Depending on the sound card you select, LBA may use Windows volume settings
(old cards like Sound Blaster 1) or ignore them (new cards like Sound Blaster
16). If you select a "new" sound card in setup, it is recommended to turn down
volume on your speakers when you start the game after running setup, because
setup changes volume to maximum.


thats what i used to find my specific sound card, then used setup.exe to set my settings.

Lembo...
__________________
counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums...

www.disassembly.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2002-11-10, 12:51
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
Quote:
Originally posted by lembo
from patch.txt (think it comes from lbawin, not sure tho):

[...]

thats what i used to find my specific sound card, then used setup.exe to set my settings.

Lembo...
Nononono, that's not LbaWin. With LbaWin you don't have to set anything; it will autodetect it all (DirectX).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2002-11-10, 14:03
lembo's Avatar
lembo lembo is offline
dig me now, fuck me later
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to lembo
well i used lbawin, and it didn't work for the sound, so i had to set it up manually like that.
__________________
counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums...

www.disassembly.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2002-11-10, 15:24
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
Quote:
Originally posted by lembo
well i used lbawin, and it didn't work for the sound, so i had to set it up manually like that.
Did you try dxdiag? I mean, nearly every soundcard is DirectSound compatible...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2002-11-10, 17:40
lembo's Avatar
lembo lembo is offline
dig me now, fuck me later
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to lembo
i'm sure it is DirectSound compatable, but i have no idea what dxdiag is, or where to find it, and the method that i said above worked fine.
__________________
counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums...

www.disassembly.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2002-11-10, 17:57
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,426
Quote:
Originally posted by wacko
Weird or not, if it's DirectX compatible you shouldn't have problems. Try Start > Run > dxdiag, go to the Sound tab and see if any problems are listed there under Notes.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2002-11-10, 20:19
lembo's Avatar
lembo lembo is offline
dig me now, fuck me later
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to lembo
okay, okay

but i was just offering a different way of doing it, a way that worked for me, and it might work for him.
__________________
counting bodies like sheep to the rhythm of the war drums...

www.disassembly.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2002-11-11, 22:33
Shinrai Shinrai is offline
First time poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Thumbs Down Help!

I have the same problem - no sound or speech, just music during the title screen. In my desperation, I literally went through all the sound FX options, trying each of them, but I still had no sound.

I tried to download LBAWin, but I think there's a problem with the site - I registered, but could not log in, in order to download the file...

Any suggestions?!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2002-11-13, 18:01
Homeless's Avatar
Homeless Homeless is offline
Zebrazilla
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,936
I have some weird old soundcard, but when i get my new computer to christmas it will probaly work
__________________

LBA Speedruns
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% PC - Time: 01h 04m 23s
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% Android - Time: 01h 04m 35s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patch error Lembrei First aid 16 2005-01-13 22:54
cd rom problem or screen problem latienn First aid 4 2002-06-05 04:09
LBA1 Crash problem doug73 First aid 2 2002-04-29 08:58
I have a patch problem _-_ RooPa First aid 21 2002-04-10 16:51
FunnyFrog patch problem G.A. Zogem First aid 13 2002-03-16 21:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:21.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network