Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2004-10-06, 01:02
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Can't run LBA1.. strange crash

Haven't found this one listed as a problem before.

I followed the Dosbox guide; even tried tweaking it to mount a cd image instead of the actual cd media.

Anyways, it will go thru the into to the menu screen with the water and boat, but no menu options. After a minue it crashes out of dosbox and closes the program.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2004-10-06, 01:18
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Quarantine Chamber
Posts: 21,214
It doesn't recognize your cd.
Try writing this line in DOSBox:
mount -cd

Then see which number is your LBA cd drive, and when mounting the cd use (if for example your cd number is 2) "mount d E:\ -usecd 2 -t cdrom -label adeline -ioctl".

I hope this will work.

Last edited by ChaosFish; 2004-10-06 at 11:19. Reason: Yes I meant -ioctl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2004-10-06, 01:30
freakboy9 freakboy9 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Hmm, no dice.
It gets the menu for a split second then bombs out. I get background music even haver dosbox is closed.

-----
mount -cd
CDROMS found: 2
0. D:\
1. Z:\

mount c c:\
mount d d:\ -usecd 0 -t cdrom -label adeline -ioctl

c:
cd games\lba
lba.exe
-----

Last edited by freakboy9; 2004-10-06 at 02:06.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2004-10-06, 02:42
freakboy9 freakboy9 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
I disabled sound with the lba setup and it plays now.

Not sure what the deal is. Something goofy with sound.
I'll mess with it. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2004-10-06, 07:02
morshem's Avatar
morshem morshem is offline
Magic level: Ice Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beʼer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 20,073
Send a message via MSN to morshem
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakboy9
-ioctl
Not that I have any idea what that means, but didn't ChaosFish say "-ioct" (without the l)?
__________________
Hlomap, my little LBA website.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2004-10-06, 09:31
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,332
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
If the menu doesn't work, then the game has a problem with playing the CD audio music. But... I don't know the solution to this problem. Sorry.
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2004-10-06, 11:20
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Quarantine Chamber
Posts: 21,214
mor: I meant -ioctl

obras: no I don't think that's the problem.

freakboy: Did you follow the guide, and set up the audio as Sound Blaster Pro 1?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2004-10-06, 23:13
freakboy9 freakboy9 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
works

I changed my sound card driver and things seem to be working.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2004-10-06, 23:17
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Quarantine Chamber
Posts: 21,214
Goodie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBA1 crash during certain area transition Unregistered First aid 2 2004-09-26 14:12
LBA1 win2k strange crash Unregistered First aid 4 2002-08-12 17:32
LBA1 Crash problem doug73 First aid 2 2002-04-29 07:58
What Windows can i run LBA1 on? Lord_of_2_suns First aid 1 2002-04-22 19:28
LBA1 files in strange formats, help Firephoenix First aid 16 2002-02-24 18:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network