Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #151  
Old 2009-03-29, 18:12
LBAWinOwns's Avatar
LBAWinOwns LBAWinOwns is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,570
Send a message via MSN to LBAWinOwns
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosFish View Post
When you play with DOSBox you must play without FunnyFrog's patch applied.
Indeed.

But having the identical bug for dosbox too is quite odd. I bet you have problem with your CD.
__________________

LBA Image Creator project
(image by leoboe! )

Get the Jump-Save-Bug graphically explained here
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 2009-03-29, 18:24
Alleycat's Avatar
Alleycat Alleycat is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 10
You know, I think you're right. It's been years since I played, so I forgot that it actually did tend to freeze at certain point and I guess 5 years in a box in the attic didn't do it much good either. So I guess it's Ebay then! Thanks you for that clever deduction, now I wont have to waste anymore time messing around with it
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 2009-03-29, 18:27
LBAWinOwns's Avatar
LBAWinOwns LBAWinOwns is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,570
Send a message via MSN to LBAWinOwns
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycat View Post
You know, I think you're right. It's been years since I played, so I forgot that it actually did tend to freeze at certain point and I guess 5 years in a box in the attic didn't do it much good either. So I guess it's Ebay then! Thanks you for that clever deduction, now I wont have to waste anymore time messing around with it
I strongly recommend downloading it, you seem like at least decent computer user. So I guess you know how to do it.
__________________

LBA Image Creator project
(image by leoboe! )

Get the Jump-Save-Bug graphically explained here
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 2009-03-29, 19:20
Streg's Avatar
Streg Streg is offline
Or Emi (was StreGGy)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples, Italy (Citadel Island)
Posts: 5,436
Send a message via MSN to Streg
what would LBA2 without Funny Frog making it possible for houndreds of people to play LBA2? u.u
__________________
YouTube channel:
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 2009-03-29, 19:42
Quetch's Avatar
Quetch Quetch is offline
Twinsunian Quetch
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Citadel Island
Posts: 4,427
Send a message via MSN to Quetch Send a message via Yahoo to Quetch
simple answer to your problem: since in both Windows and DosBox versions, the freezing occurs at the same time and since you also remember that years before you had similar problems in other areas in the game, it's quite obvious that the reason why your game freezes now is because the background music at the menu cannot be read properly. That way, with the engine continuously struggling to loop the melody, your I/O interface gets to hang.
__________________
"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well, yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that's so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more, perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless." --- Paul Bowles
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 2009-03-29, 19:57
Alleycat's Avatar
Alleycat Alleycat is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBAWinOwns View Post
I strongly recommend downloading it, you seem like at least decent computer user. So I guess you know how to do it.
I just might get over my conservative phobea of not owning the disc and download it, I actually didn't know it was possible to purchase it online now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quetch View Post
simple answer to your problem: since in both Windows and DosBox versions, the freezing occurs at the same time and since you also remember that years before you had similar problems in other areas in the game, it's quite obvious that the reason why your game freezes now is because the background music at the menu cannot be read properly. That way, with the engine continuously struggling to loop the melody, your I/O interface gets to hang.
Sounds plausible, but are you saying that the problem then possibly lies with the sound and not th'old scrathed up disc?
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 2009-03-29, 20:10
LBAWinOwns's Avatar
LBAWinOwns LBAWinOwns is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,570
Send a message via MSN to LBAWinOwns
No, it's not because of the sound. He means the fault is in the sound file, it's corrupted so it's unreadable and the program never stops reading and it freezes.

I think he meant it that way, which is quite logical. But I might be wrong
__________________

LBA Image Creator project
(image by leoboe! )

Get the Jump-Save-Bug graphically explained here
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 2009-03-29, 20:14
Alleycat's Avatar
Alleycat Alleycat is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBAWinOwns View Post
No, it's not because of the sound. He means the fault is in the sound file, it's corrupted so it's unreadable and the program never stops reading and it freezes.

I think he meant it that way, which is quite logical. But I might be wrong

Ah, I see, oh well, I've already placed a bid on Ebay for a replacement, so I guess Scratchy McScratch here just goes in the bin.

But thanks for to everyone for your replies, at least there's still hope of making the game work at some point
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 2009-07-20, 22:09
TheOats's Avatar
TheOats TheOats is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Question

I cant run the patch because I'm using Vista 64bit, what should I do?
__________________
For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.
- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 2009-07-21, 00:53
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,332
Use DosBox to emulate the game. There's a guide here. DosBox works on Vista. There might be a few problems with DosBox not recognizing your CD. If that happens, create a CD image and use that.
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 2009-07-21, 01:40
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Temporal Corridor
Posts: 21,133
You don't have to use the patch, you can download the already patched EXE.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 2009-07-21, 11:57
TheOats's Avatar
TheOats TheOats is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks
__________________
For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.
- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 2009-07-21, 12:29
TheOats's Avatar
TheOats TheOats is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 39
Now I got another problem. The picture is good, but the game cant recognize the cd. And I've tried to make an image file, but it does nothing.
__________________
For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.
- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 2009-12-17, 10:51
tcsmith tcsmith is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Help

How do i apply the patch to twinsen!? It says twinsen.exe or the original.exe cannot be found?! someone please help!
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 2009-12-17, 11:08
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Temporal Corridor
Posts: 21,133
I already helped you in the other thread.
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 2009-12-17, 11:54
tcsmith tcsmith is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
strange

I copied the disc's contents into a folder then put the patch in that folder. It seemed to work but then froze and only showed a picture of twinsen and zoe? help please?
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 2017-02-22, 22:12
Kroll Kroll is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kaliningrad, Russia
Posts: 61
Hey there.
Can somebody make a zipped file of the files, contained in this patch? Can't run it using Win10 x64
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 2017-02-23, 01:09
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Temporal Corridor
Posts: 21,133
It doesn't contain files afaik, it just contains patch code. You can get the exe with the patch applied here. Don't think it will run well on Windows 10 though, but give it a try. DOSBox is the more reliable option.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 2017-02-24, 01:50
Kroll Kroll is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kaliningrad, Russia
Posts: 61
Thanks, DOSBox works great, but looks like it uses more battery than native app. My daily driver is Surface pro 3, and sometime I stay far from wall outlet for long period of time
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 2017-02-27, 20:44
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,294
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
I really wouldn't run the game directly on the host - even if you patch it with this, you'll still have sound problems, and the patch introduces problems of its own such as the unsteerable car, and making the wizards already free when you reach that scene.
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBA2 Sound Problem Sayel First aid 10 2004-07-25 22:22
LBA1 display problem hector First aid 9 2003-03-29 17:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15.




News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, the Magicball Network