Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #126  
Old 2001-12-13, 23:45
HomerSimpson's Avatar
HomerSimpson HomerSimpson is offline
Lauren...
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a dark box, near the Kwik-E-Mart in the Netherl
Posts: 4,071
The Geforce problem is a know issue without a solution yet...
__________________
Vote for Remco the Remulator!

Intensity
Integrity
Intelligence


The 100.000th post on the MBN is made by me!
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 2001-12-14, 17:30
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Quote:
Originally posted by HomerSimpson
The Geforce problem is a know issue without a solution yet...
Nope, that's with LBA2, a GF2 and Win 2000/XP.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 2001-12-14, 20:44
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Re: To Atresica

Quote:
Originally posted by Unregistered
Thx for your reply (if it came to me)

But my video settings are fine, they work perfectly it's only when starting to play soundfx under videos that it freezes, but might be the problem. I have an ASUS GeForce 64M AGP x4 card. Probably not the best for a DOS based game. And ofcourse I'm willing to try all the ideas you guys come up with, so don't be shy

Thanks again for writing!

Gergo
Hmm, I'm not such a expert on running a g-force in DOS (I have one but I can't play LBA on this computer anyway)
Perhabs you should check if your soundcard can emulate other soundcarts (mine can and since mine is pretty old, I'm sure yours can too)

okey, try this
Right-click My Computer (or something simular) and choose properties.
go to Device Maneger and search for you soundcard at "plug and play devices" or "Sound, Video and game controlers"
One of them will show you an option to choose "Dos Application settings", you'll see varrious configurations of emulated sound cards, see if any one them work.
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 2001-12-14, 21:05
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
It's probably not the videocard, I've got a GF2gts and it works fine for me.

I believe there's an option in the patch to turn off cinematics, could be useful when they keep crashing.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 2001-12-15, 21:33
FunnyFrog FunnyFrog is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Latvia
Posts: 59
As Atresica says, try changing settings for Sound Blaster emulation. Your interrupt setting (I2) is rather unusual and could cause problems, especially if some PCI card is using IRQ (interrupt request) 2 or 9. Interrupt 5 would be a better choice.

First, reboot your computer, enter BIOS setup, look for something like "PnP/PCI configuration" and reserve IRQ 5 for Legacy ISA.

Then start Windows, go to Control Panel - System - Device Manager, find a device named "Creative SB Live! SB16 emulation" (or similar) and modify the interrupt request setting in device's properties.

I'm not sure that sound in LBA will work perfectly after this. You may even run into another problems after changing system configuration. Be careful.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 2001-12-15, 23:24
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thx Evryone!

Thanks for everyone for the advices, I'll try to make something out of them. Yeah, I found my SoundCard on I2 rather unusuall too. Actually this was the first time I realized it's there.

And seasons greetings to everyone.
Merry Christmass and Happy New Year.

Gerg
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 2001-12-15, 23:29
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
LBA2

Sorry to post here, but I didn't find an exact thread for this question. Does anyone besides me have a problem with her/his LBA2 CD of not being ablr to find the audio CD partition of it. Programs (except for Microsoft CD player in WIN95) just can't find it. I have a CD-ROM that doesn't stop trying to find it, and the menu where it is supposed to be playing freezes. I always have to take the CD out. Force the computer to eject the disk in use anyway and I have a 30% of running LBA2 before the next scandisk.

Gerg
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 2001-12-18, 00:49
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah guys you're great!

Now it works perfectly. I had to set emulation to P220 I5 D1. Sounds sound great videos go smooth. LBA1 rulez. That was your Christmas present for me. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 2001-12-18, 10:15
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Wait till you get our bill
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 2001-12-18, 16:47
Fireball's Avatar
Fireball Fireball is offline
Here.
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,204
Did you fix the sound problem tho?
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 2001-12-18, 21:41
Nagy Gergely Janos
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes I did, everythings great and works perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 2001-12-18, 21:57
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Hahahaha, we strike again

mbn to the resque!
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 2001-12-28, 03:06
Gamewiz's Avatar
Gamewiz Gamewiz is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Gamewiz
This patch ROCKS! Now I won't have to boot up in DOS every single time I want to play LBA 1!
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 2001-12-29, 22:15
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation

I think i have an error the patch was working fine (exept it kept forgeting my sound card) un till i got to the teliport tation center. i turned left and went into that house but when i left the game crached and now i cant load that saved game any more
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 2001-12-30, 14:34
FunnyFrog FunnyFrog is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Latvia
Posts: 59
I had this problem too, but forgot about it. It only appears when running LBA in Windows. In DOS mode everything works fine, with or without the patch. I'll try to fix it. In the meantime, just avoid entering that house, there's nothing interesting inside.
If you don't have a copy of saved game, restart in DOS mode (if possible), load the troubled savegame, move to another zone and exit LBA. Now you should be able to continue from Windows.
Or download savegames from here.

When you said "kept forgeting my sound card", did you mean that the patch selected no sound/no music every time you ran it? If so, something could be wrong with the BLASTER setting.
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 2002-01-01, 13:30
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

thanx
that worked i used my boot disk and got past

by forgeting my sound card it is that some times the game crashes and then when i load it the game says i have the rong sound card. the only way to fix it is to reinstall the patch
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 2002-01-01, 13:44
Fromsej's Avatar
Fromsej Fromsej is offline
Old , grey and Uncle
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Odense Denmark
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to Fromsej
Why donĀ“t you register?
__________________
When I find myself in times of trouble
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom
Let it be.
"Beatles"
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 2002-01-01, 20:07
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
indeed, no costs or junkmail
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 2002-01-01, 20:09
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
And 100% fat free as well.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 2002-01-01, 21:59
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
It is?
Personaly I want a Fat-Filled-Genticaly-Modified-Added-Sugar MBN!
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 2002-01-01, 22:57
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Nah, we'd have problems with Greenpeace when going genetical-modified.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 2002-01-02, 00:00
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Bah!
Screw Greenpiece, I want my GM MBN!
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 2002-01-02, 21:42
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
yeah! Genetic modified MBN!

oh wait, we already are,...
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 2002-01-02, 23:02
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
Well, seeing as Wacko's away...and I personaly don't care about Greenpiece....
*puts on huge googles and open's box full off test tubes*
Lets have some fun
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 2002-01-04, 20:15
FunnyFrog FunnyFrog is offline
Magic Level: Green Ball
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Latvia
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally posted by Unregistered
by forgeting my sound card it is that some times the game crashes and then when i load it the game says i have the rong sound card. the only way to fix it is to reinstall the patch
If you restart Windows after the crash and then run LBA without reinstalling the patch, does it work?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Never trust Microsoft again! SebZ First aid 60 2006-08-03 12:38
Windows XP patch for LBA1 Unregistered First aid 1 2004-01-04 21:50
<<< LBA1 + LBA2 troubleshooting guide, READ ME! >>> wacko First aid 0 2003-07-03 00:36
LBA1 patch updated FunnyFrog First aid 71 2002-06-26 18:08
LBA1 patch + LBA1 demo = ??? arognlie First aid 12 2002-04-17 19:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:37.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network