Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #226  
Old 2007-03-16, 05:50
brownstudy brownstudy is offline
First time poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Osx

I'm a PC user at heart, but I wanted Twinsen on my Mac, and it seems like no one has posted this yet, so.

This is how I got it to work in OSX (before getting that stupid NoCD error that a lot of people get):

mount d /volumes/TWINSEN -t cdrom -usecd 1 -label TWINSEN

Then make a DOS/NAME OF GAME folder (so, like, DOS/TWINSEN) in the place on your HD represented by the little house. Then mount the folder you've just made as C. (mount c /users/NAME OF LITTLE HOUSE PLACE/DOS/TWINSEN)
Then just do
d:
cd\dos (if you have Twinsen)
install

From there you can follow ChaosFish's guide, and remember not to pick SoundBlaster if you can't hear anything with it.

Er, if anyone can maybe link me to a NoCD fix I'd be super grateful.
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 2007-03-16, 09:29
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
You can find a nocd fix at gameburnworld site.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 2007-10-29, 20:30
Kurck's Avatar
Kurck Kurck is offline
Le Kuck qui rit
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,325
Sorry for bumping this thread, but I have a problem

I've read the whole thread and didn't come to an solution. I got LBA2 installed on Linux (openSuse 10.2) via DosBox, no problem there. But LBA2 doesn't recognizes the CD or it can't find it.
I did try to run it in Wine, but Wine is missing some dlls: mss32.dll and smackw.dll. (if I would download them, where should I put them?)

My main issue is: how do I make LBA2 recognize the CD?

this is my autoexec part of the dosbox config file btw:
Code:
mount g /media/LBA2 -t cdrom -label LBA2 -ioctl -usecd 1
mount h /home/kurck/games
h:
(the config file of LBA2 is has this install path: G:\LBA2\)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 2007-10-29, 20:34
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
First, change "mount g" to "mount d" and "mount h" to "mount c". The point is to simulate a DOS environment, so using G and H doesn't really help.

-ioctl doesn't work on Linux as far as I know. (Check DOSBox wiki or something) And maybe try changing -usecd 1 to -usecd 0? I dunno.
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 2007-10-29, 21:02
Kurck's Avatar
Kurck Kurck is offline
Le Kuck qui rit
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,325
Thanks It works now (it was the -usecd 0 btw)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 2008-01-01, 06:24
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
Someone made a neat DOSBox frontend / config generator:


Download: http://www.dharman-art.com/images/Vo...x_FrontEnd.zip

Post: http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopi...=124068#124068
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 2008-01-01, 09:32
Streg's Avatar
Streg Streg is offline
Or Emi (was StreGGy)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples, Italy (Citadel Island)
Posts: 5,430
Send a message via MSN to Streg
looks useful!
__________________
YouTube channel:
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 2008-01-01, 15:49
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,811
Need to test it.
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 2008-01-01, 17:19
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,882
looks just as terrible as D-Fend
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 2008-01-04, 09:39
F2bnp's Avatar
F2bnp F2bnp is offline
Magic Level: Red Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Looks awesome!Gonna try it.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 2008-01-05, 00:29
Martyvej's Avatar
Martyvej Martyvej is offline
RobG from different angle
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 145
i just did this on pc for LBA1, to test out commands for the psp version of dosbox - its a bit simpler, but does require that you make an iso of the original cd.
On pc the way i did it was just running the installer (i use vista btw.) and installing the game on my d: drive i also made an iso of my lba cd and placed in the root of the d: drive <- iso was named adeline

please note that the only step that needs to be done in this order is the final step where you run the game, rest can be mixed if you want to, this is just the order i did them to fit in with my dosbox.conf on psp.

step 1:
mount c d:\ <- this mounts d: drive as a virtual c: drive for use in dosbox

Step 2:
imgmount d c:/ADELINE.iso -t iso <- this will mount the ADELINE.iso as a virtual cd, of the iso format (thats what the -t iso does)

Step 3:
enter the C:\LBA\ folder, type in LBA (or whatver the executable is called :P LBA is the european one) and watch it play.

These simple steps will also get you past the annoying "no cd detected" messages.
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 2008-02-16, 07:11
steviesgirl86 steviesgirl86 is offline
First time poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: sydney
Posts: 1
Red face LBA2 probs..

hey:P

i know im not the brightest bulb in the the christmas tree when it comes to computers. It has taken me hours to figure out how to run LBA2 on dosbox. I have the cd in but when i run it, it says i need a cd. i tried the OWN Patch but it doesnt work.. Im not sure wat im doing wrong because i have no clue wat im doing 90% of the time when it came to running LBA2 on Dosbox. i do have windows vista. I would appreciate any help if there is any
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 2008-03-12, 14:10
hpfx hpfx is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
how to use an ISO file of the CDROM for LBA2 ?
I've made an iso of my original LBA2 cd (winimage)
and I (succesfully) mount my image with imgmount d -t iso lba2.iso
I've istalled the game succesfully.
But he ask the CD to play !
notice : I'm using last DosBox (0.72)
there are no option like -label to ensure the label is ok with imgmount...
have you an idea ?
Thank you.
Best regards.
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 2008-03-21, 23:34
Martyvej's Avatar
Martyvej Martyvej is offline
RobG from different angle
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 145
Well you can either grab a no-cd patch and start messing with that.
OR you can try creating a new image using either Nero (so you get an .nrg image file) or any other image creation tools that support bin/cue format.

The reason you want this is because regular .iso format wont remember all the audio data tracks by default, and then it will come up and complain about not finding the cd.

So what you want to do is create either a .nrg file, or a bin/cue with more or less any program you can find.
Once you've gotten that, do your imgmount again, just mount the nrg file or the CUE file. Then it should work.
__________________
Want to play LBA 2 on your psp? Look Here!
Also contains information on how to get LBA2,
running on dosbox without using patches or
nocd cracks!

Project C starts in 2-3 weeks!
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 2008-06-05, 02:10
imbackagain imbackagain is offline
First time poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Any way to get past the No CD thing on a Mac? that seems to be my problem...
Reply With Quote
  #241  
Old 2008-06-05, 09:06
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
You should totally try Boxer, the new DOSBox-for-mac.
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 2008-06-11, 16:17
costam costam is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Hello!

I somehow managed to run LBA 2 on Vista, using a combination of Dosbox AND FunnyFrog patches. Amazing, isn't it?
Anyway, my monitor is 1440x900, and even when I run LBA 2 through Dosbox, it only takes a quarter of the screeen. I prefer lower graphics quality (like stretching all this, bigger pixels, you know) to staring at the screen that is black in 75%. How can I change that?
I don't know too much about computers, my successful installing of LBA 2 is a result of hours of experiments
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 2008-06-11, 21:15
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
You have to change the configurations of your DosBox. When editing dosbox.conf, you can change the fullresolution under the header [sdl].
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 2008-06-11, 21:51
costam costam is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks very much. It worked.
Actually, I tried it already, but I did it wrong. I mean, I wrote resolution of my screen and i didn't work, but now I knowi should've typed 640x480 and not 1440x900
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 2008-06-30, 00:59
kunio18 kunio18 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: england
Posts: 30
Send a message via MSN to kunio18
how do you apply funny frogs patch to dosbox when the game cant even install?
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 2008-06-30, 18:25
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kunio18 View Post
how do you apply funny frogs patch to dosbox when the game cant even install?
You don't. Either FunnyFrog's patch or DosBox. Both at the same time do no good.

For installing problems, try to run the setup program itself via DosBox.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 2008-07-06, 08:53
Armageddon's Avatar
Armageddon Armageddon is offline
Twinsun Liberator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 513
Send a message via MSN to Armageddon
dos kinda suks on my computer i tried to run A.O.M (age of mythology) and couldnt coz it needed pure but i had pure dos adn aom didnt need dos either.

somethings are just messed up you know.
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 2008-07-21, 09:11
Kieran11's Avatar
Kieran11 Kieran11 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Kieran11
Exclamation LBA1 on DOSbox OSX

Hey there,

I'm completely computer illiterate and I'd like to install LBA1 on my Mac (intel core) and I was wondering if anyone could post step by step instructions. I miss LBA1!
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 2008-07-21, 09:28
Armageddon's Avatar
Armageddon Armageddon is offline
Twinsun Liberator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 513
Send a message via MSN to Armageddon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieran11 View Post
Hey there,

I'm completely computer illiterate and I'd like to install LBA1 on my Mac (intel core) and I was wondering if anyone could post step by step instructions. I miss LBA1!
what version are you getting.

(or have)

floppy or cd).
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 2008-07-21, 11:45
LBAWinOwns's Avatar
LBAWinOwns LBAWinOwns is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,571
Send a message via MSN to LBAWinOwns
Kieran11 - http://forum.magicball.net/showthread.php?t=6943
__________________

LBA Image Creator project
(image by leoboe! )

Get the Jump-Save-Bug graphically explained here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dosbox

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i use Dosbox? Cheesecake First aid 9 2005-10-10 21:16
* *Twinsen's Odyssey for DosBox * * bellebelle First aid 2 2005-04-24 07:00
Can't get LBA to work the normal way? - LBA1/2 DOSBox Guide [updated: 24-4-2005] ChaosFish First aid 0 2004-01-11 23:14
LBA2 now runs in DOSBox ChaosFish General 22 2003-11-27 18:18
IRC guide wacko Off topic 18 2001-10-11 08:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network