Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51  
Old 2004-11-29, 20:20
Panda's Avatar
Panda Panda is offline
Still in a dream...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alberto_Xilo
This patch does not work for users with a Ge force 4
Uh.... yes it does.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 2004-11-29, 22:05
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,212
Indeed it does.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 2004-11-29, 22:27
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,810
I've a GeForce 4 MX 440 and it work properly
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 2004-12-02, 09:43
Alberto_Xilo Alberto_Xilo is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
My mistake sorry. I meant a Geforce 5500, and incase people disagree. I'm running a AMD Athlon XP 3200+ and the patch isn't working.

Somebody please assist me! :'(
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 2004-12-02, 13:28
Master Cheater's Avatar
Master Cheater Master Cheater is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 646
Delete the Backup exe and try patching the game again.
__________________
Hi!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 2004-12-02, 16:11
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Try running the patch from a Command Prompt instead of just double-clicking it in Explorer so you can see possible error messages coming up. Your LBA2 might not have been patched properly in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 2004-12-02, 18:22
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,318
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
- Alberto_Xilo: Can you tell me the size of your TWINSEN.EXE or LBA2.EXE (depends on what you have), so I can tell you, if you have a version of the game, that the patch works with?
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 2004-12-19, 11:32
Alberto_Xilo Alberto_Xilo is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
The LBA2.EXE is : 602 KB

And i'm afraid i've never ever ran anything through command prompt Wacko, i've tried to avoid it as much as possible
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 2004-12-19, 15:27
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
You can also do the following to prevent it from closing:
Right click PATCH.EXE or whatever the patcher is called, select properties, go to the tab Program, then deselect the option "Close on exit".
Start the program again and see what errors it comes up with.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 2005-02-09, 09:44
Resound Resound is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacko
Try running the patch from a Command Prompt instead of just double-clicking it in Explorer so you can see possible error messages coming up. Your LBA2 might not have been patched properly in the first place.
I tried this and got

"Looking for the original .EXE...
Patching TWINSEN.EXE...
Runtime error 005 at 0000:0850."

I'm running XP Pro on an Athlon 1.3GHz and a Radeon 9600XT. Any thoughts? I have the original CD which I bought in a second-hand shop.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 2005-02-09, 17:42
Panda's Avatar
Panda Panda is offline
Still in a dream...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,047
Doesn't it work normally?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 2005-02-11, 11:31
Resound Resound is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandy
Doesn't it work normally?
Not under Win XP
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 2005-02-11, 14:46
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,810
I try and I have the same problem. I currently have winXP SP2 but I already patched the executable with winXP.

Resound: I just have the LBA2.exe patched and not TWINSEN.exe so even if I send you the file you'll not play the game because the CD recognize.

So guys if anyone have the TWINSEN.exe file patched send to him, or put a link here
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 2005-02-11, 20:13
Panda's Avatar
Panda Panda is offline
Still in a dream...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,047
It works fine for me on XP SP2 when I use the graphics patch.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 2005-02-13, 01:49
Resound Resound is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Actually, given that I get a runtime error, could it be the environment? I *think* I've got the current JRE installed, but I could be mistaken. What does the patch run as? Note that I'm most definitely NOT a coder.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 2005-02-13, 14:27
Panda's Avatar
Panda Panda is offline
Still in a dream...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,047
Java wont have bugger all to do with it afaik. I've got it running and it works fine. Have you tried installing to a different location than the default one?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 2005-02-13, 23:20
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,318
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexfont
Resound: I just have the LBA2.exe patched and not TWINSEN.exe so even if I send you the file you'll not play the game because the CD recognize.
Actually, it would work. The actual recognitive thing is just the "Version: " variable in LBA2.CFG, where its value is 1, or 2 for U.S. version, 3 for European version, 4, 5, 6 for Japanese/Asian versions, and other for version without the redistributor logo (one screen less during the loading). So basically, for U.S. and European version, any .EXE you have is alright, you just have to ensure, that you have the "Version" value set correctly in LBA2.CFG, which it is by default, so you don't have to worry about it. Either LBA2.EXE (616448 bytes) or TWINSEN.EXE (615936 bytes) will work.
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 2005-03-21, 22:07
janko's Avatar
janko janko is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
i have a problems with sound help me???
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 2005-03-21, 23:20
Kitarii's Avatar
Kitarii Kitarii is offline
You what?!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,730
my lba2 is completely bust and i have no idea why...

i get this windowxp error and an automatic reboot whenever i try to start it...

i see twinsen + zoe on the disc, then adeline, then this weird error...

can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 2005-03-22, 04:58
morshem's Avatar
morshem morshem is offline
Magic level: Ice Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beʼer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 20,093
Send a message via MSN to morshem
Did you install the patch?
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 2005-03-24, 19:13
chimera6's Avatar
chimera6 chimera6 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
The patch doesn't work for me

I scrolled through the conversation you've been having here...
This patch does not work for me. I have a Win XP and the display problems in LBA2 won't go away. What should I do? I tried to run LBA2 in the DOSBox, but the programme is way too heavy and the sounds were poor. Do you have any advice what should I do with the displaying problem???
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 2005-03-25, 01:45
Dave1297 Dave1297 is offline
First time poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Patch does not work then try this:

Hello Wacko:

you got the message :


"Looking for the original .EXE...
Patching TWINSEN.EXE...
Runtime error 005 at 0000:0850."

when you tried to run the patch.
I also had this problem.

One solution I found was to :
1) restart in safe mode
2) run patch - for me this was successful
3) restart in normal mode and run twinsen. Worked perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 2005-05-21, 11:11
black black is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
:cry: the patch doesen't work :cry:
even more how it works for all you people
This exact problem that this patch sais it fixes but i can't run patch
Can't run in MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications or something like that..
I tried through cmd.. safe mode.. compatibility etc.. doesen't work.
I have win xp sp2 and gforce fx 5200.. anyone had this problem?
Please help
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 2005-05-23, 07:55
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,318
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
- black: Did you try to remove the Read-Only attribute on the TWINSEN.EXE (or LBA2.EXE, depending on what version of the game you have)?
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 2005-05-24, 11:58
Cheesecake Cheesecake is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Ahh thanks for the patch! i can finally run lba2 again now on my new pc

some porb;ems though, the graphics seem to have quite a low reolution now and are a little pixelated and blurry (just a little though) and i have sound porblems, eveytime my character speaks to someone the music cuts out.

It never used to, but i cant rememberthe last time LBA2 ran PERFECTLY on my pc. any suggestions please?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBA2 Sound Problem Sayel First aid 10 2004-07-25 21:22
LBA1 display problem hector First aid 9 2003-03-29 16:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:12.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network