Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > First aid
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

First aid The forum for getting help to run or complete the LBA games. Note: could contain spoilers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2012-11-29, 00:19
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
LBA 1 on DS !

I know there is more or less already a thread about this subject, but I thought I'd get more attention by creating a new. If it causes any problems, please, do merge them.

I'm trying to run LBA1 on a DOS emulator, it freezes at soon as I press a button (any button). Anyone knows this/has an idea to make it through ?
The game starts fine, after a while, the end credits start rolling, showing LBA characters moving, this works fine, but... freezes as soon as I press a button. Seriously, this is frustrating.
Any ideas ?

More details :
Spoiler:
I've recently been trying to make LBA1 run on DS. There is an MS-DOS emulator called DSx86. DSx86 doesn't have an inbuilt command interpreter (or shell), it's running 4DOS v7.50 . I am using DSx86's extended version called DS2x86 which only runs on a DSTWO flashcard. DS2x86 is more powerful, due to the DSTWO's inner RAM. Currently, DS2x86 is the only one which can run programs with LBA1's minimum requirements.
So, I have it installed, video card set on "VESA compatible", I tested several other options, this one is the only that seems to work. Music and sound is set on "none", language to french.
Due to the fact that the DS doesn't have a CD reader, I downloaded a no-cd crack. The cracked game runs fine in DOSBOX.
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>

Last edited by Polaris; 2012-11-29 at 20:46.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2012-11-29, 00:35
Double-J's Avatar
Double-J Double-J is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by polaris View Post
i know there is more or less already a thread about this subject, but i thought i'd get more attention by creating a new.
needs moar mlp!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2012-11-29, 02:26
SpaceGuitarist's Avatar
SpaceGuitarist SpaceGuitarist is offline
the legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 7,183
Have you tried other dos games on this emulator in your DS ? if they have a problem too, it might not be LBA1's fault...
__________________


Polaris: "And what is a guitar doing in the middle of an asteroïd anyway?"
sgk: Think of it this way: it's like a message in a bottle. In our world, we put a message inside a bottle to protect it while it travels through the oceans to reach some other island. In other worlds, they put a message inside an asteroid to protect it while it travels through space to reach some other planet. In this case it is a gift, a guitar, rather than just a message.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2012-11-29, 10:51
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
Simcity works fine.
And I can also run windows 3.
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2012-11-29, 20:46
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
Well, all that stress for nothing... A new version of the emulator came out... AND LBA WORKS !!!
NO SOUND BUT IT IS PLAYABLE !!!

I mean hrm...
Of course it isn't smooth but the game is playable, no problems so far (except some ocasional freezes, but since there is an autosave, it isn't that much of a problem).
I'll try to post pics tomorrow.

The screen is small, but either it is still understandable or I know the game so much that I don't care
The texts are readable and, you know the scenaric zoom, that useless thing noone ever used, it is quite nice here

DSx86 can't launch it, so, sorry for all non-DSTWO card users
What else... Still no sound, although DS2x86 can emulate a soundblaster 2 and lower, I just can't get it to work... LBA2 has an automatic sound detection that works on it, but I can't launch LBA2, I haven't found any no-CD cracks for DOS. Does anyone have one ? (pls no ban me :3 )

If people are interested, I can write up a guide for it.




It's one of my child dreams becoming true...
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2012-11-30, 03:11
Ditzy Doo's Avatar
Ditzy Doo Ditzy Doo is offline
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by double-j View Post
needs moar mlp!!!!
. . .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4119729+_f1de48581313468dc54e408033008607.gif‎
Views:	106
Size:	23.1 KB
ID:	9438  
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2012-11-30, 12:19
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
Unless someone does a proper and specific port, I don't think it will ever work on other cards...

And I don't think anyone will do so with the 3DS here now
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2012-12-18, 15:58
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
I'm sure they'll do sooner or later. Security programs always end up being cracked.
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2013-02-13, 02:20
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,332
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polaris View Post
Well, all that stress for nothing... A new version of the emulator came out... AND LBA WORKS !!!
NO SOUND BUT IT IS PLAYABLE !!!

I mean hrm...
Of course it isn't smooth but the game is playable, no problems so far (except some ocasional freezes, but since there is an autosave, it isn't that much of a problem).
I'll try to post pics tomorrow.

The screen is small, but either it is still understandable or I know the game so much that I don't care
The texts are readable and, you know the scenaric zoom, that useless thing noone ever used, it is quite nice here

DSx86 can't launch it, so, sorry for all non-DSTWO card users
What else... Still no sound, although DS2x86 can emulate a soundblaster 2 and lower, I just can't get it to work... LBA2 has an automatic sound detection that works on it, but I can't launch LBA2, I haven't found any no-CD cracks for DOS. Does anyone have one ? (pls no ban me :3 )

If people are interested, I can write up a guide for it.




It's one of my child dreams becoming true...
Which version of LBA 2 do you have?
And do you want to be able to use the VIDEO.HQR or not?
I need this information then I can make a crack for you.
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2013-02-13, 14:06
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
That would be awesome !!
I have the European version, and i'd like to have the full features of the game, so be able to use the video.hqr yes

By the way, I found some sound settings that work, but LBA1 won't play CD music or cinematics, the game must be looking for a CD.
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2013-02-16, 16:08
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,332
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polaris View Post
That would be awesome !!
I have the European version, and i'd like to have the full features of the game, so be able to use the video.hqr yes

By the way, I found some sound settings that work, but LBA1 won't play CD music or cinematics, the game must be looking for a CD.
OK, should be easy: remove the CD check and patch the VIDEO.HQR file paths in the executable so they look wherever the game is run from as opposed to on the CD for the file. I'll do that.
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2013-02-16, 16:39
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
Thank you very much

Since you seem so knowledgeable, do you know if there is a way to run LBA1 with no cd and still have the CD tracks and cinematics ?
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2013-02-17, 04:30
Battler's Avatar
Battler Battler is offline
Welcome to Zirla!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 5,332
Send a message via ICQ to Battler Send a message via AIM to Battler Send a message via MSN to Battler Send a message via Yahoo to Battler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polaris View Post
Thank you very much

Since you seem so knowledgeable, do you know if there is a way to run LBA1 with no cd and still have the CD tracks and cinematics ?
Nope, since LBA 1 is weird when it comes to looking for the cinematics. As for CD Audio tracks without CD - how are you going to do that, with the exception of inventing CD Audio-compatible Hard Disk Audio, which would be quite a feat, if not even impossible?
__________________
Join #doki-doki on irc.ringoflightning.net for some nice chit-chat about anime, manga, and other aspects of Japanese culture now!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2013-02-17, 13:36
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,908
Isn't it possible to change the floppy version ? For cinematics and musics, it looks for files that aren't in the CD (obviously), couldn't we change those files for the cinematics and the tracks ?
That's something even I can look after with the appropriate decompiler, do you know which HQR contains those floppy-exclusive files ?
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBOX emulator Quetch Off topic 2 2008-02-17 09:36
Xbox-PC emulator? Gobbles Off topic 21 2005-01-22 19:24
Super Nintendo emulator sound problems bunnyrabbot02 Off topic 8 2004-02-11 22:15
LBA2 is freezing! bunnyrabbot02 First aid 4 2003-02-26 21:43
LBA in a DOS emulator?? darklord First aid 14 2002-05-09 13:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:27.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network