Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > Off topic
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Off topic General off-topic chat goes in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2001-01-27, 00:00
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica

And yes again I've completely fucked my computer up.
Tried to boot it because I wanted to check LBA again, but my comp. didn't want it.
So I tried to change some harmless things in the bios, nothing yet.
I pushed F8 and choose MS-Dos, when do I thought: "Gee, what if I try Autoexec.bat now?
So I went to A:\ and typed autoexec in, and I suddenly entered a program that said something about installing Flash-Memmory, I with my I-don't-know-anything-about-old-progammes additude thought it would be harmless so I didn't do anything...how wrong could I've been!!!!!!
The comp restarted itself and the program said it would delete the Flash Memmorie, restarted and...PIEP PIEP PIEP, after opening my computer, I checked the little lamps and founded out it had to do with my RAM... so I was pretty scruwed...

God... I feel dumb.
Right now I'm at my mother typing this message and it's 23.10 over here...
Anyone have any suggestions, otherwise I have to call my brother and he won't be very happy...
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2001-01-27, 00:34
Phoenix's Avatar
Phoenix Phoenix is offline
Your God
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Halesowen, United Kingdom
Posts: 802
Send a message via ICQ to Phoenix
What little lamps? I don't have any lamps inside my computer, are you sure it wasn't the moniter you opened up?

I can't understand why there would be anything in the autoexec.bat that would affect flash memory. It is not your RAM though, you can't do anything to your RAM, the only things that have flash memory as far as I know are BIOS chips, Modem chips and SCSI controller chips.

If your computer doesn't work at all now, try choosing "reset to bios defaults" in the bios menu. It could be that you unwittingly altered something in you bios.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2001-01-27, 00:41
{}ghost{}'s Avatar
{}ghost{} {}ghost{} is offline
hmz
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,493
Send a message via ICQ to {}ghost{}
LOL i have no idea what you just said and i know nothing about how to solve it, I just wanted to say that this message should have been in the system problems forum...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2001-01-27, 01:29
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,213
um.. huh?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2001-01-27, 02:13
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
looks like you flashed your bios with a wrong firmware...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2001-01-27, 12:16
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
I'm thinking the same as El
If you're lucky they can replace the bios in the nearest computer shop, otherwise you'll have to get a new MoBo...

Damn, what kind of disk was that? Recovery tool or something?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2001-01-27, 17:26
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Phoenix: when you open your computer you see a couple of leds on your mainboard.

The computer gives the same peeps like when you haven't insert your RAM propely (so I can't do anything)

So I think there's something wrong with my RAM, the bootdisk I used wasn't a recovery disk.

__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2001-01-27, 18:11
{}ghost{}'s Avatar
{}ghost{} {}ghost{} is offline
hmz
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,493
Send a message via ICQ to {}ghost{}
LOL I dont understand what the hell are you talking about?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2001-01-27, 18:16
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
The only way to test your RAM is by using it in an other computer...
But why would it "blow up" this sudden
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2001-01-27, 22:08
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Thanks to this little "Flash Memorie" progamme. I thought about putting in my dads comp but I have to wait till he's gone, otherwhise he's going to freak out...
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2001-01-27, 22:12
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Just be careful you won't blow his computer up as well 8)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2001-01-27, 22:18
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
You're making a little mistake... I'm not you...

__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2001-01-27, 22:30
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Hey, I don't run tools that blow up my RAM!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2001-01-27, 22:49
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
Quote:
Originally posted by wacko
One time my harddrive was exploded because tried to wax it
That's not really smart either...
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2001-01-28, 03:50
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
I never destroyed any RAM moduals. I did had broken RAM moduals once, I bought new RAM (most of the time a few DIMMs) and a few were broken. Your computer keeps beeping to signal that you have either: broken ram, incompatible ram, wrong ram configuration. If you only get 3 beeps it means that the bios and video card can't find a monitor connected.
Computers with a phoenix bios have a lot more beep codes.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2001-01-28, 03:51
Neko's Avatar
Neko Neko is offline
Neko
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,594
i tried to burn a cdrom, but it went black and hot


...
to bad
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2001-01-28, 11:25
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Once I got some CD-recordables from the computer shop. I put them in my CD-ROM drive, I tried to copy something to the empty disc... but no! It didn't work! And when I returned the cd's to the shop ("they don't work!") they said I needed a cd-burner of $200! Don't you think they should put that on the box of the CD-R's?


(who thinks I'm really this stupid is stupid himself )
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2001-01-28, 13:26
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,884
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

sorry.. wacko, but this is realy funny...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2001-01-28, 13:35
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
If you liked it, you'll like this too:
http://rinkworks.com/stupid/
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2001-01-28, 16:52
Atresica Atresica is offline
What is this place?
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Somewhere far far away
Posts: 12,667
Send a message via ICQ to Atresica Send a message via AIM to Atresica Send a message via MSN to Atresica
okey, you can try it out yourself, get the RAM out of it and try to start the computer up, it will give one huge beep and than a never ending row of small beeps, I once had it because I didn't insert the RAM propely, that's why I know it.
__________________
*Blub*
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2001-01-28, 16:59
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
Maybe it's a message from satan in morse-code 8)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2001-01-28, 19:55
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
weee
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Living Quarters
Posts: 21,213
Exclamation 1000 posts

[off topic]
Wow check it out! wacko is the first one to 1000 posts! :O
[/off topic]
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2001-01-29, 05:45
Lightwing Lightwing is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,963
Send a message via ICQ to Lightwing
LOL!!
I don't get what they're talking about either!!!
LOL!!

Hey ghost goin the party of the dumb people!!

WEEE!!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2001-01-29, 08:10
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
Pony A-sploded!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,801
Send a message via ICQ to Simon
Quote:
Originally posted by wacko
Once I got some CD-recordables from the computer shop. I put them in my CD-ROM drive, I tried to copy something to the empty disc... but no! It didn't work! And when I returned the cd's to the shop ("they don't work!") they said I needed a cd-burner of $200! Don't you think they should put that on the box of the CD-R's?


(who thinks I'm really this stupid is stupid himself )
HAHAHAHAHAHA , hrm sorry but indeed El it was fun!
__________________
I come from the land of taxes
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2001-01-29, 17:09
wacko's Avatar
wacko wacko is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 9,927
When I first got my computer, I called helpdesk.

Me: "My footpedal doesn't work."
Helpdesk Guy: "Foodpedal?"
Me: "Yes!"
HG: "How does it looks?"
Me: "Well, like a oval thingy with two buttons at top."
HG: "Sir, they call that a 'mouse'. You're supposed to lay it on the desk and control it with your arms."

Well, how in hell should I have known that???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ugh...respawning flying elephants with machine guns!!! Manic First aid 4 2004-03-05 13:42
Ugh, another question, sorry guyz... Evil-Twinsen Off topic 6 2001-06-15 12:03
ugh (It's NOT spam, dammnit!) Enc0der General 6 2001-04-11 22:28
School...ugh.... Simon Off topic 15 2000-12-24 15:27
ugh... I'm gonna die very soon..... Enc0der Off topic 17 2000-12-13 12:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:48.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, the Magicball Network