Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > LBA Projects > LbaNet
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

LbaNet Multiplayer version of LBA1

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76  
Old 2009-12-14, 23:59
Faust's Avatar
Faust Faust is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to Faust
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rincevent_123 View Post
Actually you have to wait more like 1 or 2 minutes in case of crash before you can reconnect again. Also for the problem where you can not move this seems rather strange. Which operating system do you use. Also what keyboard do you use? You hsould be able to move using the arrow key.
Twinsen walks, turns and jumps when I press the keys, but he's stucked. This in every map in LBA1 world

Last edited by Faust; 2009-12-15 at 00:09.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 2009-12-15, 00:06
leoboe's Avatar
leoboe leoboe is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,158
Did you already try LBAexpanded?
It's currently the only World we can give full support for.
LBA-original is full of bugs because it's directly taken from the LBA-files with no editing at all.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 2009-12-15, 22:39
Faust's Avatar
Faust Faust is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to Faust
Quote:
Originally Posted by leoboe View Post
Did you already try LBAexpanded?
It's currently the only World we can give full support for.
LBA-original is full of bugs because it's directly taken from the LBA-files with no editing at all.
I understand. As I told before, LBA expanded works
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 2009-12-24, 17:45
djpalmer93 djpalmer93 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 13
Won't Respond

Hi,

When I try to run LBANet it updates it, then I click on play, and I can hear the theme music playing but it just shows the desktop background in the window where the game should be, like it's not responding. Also, sometimes when I try to start the game it comes up with an error about .NET.

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 2009-12-24, 18:01
leoboe's Avatar
leoboe leoboe is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,158
As Rincevent is currently on holiday I can't give you real support but you should possibly try to run the game in compatibility mode, as it's not actually made for Win7.

If there has been some error with the patching before, you should try to reinstall the game and run the patcher again.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 2009-12-24, 20:35
djpalmer93 djpalmer93 is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 13
I went into the game directory and changed the game and patcher to use Windows XP compatibility mode but it still wouldn't work, so I might try reinstalling it sometime.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 2009-12-25, 00:09
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,846
Also, try installing it with the archives, I have vista, and the game doesn't work if I install it with the installers.
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 2009-12-25, 00:40
GoofyLife GoofyLife is offline
Magic Level: Red Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpalmer93 View Post
I went into the game directory and changed the game and patcher to use Windows XP compatibility mode but it still wouldn't work, so I might try reinstalling it sometime.

Thanks for your help.
A little off-topic, but I've played alot of pre-XP games an have tried the compatability mode alot to get games working, not even ONCE have it worked, is it just a dummy function that was just put there to be able to say "XP is compatible with apps from previous Windows versions"?

Lame!

<3 OS X <3
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 2009-12-25, 15:11
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,846
Disagree, I have much games, like KotOR 2 which only run if I use that compatibility box. I think LBAWin also only works in that mode. It is very useful.
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 2009-12-25, 18:31
GoofyLife GoofyLife is offline
Magic Level: Red Ball
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 162
Knights of the old republic? Isn't that an XP game? LBAwin works fine here in XP without compatability mode, but things may differ between computers and their hardware
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 2009-12-25, 20:03
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,846
Yes it is... umm, but I use vista ^^'
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 2010-01-11, 01:22
Saria
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
im trying to register but once i hit the register button it just goes to the home page and NOTHING happens
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 2010-01-11, 15:39
Slaxer Slaxer is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saria View Post
im trying to register but once i hit the register button it just goes to the home page and NOTHING happens
I got the same problem, i try in firefox and IE and nothing works...
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 2010-01-11, 16:24
leoboe's Avatar
leoboe leoboe is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,158
Sorry I made a little mistake with the current form on the registration.
But his should be fixed now.

Have fun playing LBANet
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 2010-01-11, 16:31
Slaxer Slaxer is offline
Magic Level: Yellow Ball
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by leoboe View Post
Sorry I made a little mistake with the current form on the registration.
But his should be fixed now.

Have fun playing LBANet
TNX very much, that now works fine!!!! TNXTNX
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 2010-02-21, 23:09
Astyanax Astyanax is offline
First time poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Hi everyone !
I'm pretty surprised that i never heard of this project since i'm a big fan of the franchise, and this looks great
Anyway i have a problem with the installation of the game... Well more with the patching of it. I successfully installed the client on my computer but when i launch it, he check the server for an update (about a minute) until the message "error during patching. Please check the file patching.log for details" appears.
I know it's pretty vague but do you have an idea what the origin of the problem could be ? I tried to install the 3.5 NET platform-thing but the installation failed, so i suppose it's already on my pc.

I woul be thankful if you could help me

edit : i changed the autorizations of my firewall so that the client and the patcher can work properly, but there is no modification.

Last edited by Astyanax; 2010-02-21 at 23:25.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 2010-02-21, 23:38
Rincevent_123's Avatar
Rincevent_123 Rincevent_123 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 380
Which operating system do you use? if vista or windows 7, did you try to run it with administrator rights?

A file called patching.log should have been created in the installation directory of the game, could you open it with a text editor and paste the content here? That would help understand the issue.
__________________
______________________
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 2010-02-22, 21:22
Darkflame's Avatar
Darkflame Darkflame is offline
Classic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sol, Earth, NL
Posts: 23,836
Send a message via ICQ to Darkflame Send a message via AIM to Darkflame Send a message via MSN to Darkflame
I just tried the new version of the game.
Was going great...quests and all.
Then it crashed after about 40 minutes (prog just closed, no error or warning)
Not such a big deal...till I logged in and saw my inventory was whipped out !
Absolutely everything. (including the christmas stuff)

What I remember I had;

* 30 kashe's exact
* Candy Cane
* XMas present (unopened)
* 10 health potions.
* 7(?) magic potions (I think)
* Scroll with a cookie on it (I think)
* Something heart shaped...cant quite remember.

My status on the quests was also completely lost.

* Both quests started, neither was done. (I was just collecting money for both of them).

Cant exactly remember where I crashed, think it was when moving between area's.

When logging back in, at first it said someone was already logged in under my name (as expected, seeing as I reloaded it pretty fast). After 30 seconds I tried again, and I was back at twinsens house with everything reset.
Hope this helps to diagnose the problem.


Upto the crash there was no other problems, was going great
__________________
http://fanficmaker.com <-- Tells some truly terrible tales.
-
Phones & Tricorders & Blobs & Bombs & 3D Printers & TVIntros also;stuff
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 2010-02-22, 21:44
Rincevent_123's Avatar
Rincevent_123 Rincevent_123 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 380
Thats weird. I have checked the database and actually everything is there (your whole inventory and quests are there and nothing is missing).
Are you sure you did not connect in local mode?

Could you try to connect again to see if it works fine for you now?
__________________
______________________
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 2010-02-28, 03:17
RosaMarietheCow's Avatar
RosaMarietheCow RosaMarietheCow is offline
a big Mooo to you all :-)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,065
I've had the program installed for a while, always been working, but havn't played it recently. Now when I open up LBAnet I only get to see the initial window thats connecting to see if their are updates. Then I get the option to Play. I click Play. The windows disappears, and nothing happens
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 2010-02-28, 14:50
Polaris's Avatar
Polaris Polaris is offline
Polly parrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tippett Island
Posts: 5,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rincevent_123 View Post
Which operating system do you use? if vista or windows 7, did you try to run it with administrator rights?
Or did you try to modify the compatibility ?
Do you get any error message ?
__________________
<((((((((((((([[[========================]]])))))))))))))>
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 2010-03-01, 10:44
Rincevent_123's Avatar
Rincevent_123 Rincevent_123 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 380
RosaMarietheCow: looks to me like the patching did not work correctly. Could you have a look at the file patching.log and tell me what is in there.

Also same as I said before, try to run the program as administrator.
__________________
______________________
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 2010-03-03, 05:41
RosaMarietheCow's Avatar
RosaMarietheCow RosaMarietheCow is offline
a big Mooo to you all :-)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,065
I'm on an XP computer by the way. And the patching file was a text document. First time I opened it up empty, but then again i got this: Getting list of files to patch: 0%0%0%1%1%1%2%2%3%3%3%4%4%5%5%5%6%6%7%7%7%8%8%8%9%

does that mean anything
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 2010-03-03, 10:43
Rincevent_123's Avatar
Rincevent_123 Rincevent_123 is offline
Magic Level: Fire Ball
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 380
Does the file stops at 9%?

This should go until 100% then after that you should see a list of file that have been downloaded.
If not then the patching process did not work correctly, try to run it again.
__________________
______________________
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 2010-03-05, 10:15
RosaMarietheCow's Avatar
RosaMarietheCow RosaMarietheCow is offline
a big Mooo to you all :-)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,065
have run it several times now, not working. Not exactly understanding you either. I ran the patching program which brought up a black window that said connecting to sever, something along those lines, then the startup LBAnet window would open, connecting to server again then would load 100%. Then quit. I also in the process of the checking for updates looked at a txt document in the directory, which said updating (or something similar): 0%, and didn't change.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LBA2 Setup doesn't support 64-bit DarkOnistar First aid 6 2007-05-27 12:30
My full support Gustav Sweden The site and forum 39 2003-03-05 19:01
We do not support LBAWin versions before 1.0 elmuerte First aid 2 2002-12-03 17:09
We do not support illegal version elmuerte First aid 1 2002-05-29 16:09
support me elmuerte The site and forum 5 2000-11-11 15:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:41.




News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, the Magicball Network