Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > MBN Main Forums > News

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

News Discuss the news posted on the MBN here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-11-20, 22:57
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,236
Scheduled network downtime somewhere this week for some time

The machine ("sinas") that is currently hosting the MBN is quite old and had two mysterious system crashes in the past few months. So it was due to be replaced some time. Today the new machine ("mezzomix") arrived and somewhere this week (probably this Wednesday) sinas will be taken offline in order to be moved to mezzomix. The MBN will get it's own VM on mezzomix. After the moving of sinas to mezzomix is done it will be placed back into the co-location facility. During this time the MBN will be offline.
Well, the process will go something like that anyway.
I don't know how long everything will take, but I of course hope it all will be done ASAP.

During the MBN downtime you can still come by in the semi official MBN IRC channel: #lba on EFNet (info).

Update (2007-11-24): everything went smo... well... it is up again.


The MBN is up, just like Baldino's balloon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	balunanimated[1].gif‎
Views:	59434
Size:	177.0 KB
ID:	7183  

Last edited by elmuerte; 2007-11-26 at 19:09.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2007-11-20, 23:06
Homeless's Avatar
Homeless Homeless is offline
Zebrazilla
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,936
Ah, a new machine? That's always nice.
May the transition be as safe and smooth as possible.
__________________

LBA Speedruns
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% PC - Time: 01h 04m 23s
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% Android - Time: 01h 04m 35s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2007-11-21, 00:05
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmuerte View Post
MBN download
ZOMG where?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2007-11-21, 00:26
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,236
err... I meant downtime
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2007-11-21, 13:20
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
Ahh, the downtime. The time when MBN members freely roam the streets!

Wonderful!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2007-11-21, 16:33
Double-J's Avatar
Double-J Double-J is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 14,979
I know you said you weren't sure how long it would take, but any idea on what time the process will begin?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2007-11-24, 21:07
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,762
Good to know you're always improving MBN server
__________________
LBA2Remake v0.4.0 released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 2 original engine for the web.
[Play on Browser]|[Changes]|[Github]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2007-11-24, 21:07
Assassin's Avatar
Assassin Assassin is offline
Member #174
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,699
Send a message via MSN to Assassin
T-shitrs saying "I survived the November 2007 MBN downtime and all I got was this lousy t-shirt" available in the MBN store now!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2007-11-24, 21:49
lba1&2's Avatar
lba1&2 lba1&2 is offline
Lba1+2=3
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: On Ruby moon.
Posts: 246
Back online
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosFish View Post
Press ctrl, and change from aggressive/defensive mode to lighthearted/friendly mode.
^^^
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2007-11-24, 23:39
Homeless's Avatar
Homeless Homeless is offline
Zebrazilla
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,936
Oh, phew.
__________________

LBA Speedruns
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% PC - Time: 01h 04m 23s
Personal Best - LBA 1 - Any% Android - Time: 01h 04m 35s
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2007-11-26, 02:43
RGaspar's Avatar
RGaspar RGaspar is offline
LOLwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,666
System specs for server??

I'm curious. Because I love technical specs - even if I don't understand too much - I'd like to know the specs for the older and the newer server.
I mean: RAM, Hard disk/s, processors, these things

I think that's not a great deal to you Elmuerte, and don't endanger your privacy

Can I know them??

In compensation I'll tell you my computer specs, lol, not really useful
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2007-11-26, 09:02
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,236
the old machine was a Athlon XP 2400 with 512 MB RAM, the new machines is virtual with roughly the same specs as the old machine (which is running on a dual Xeon 5110 with 4GB of ram.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2007-11-26, 15:50
RGaspar's Avatar
RGaspar RGaspar is offline
LOLwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,666
Smile

Thanks master , I can't believe that the old server for MBN had only 512 MB RAM, always works so smooth!

Note: Well, I don't know too much of servers, maybe RAM have nothing to do with online performance

And the hard-disk?? you forgot this one

And btw: My computer is an Pentium 4 2,4 Ghz (without HT) 1 GB RAM and 40 GB HD.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2007-11-26, 19:04
elmuerte's Avatar
elmuerte elmuerte is offline
Master of Science & Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8,236
512MB ram is more than enough for a simple webserver+database, the current VM doesn't even consume all memory. The old host however did need to swap, but that's because a lot of other things were also going on.

ram is important for online performance, the more you can do from ram the better the performance is.

the MBN VM is using two disk images of 10GB, one for the system and one for the data (MBN files and database data). Which is more than enough, MBN is about 2.5 GB large, and the system is only 1.1GB large).

The VM host (mezzomix) has 2 500GB disks (RAID1 of course), and still room for 2 disks (hot pluggable).


MBN VM:
1 CPU node (=1 core of a Xeon 5110)
512MB ram
10GB for System, 10GB for Data
Bare minimal Debian Etch (Apache 2.2 + PHP 5.2 + MySQL 5.1)

VM Host (mezzomix):
Dual Xeon 5110
4GB ram
2x500GB in RAID1
http://www.supermicro.com/products/s...S-6015V-MT.cfm
Bare minimal Debian Etch + KVM support
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2007-11-26, 21:13
RGaspar's Avatar
RGaspar RGaspar is offline
LOLwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,666
Thanks again! and thanks for the site

WOW! You have a powerful machine, I envy you .
If I'm not wrong, is a shame that your motherboard only support 16 GB RAM, Lol, is probably enough to run Windows 7.

Well that's all for my side now
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2007-11-26, 22:17
ChaosFish's Avatar
ChaosFish ChaosFish is offline
!!!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Viking Mothership, Earth Simulator
Posts: 20,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertoGaspar View Post
WOW! You have a powerful machine, I envy you
You don't need to envy, you're using his machine right now
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2007-11-26, 22:29
RGaspar's Avatar
RGaspar RGaspar is offline
LOLwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,666
hahaha that's true dude
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2007-11-28, 18:12
RGaspar's Avatar
RGaspar RGaspar is offline
LOLwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,666
I'm on the third world, duh!

This model of HD is old even on Argentina, but a 80 GB model is very common these days.

We have a really bad policy about technology
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2007-11-29, 00:27
Echomote's Avatar
Echomote Echomote is offline
a well established member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,426
Send a message via MSN to Echomote
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertoGaspar View Post
is a shame that your motherboard only support 16 GB RAM, Lol, is probably enough to run Windows 7.
Windows 7 defiently wont require any where near that much.

Feel sorry for you, my laptop has better specs than your desktop...

2ghz x2 core duo, 2gb ram, 120gb hdd
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2007-11-29, 00:50
the_angry_monkey's Avatar
the_angry_monkey the_angry_monkey is offline
formerly just angry
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 2,440
Cool nice one El! Thanks for the upgrade!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scheduled network downtime elmuerte The site and forum 6 2006-05-30 22:17
MBN downtime elmuerte The site and forum 11 2004-08-24 23:45
MBN downtime MBN Bot News 29 2002-11-27 06:35
MBN downtime elmuerte The site and forum 15 2002-08-24 01:39
box downtime elmuerte The site and forum 13 2001-06-20 20:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:18.


News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, the Magicball Network