Go Back   the Magicball Network > Forums > Fan Creations > Fan Games > Fan Maps
Buy LBA1/Relentless from GOG.com Buy LBA1/Relentless from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from DotEmu Buy LBA2/Twinsen's Odyssey from GOG.com Buy Little big Adventure from GOG.com or DotEmu Buy Little big Adventure 2 from DotEmu or GOG.com

Welcome to the Magicball Network.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Fan Maps LBA themed maps for other games (Unreal, Half Life, etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-06-05, 21:01
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
Half-Life2 - LBA1 Citadel Island

Ok I've decided.
I am going to make a map for LBA in Half-Life2 (Source SDK).

My map is going to be of LBA1 Citadel Island.
I much hoped of doing LBA2 Citadel Island but was kinda stuck on how design most of the layout, I haven't used the Hammer editor much so making the geometry would be a nightmare.

Anyway heres a WIP (Work in Progress)

Yes I know theres no gate, nor any walls. This is just the layout which things will be added afterwards.

I'm using this image as the base. (I've circled areas for suggestion)


I'm considering the following:
HL2 Deathmatch
Rebels spawn near houses. Combine spawn near funfrock teleporters.


Garrysmod
Everybody spawns in an area around the docks. (purple/pink marker)


Team Fortress 2
Blue marker shows blue spawn. Red shows red spawn. Green = capture points.


Counter Strike Source

Hostage situation perhaps? The island is such a shape which makes it awkward to place teams except a stand off since theres no cover.


What do you think?
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos

Last edited by DarkOnistar; 2008-06-05 at 22:33.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2008-06-05, 21:03
Kobold's Avatar
Kobold Kobold is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,333
Would have fitted into the Fan Maps forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2008-06-05, 21:18
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobold View Post
Would have fitted into the Fan Maps forum.
Ah sorry, I didn't see the forum otherwise I would of placed this thread there.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2008-06-05, 21:29
Kitarii's Avatar
Kitarii Kitarii is offline
You what?!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,723
Moved it.
Anyway looks pretty good, these maps need to be fairly simple anyway.
Don't suppose you could knock up a Counter Strike (Source) version?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2008-06-05, 21:55
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
The good thing about it is I considered various versions to begin with.
A CS:S version could be made since I'm mapping in "Ep1 Half-Life2" the default Half-Life2 engine, so it will convert without compatibility errors.

Once the overall map is done, I drag the map into Hammer (but changing the settings of hammer before hand to be set for "Counter Strike Source", the scripting will be a challenge. I'll need to read up on it, but for the time being I'll just make the layout)

===================
Edit: Argh!!
Curse Steam and its automatic updater! It closed hammer on me without warning, and while I was saving.
I made a backup earlier, but I gotta redo an akward shaped corner with getting a visible areas to the void.

(The map can't have any gaps between each 'block' or you lagg or glitch / crash. - Unless theres a skybox or something around the whole island. Although you don't want to see the sky through a set of stairs though do you..)
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos

Last edited by DarkOnistar; 2008-06-05 at 22:00. Reason: Steam updater hates me..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2008-06-06, 03:07
Zerath^'s Avatar
Zerath^ Zerath^ is offline
Father of Shoda
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,394
yeaj that happens to me all the times :/
__________________
There is no spoon, just a fork .


Listen to my band's EP on one of the following links!

Check it out:
https://soundcloud.com/inglorious-da...orious-days-ep
http://ingloriousdays.bandcamp.com/
http://open.spotify.com/album/3C1idn10yT06VK0qPiusku
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2008-06-06, 22:20
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,725
Good luck dude, hope to see more progress.
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2008-06-06, 22:57
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
Code:
CModelLoader::Map_IsValid:  No such map 'lba'
map load failed: lba not found or invalid
Steam hates me..

I'm never had this error before but now I'm not sure why its coming up.
I wanted to test the section I done so far to see if a block was displaying.

Aparently a corner which connects two slopes at a right angle keeps glitching and disappearing. I thought I fixed it and wanted to check ingame but this error has put me back.
I'm not sure what I did last time, but I didn't ever get this error.

=======
Edit: If your interested Zerath, I could send you my work so far.
Modelling the map seemed pretty straight forward, but getting it to preview is a pain.

I'm working in "Source SDK - Half-Life2" (not any other modes like Deathmatch or CounterStrike, so the map can be easily converted later for the various games.)
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos

Last edited by DarkOnistar; 2008-06-06 at 23:04.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2008-06-07, 00:06
leoboe's Avatar
leoboe leoboe is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,156
actually that might be an error caused by your running-program
I think you should try to export it for HLM and load the map manually
Iirc I had the same erro when trying to run a map for CS 1.6 I made in Hammer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2008-06-07, 10:08
RosaMarietheCow's Avatar
RosaMarietheCow RosaMarietheCow is offline
a big Mooo to you all :-)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,065
whats this deathmatch, half life 2 thing?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2008-06-07, 13:29
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RosaMarietheCow
whats this deathmatch, half life 2 thing?
Steam game.. Half-Life2 Deathmatch.
It uses the source engine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leoboe
actually that might be an error caused by your running-program
I think you should try to export it for HLM and load the map manually
Iirc I had the same erro when trying to run a map for CS 1.6 I made in Hammer.
I'll go export and see if that helps.
If not I'll go try modifying the map I've done earlier that did actually run.

Heres showing the maps I've done before
http://halflife2.filefront.com/devel...kOnister;27355
note: the lighting in that map was meant to be like that, otherwise it felt way too small. That was first map and my test map to test out all the building tools (and weapon entities).

I did make a 2nd map, but it wasn't published due to bad design and I decided to scrap it. (Building inside confined space, with alot of clipping errors) - I've made a note of that and been checking for bugs in this new map.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2008-06-07, 16:21
Zerath^'s Avatar
Zerath^ Zerath^ is offline
Father of Shoda
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,394
Also, never make maps and name them like : "Lba 2" instead name them "Lba_2"
__________________
There is no spoon, just a fork .


Listen to my band's EP on one of the following links!

Check it out:
https://soundcloud.com/inglorious-da...orious-days-ep
http://ingloriousdays.bandcamp.com/
http://open.spotify.com/album/3C1idn10yT06VK0qPiusku
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2008-06-07, 16:42
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerath^ View Post
Also, never make maps and name them like : "Lba 2" instead name them "Lba_2"
Yeah I found that out when I tried making my 2nd map.
The name glitched and the console couldn't read the name, said it didn't exist.
I've been naming my project by one word for now, which might bring up the discussion for the map name later.

=====
Edit: I've found the problem.
I haven't been using Hammer for a while so I didn't think much of the compiler; it was on expert mode and set for settings that were just impossible or asking for a computer crash. - I went to set it to default. I've had a steam update sent to me after HL2 crashed, apparently compatibility errors with x64 version which is fixed now so I can view my own map now.

The map will run on everybody's version of half-life2.
CounterStrike, TeamFortress2 won't work, since no scripting yet.. but since I've got that section shown in the screenshots above to full work without having the horrible starting bugs, I'm well on my way to making progress.


Bugs fixed: The ramp at the bottom had a grassy slope to the side which when I tried to link to slopes at a right angle together it formed a horrible glitch which I've tried countless times to fix. I've fixed it by removing it, which hasn't changed too much but I'll try covering up later so the map does look the same. (I'm trying to keep it the same without any major changes to the layout)
=========
Post2: Doing some re-adjustments and fixing up several clippings. There's barely any clippings now with the surface blocks and the wall blocks.
I'd say I've done about 1/5 or 1/4 if your not counting the docks.

Check the screenshot to see progress.


========
Post 3: (somebody post.. this post is getting really long now..)

I've made progress and I'm currently doing the ramps which is heading into Lupinburg. I was thinking of how lame a Team Fortress2 capture the points would be since the map isn't even so people would complain. Then it hit me. Steam has recently released the scripts for the 'payload' which is where you push an object all the way to selected location.

Heres a screenshot with my idea. - I would post a screenshot of progress but I'll wait till people post again in this thread or it'll seem pointless adding more to this 1 post.


__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos

Last edited by DarkOnistar; 2008-06-08 at 15:11. Reason: several hours later..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2008-06-09, 23:08
Jasiek's Avatar
Jasiek Jasiek is offline
Do the evolution.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: You forgot Poland.
Posts: 8,075
Can't you do the grass parts as models? Or height maps? The engine should allow those... HL2 had them.
__________________
Little Script Adventure
Join the Little Script Adventure team
Download Little Script Adventure
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2008-06-10, 10:12
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasiek View Post
Can't you do the grass parts as models? Or height maps? The engine should allow those... HL2 had them.
You can add grass models, but the fact is do with gameplay.
Each item of grass that sways produces lagg or lower fps.

Multiplayer that is one of the worst things, singleplayer it isn't.
On top of that I'm not sure how to do that yet. It could be added later.



It is scaling which has been what I've been focusing on.
Another thing is that every block (wall, surface..) has textures on every side by default. I gotta put "NoDraw" on all the sides not being shown otherwise lower fps and higher lagg.

note: I added a temp skybox just to 'run map' so I can search for errors easily which are covered by the grid lines in the editor.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2008-06-10, 19:33
Jasiek's Avatar
Jasiek Jasiek is offline
Do the evolution.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: You forgot Poland.
Posts: 8,075
I don't mean swaying grass sprites, I mean model the areas you need to be more smooth in some modelling program and import them.
__________________
Little Script Adventure
Join the Little Script Adventure team
Download Little Script Adventure
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2008-06-10, 19:33
xesf's Avatar
xesf xesf is offline
Magic Ball Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,725
Great improvement. Keep going.
__________________
Personal Blog - blog.xesf.net

TwinEngine v0.2.1 win32 beta released - open source re-implementation of the LBA 1 original engine.
[Discuss]|[Download]|[Changes]|[SourceCode]|[Issues]


The Sacred Carrot website
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2008-06-10, 21:05
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
I now feeling like crying.

I've got to put a border/wall/coast line to the whole map.
My idea of putting blocks around the map completely failed as they are seen as errors.

If anybody has any ideas of how to fix the coast line it would be nice.



The coast line blocks you see at the bottom. I dunno if I'll keep those, since they're glitched and constantly changing shape.

If I can ask, I could simplify the bottom coast of Citadel Island it would greatly help. 1 big stretch block would solve all my problems right about now. (It would then look the island from LBA2 some what)


I'll put a list of the things to do still in the modelling/mapping stage.
  1. Add cliffs around Asylum/citadel area
  2. Add coastal line
  3. Add water or fake water around the island
  4. The walls are in place but some have fences on them, which need adding in.
  5. Add doors to the buildings; I'm thinking of making a real door opening to a small tiny space/room for one person.. so if need be it could be used as a teleporter later, but for now its just appearance.
  6. Set all blocks to "NoDraw" then put the textures on only visible areas to improve gameplay.
I was also wondering if anybody has any textures to suit the LBA theme.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2008-06-11, 22:15
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
No reply.. and my edit time has expired..
Anyway.. continuing on.



I have added the sand texture to the bottom of the skybox and a object for water.
The water works, splashing.. sinking the works; although I was considering putting a kill floor over the water so you die when you touch the water.

I gotta put 'NoDraw' on now, which will be my next step.
Check out the steps I gotta do in my last post.


Textures for LBA would be appreciated.
LBA remake or any fan projects. If I don't have any LBA textures, I'll have to improvise which won't look as good.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2008-06-11, 22:39
Bot13's Avatar
Bot13 Bot13 is offline
Look beyond reality.
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fortress Island.
Posts: 2,680
This project is becoming way more exciting than I expected. Keep adding detaills, as you've got your basic layout blocked out now.
Can't help you with the technical HL2 Engine stuff, but it reminds me that I should mod something for HL2 in the near future as well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosFish View Post
Did you know? Over 30 million people lurk the MBN every day. We who actually post here are like celebrities to them.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2008-06-11, 23:49
Zerath^'s Avatar
Zerath^ Zerath^ is offline
Father of Shoda
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,394
Looking good there champ!
__________________
There is no spoon, just a fork .


Listen to my band's EP on one of the following links!

Check it out:
https://soundcloud.com/inglorious-da...orious-days-ep
http://ingloriousdays.bandcamp.com/
http://open.spotify.com/album/3C1idn10yT06VK0qPiusku
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2008-06-12, 16:10
Kitarii's Avatar
Kitarii Kitarii is offline
You what?!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,723
Yeah it's looking good, should be a cool map to play.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2008-06-12, 23:08
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
I've added all the doors to the level now.
Theres a small room for each of them only big enough for your character to stand in, this will be used for teleporters later.

I'm now sectioning off the map and dragging in out into another map file, then I'll put "NoDraw" on all blocks and start texturing them.

I can replace textures, so if theres any LBA textures then I can change it to them.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2008-06-14, 18:13
DarkOnistar's Avatar
DarkOnistar DarkOnistar is offline
World Designer: Colozen
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LBAnet: Colozen
Posts: 323
Send a message via MSN to DarkOnistar
(24 hours, cannot edit last post)

I've got even further now.
The main part of the map is now complete and I've put it into HL2:MP (aka.. deathmatch)

Heres a screenshot from doing a beta test with 2 people I know from Teppe Community. (I scratched that onto the sign using the crowbar )



Map bugs found:
  • Some trees weren't touching the ground but hovering. (simply mistake that can be corrected quickly)
  • Sv_cheats 1 = all textures goes black since theres no light source in the map. (Gotta add a light source to the map)
  • Players run across the water - need kill trigger for the water.
  • Ammo needs to be seperated from weapons to prevent weapon camping. (gonna move items about)
  • Saw-blade physics props don't work, they just become part of the map and not a usable prop for killing. (going to remove)
  • Console says theres an error with no actions set on the doors (dunno how to fix. Its always the same)
  • Textures are unsupported warning. (Works but console brings it up at the start of the map)
Besides those bugs the map has been working well.

I've been quoted on the size of the buildings, when in actual fact I never did the inside of the buildings yet. Theres doors to buildings but only a tiny inside that only allows for opening and closing doors.

Once these bugs are fixed I'll be ready to release the map publicly.
__________________
LBA Fan-Projects:LBAnet: Colozen world (thread)
Half-Life2: Citadel Island
(thread)(screenshot)
Lord of the rings / LBA2 Spoof videos
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2008-06-14, 18:27
Dino-Fly's Avatar
Dino-Fly Dino-Fly is offline
Hello
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,916
Hey, that looks excellent!
__________________
Spoiler:
Code:
#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
 
using namespace std;
 
int main()
{
  cout<<"Regards,\nDino-Fly\n";
 cin.get();
}
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lba citadel island in 3D So Far So Twins Fan Creations - General 33 2008-01-16 17:58
Citadel Island in the LBAs Dark Eyedol General 90 2004-08-08 05:30
Favorite places in Citadel Island (LBA1) bunnyrabbot02 General 47 2003-03-13 23:19
LBA1 - roboter on citadel island - any secret? Duracel First aid 9 2003-02-26 00:57
LBA 2 - Citadel Island AndrewH General 97 2002-01-22 23:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.




News Feed
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, the Magicball Network